Daily Archives: March 11, 2010

A Day in the Life: Part II

5:30 am – Alarm goes off. I once again frantically leap out of bed, wondering where I am, what day it is, and why on earth such noise is blaring before the sun is up.

5:43 am – Guzzle back an iced coffee, wishing I hadn’t run out of both stevia and almond milk. Black iced coffee is not that great. No-grocery week is rough.

6:00 am – Smile at all the regulars. The chick who runs on the treadmill with an army backpack, the grunting man on the elliptical, and even the creepy bald guy who only speaks to women under the age of 25.

6:10 am – Decide to change my usual warm-up interval routine by not only pyramid-ing the resistance level, but the recovery time between the usual 1-minute sprints. It’s awesome. And sweaty.

6:30 am – I think step-ups are harder on my hands than on my legs. Holding 25 lbs dumbbells is not easy.

6:34 am – Why is this called an arnold press? Did Arnold himself invent it? I wonder what the Susan Press would be? A badly written press release?

6:44 am – Plié squats are awkward to do in front of the mirror when you’re surrounded by men. Just sayin’

7:12 am – NINE PUSH UPS!! ON MY TOES!!! BOO TO THE YAAAAA.

7:38 am – My new skincare regimen makes me feel like a weirdo when I slather baby oil on in the gym change room. I swear I’m not a stripper.

8:11 am: Cottage cheese is thisclose to overtaking yogurt as my favourite dairy.

IMG_4711 IMG_4712

8:14 am – See 5:45 am

IMG_4705

8:17 am – Goofy grin as I eat breakfast at my desk and read through all the blog comments from last night :D

830 am-1030 am – work, twitter, work, twitter, work, gmail, facebook, google reader, work, twitter

10:31 am – SNACK

IMG_4715

12:03pm – Lunch with the girls. I eat my protein powder + peanut butter sandwich with applesauce and cheese. We talk about boy drama. Boys are dumb.

IMG_4706
1:02 pm – Lady calls to set up apartment viewing for tomorrow. Score!

1:07 pm – Someone else calls about the apartment. Feeling hopeful I may actually find a subletter for the rest of my lease so I can move to Toronto. Double score!

2:12 pm – I think I’m hungry, and I know ‘I’m bored. Snack!

IMG_4702

2:22 pm – Feel the need to create a Deb phone comparison shot. That’s 130 calories of pure chocolate covered air. Actually, that’s not even chocolate. It’s a dates with cocoa powder!

IMG_4718 

3:14 pm – Send off a whack of completed assignments. Feels good :)

3:51 pm – Stomach growling. Shit.

4:27 pm – Boot it outta there to rush home and make food ASAP. Hungrybitchface is setting in.

4:47 pm – Person scheduled to view my apartment wants to come early. Fabulous. I can gnaw my arm off while showing her my messy closet.

5:14 pm – Um, selling a person on the fact that the bedroom is in the living room is hard. It’s called a “swinging bachelorette pad!” Helloooo!

5:31 – Finally, supper is simmering on the stove thanks to this guy:

5:44 pm – Sit down to a bowl of Wolfgang Puck’s Hearty Vegetable soup with quinoa, shrimp and broccoli cooked in.

IMG_4724

5:58 pm – Munch on a piece of dark chocolate that always sneaks the camera’s eye.  A must-have after dinner! (and sometimes lunch. And breakfast)

6:42 pm – Get sucked into watching old indie rock videos from the 1990s on You Tube. Reminisce about how great music used to be and wonder what ever happed to The Wedge on Much Music.

7:14 pm – Rock out to this gem of a video. Written about my hometown :)

7:22 pm – Shit. I’m late. Again.

7:46 pm – Meet up with the gals from work to see an original play put on by the university I work for.

8:22 pm – They’re cooking. On stage. Not just anything, but ham & eggs! I want a breakfast sandwich like nobody’s business.

9:02 pm – Almost moved to tears. Who knew my school had such theatre talent??

9:48 pm – Tuck in to the same thing I eat every. single. night. now. Chocolate protein pudding with chocolate chips and sprinkles. There is no secret to this pudding. Just tasty whey powder with water added until it’s thick and sticky.

IMG_4727

10:10 pm – Blog this exact sentence. Whoa. Mind blowing.

10:20 pm – Get my clothes and lunch ready for tomorrow, set out my cycling shorts for spin class.

10:32 pm – Put on my new shea butter, take my antihistamines, and hit the hay. Ready for a deep sleep so I can start the whole process over again!

 

Question of the Day: What was the highlight of your Thursday? Mine was the play! Doing toe push ups comes in at a close second though ;)