Daily Archives: March 26, 2010

Sweet and Savoury

Aaaaand I’m back! ;) Contrary to popular belief, healthy living bloggers are not super-human. That includes ditching my nightly rambles for SLEEP. And to pack a day’s worth of food and a gym bag (which, bytheway, takes close to 30 minutes each night).

You didn’t miss much yesterday, except for possibly the best turkey burger I’ve ever had at a place called Relish. However, I’m not upset this went un-photo-documented. Just gives me an excuse to go back!

I did take a picture of a pretty tasty bar yesterday…

IMG_5119
I had a Nature’s Path Optimum peanut butter bar with a couple boiled eggs for breakfast.

IMG_5124
Nutrition info is here. Paired with the eggs, it made for another filling and “balanced” breakfast. I haven’t been overly impressed with these Optimum bars in the past, but this flavour was really good. Would definitely buy it again :)

Okay, now on to present day! Fun fact: I went to the gym before work Monday to Friday this week. I usually take a day off, or do a DVD somewhere in there. But since I’m out of town doing personal training classes all weekend, I wanted to get my harder workouts out of the way. I usually like to take a rest day every three days, so my body is definitely feeling tired today! Getting close to 8 hours of sleep every night helps though ;)

Warm-up: 20 minutes on the treadmill. I don’t feel like typing it out. I started slow, then got fast, then got slower, then got faster. Intervals.

 

Exercise Weight Reps Sets
Front squat push-press  30 lbs 10 3
Superset:      
Good morning 50 lbs 10 3
Barbell squat  50 lbs 10 3
Superset:      
Barbell bent-over row  40 lbs 10 3
Incline push-up bodyweight 10 3
Superset:      
Assisted pull-up  75 lbs 10 3
Dumbbell bench press  20 lb dumbbells 10 3
Superset:      
Dumbbell lunge 15 lbs each hand 10 each leg 3
Dumbbell shoulder press  15 lb dumbbells 10 3
Superset:      
Barbell preacher curl 20-30 lbs 10 3
Dumbbell tricep extension 15 lbs 10 3
Alternating:      
Plank  bodyweight 1 min 2
Hamstring curl on ball bodyweight 10 2
Prone jackknife  bodyweight 10 2

As you can probably tell, it was a full-body weight lifting day. My “DOMS” is not so “delayed” today – I can already feel my hamstrings!

I had a full morning of meetings at work today, so I chowed down before taking off.

IMG_5128
Nothing new here – cottage cheese, maple extract, cashew butter, frozen berries, Grape Nuts.  The cleaning lady nearly gagged when she saw me eating cottage cheese for breakfast. Don’t knock it till you try it!

I had the most delicious sandwich waiting for me after emerging from the conference room.

IMG_5133 
Maple smoked salmon, laughing cow cheese and blueberry jam. The maple flavour in the salmon is really strong, and it was awesome with the jam. I’m having fun with all these sweet/savoury pairings!

Polished off with probably my favourite apple of all time.

IMG_5132
The aptly named red delicious.

Remember Fatty February? Well it’s still in full swing!

IMG_5137
Having just two hardboiled eggs every day has helped with increasing my fat a lot, plus, they’re mega filling. The full-fat cheese doesn’t hurt either ;)

I recreated my nut-butter chicken for dinner tonight.

IMG_5145

Except tonight, I stuffed it with bacon peanut butter.

IMG_5139

Sosososo good. Kind of another sweet/savoury combo. I love how salty the bacon makes the peanut butter!

Dessert was a vitamin.

IMG_5149
Well, technically a mineral. I can’t do horse pills, but I also wanted something a little better than the aspartame tablets I got last time.

IMG_5150
I’m okay with it because they’re so small.

IMG_5152
And not that bad tasting either! For those of you who’ve recommended online stores in my quest for my vitamins, thank you! However, I have a strict no buying food products online rule. This is mostly because shipping to Canada is bananas. I spend enough on food that I don’t want to get into the habit of spending even more online. Plus, I’m old-fashioned. I like to be able to touch something before I purchase it.

Also bought:

IMG_5153

This has helped my eczema in the past, so I’m praying for a miracle. My skin has gotten much worse over the last few weeks, including new red spots on my legs, eczema on my arms, and what looks like hives. This on top of daily baby oil, shea butter, calamine lotion and anti-histamines. I know, I need to go to a doctor. I need like a magical fairy god-doctor or something. I love that I can go to the doctor for free. I don’t love that I can’t make an appointment with one because there are so few of them around here.

Anyways, this weekend is my second and last weekend of personal trainer classes. I’m commuting about an hour to another city on Saturday and Sunday for them. I believe this weekend will include fitness testing and more mock training including creating our own training plans. Not gonna lie, I’m frightened! I need to find some training confidence stat. It would be so much easier if I could practice on non-experts instead of my fellow trainers!!

 

Well, that should be enough to make up for two days of random rambles. I will be back tomorrow, maybe with my fitness test results. Wish me luck!!

 

Question of the day: What’s your favourite sweet/savoury combo? I think turkey and cranberry sauce are made to be together. Apples and cheese are another good one!