Daily Archives: March 8, 2010

Guns n’ Goals

Happy International Women’s Day!! I celebrated aaalll day. Easy to do when you’re a woman ;) Funny, I find the older I become, the more “pro woman” I am. I have my stellar role models to thank for that!

Speaking of strong women, did anyone check out Sandra Bullock’s guns during her speech last night?

Girl’s been lifting weights. Look, she’s all ready to curl that Oscar! I love seeing strong ladies, especially in Hollywood. It’s also slightly reassuring to know that even Sandra Bullock can make for a funny screen shot :P

I actually missed the Oscars because I was getting my beauty sleep for a workout this morning. I decided to switch things up and trade in my usual Monday morning spin class for a heavy upper-body day to keep from getting bored.

Warmed up with 20 minutes of sprint intervals on the elliptical. One-minute sprints at high resistance, followed by two minutes at an easier pace and resistance. Then on to the tough stuff:

Straight Sets:

Exercise Weight Reps Sets
Assisted pull-up  55 lbs 5 4
Dumbbell bench press  22.5 lb dumbbells 5 4
Seated cable row  70 lbs 5 4
Dumbbell incline bench press 22.5 lb dumbbells 5 4
Cable underhand pulldown  70 lbs 5 4

Alternating Sets:

Exercise Weight Reps Sets
Dumbbell shoulder press  17.5 lbs dumbbells 5 3
Incline curl 10 lb dumbbells 10 (ea) 3
Cable pushdown  30 lbs 5 3

Straight Sets:

Exercise Reps Sets
Plank  90 sec 1
Boat pose  45 sec 1
Side plank rotation  10 each side 1
Plank knee to elbow  20 1
Prone jackknife  10 1

This was actually not as heavy as I would have liked it!! I could have easily gone up to 25 lb dumbbells for the bench presses, but 1) I didn’t have a spotter, and 2) I couldn’t get them up to start with! I’m fine once the weight is up, it’s just getting it above my head that first time that is difficult. Anyone got any tricks? I suppose I should just switch to the barbell since it’s already above my head, but I like the challenge of the dumbbells.

Desk-breakfast was what’s slowly becoming the usual…

IMG_4639 
Yogurt, vanilla protein powder, cinnamon, blueberries, almond butter, Grape Nuts. Basically a mushy mess.

Chased down with some iced coffee!

IMG_4640
Morning snack was a mangled S’mores Luna bar.

IMG_4635
These used to be my favourite bars, but I think I’m kinda done with them for the time being. I actually prefer my homemade ones now!

Lunch looks weak. That’s because it was.

IMG_4633
Tuna pita + baby carrots. Sundays are my grocery day, which didn’t happen this week.

Another snack attack…

IMG_4634
Boiled eggs + cheese. My boss walked into my office after I ate this. I wonder if he could smell it?? I’m paranoid.

I’m going to try to hold off on buying groceries this week so I eat up all the extra stuff I have in my freezer and cupboards. Today I dug out a couple turkey mini meatloaves that I made and froze a long ass time ago.

IMG_4643
With cheetas (aka roasted sweet potatoes). I sprinkle everything with salt, paprika and chili powder.

IMG_4646
And finally, a tomato salad made with the darker kumatos, topped with balsamic vinegar, pepper, basil and parmesan cheese.

IMG_4648

All together now!

IMG_4642

What you don’t see here is how I smothered everything with ketchup after ;) Nomnom.

 

Weekly Goal Check-In!

I’ve decided Monday is the day to do this for no particular reason. I think my goals are off to a slow start…

1. Work on getting my car sold and apartment subletted. Well, I got a price estimate for my car and I’m posting my apartment on Kijiji as soon as I’m done blogging :)

2. Apply for a bazilion jobs in Toronto. Didn’t apply for any more this week. Seeing as I’ll be in Alberta for a chunk of June, it could potentially be almost July by the time I’m ready to start work. That’s a long ways away!

3. Take more initiative at work so I can finish my contract knowing I made a mark. I’m busy as hell at work, and right now I’m just happy to keep my head above the flood of projects that are coming in. Phew!

4. Learn as much as I can about personal training. FINISHED MY TEXTBOOK!! Yay!! My in-class training is in a couple weeks, so I just have to get through the online component before then, which will likely be time consuming.

5. Run outdoors again. This may happen this weekend if mother nature stays on my side. I don’t workout after work, and it’s still way too early in the season to run at 5:30 am (in the dark!!).

 

Sooo, #4 is the only one I rocked at, but I’m getting there! Now, I’m off to keep my promise and go post my apartment for rent…

 

Question of the Day: How are your goals going? I hope you wrote them down!!