My Favourite Restaurant

Of all the things people ask me about moving home from “the big city,” two questions come up over and over:

1) Aren’t you going to get bored?
2) How will you eat??

The answers are actually quite simple.

First, a girl can make her own fun wherever she is. Trust me. It’s pretty darn simple to be in a big city with a million things to do and still feel bored and lonely. Sometimes you just have to be a little more creative in smaller towns ;)

Secondly, one word: Calactus.

Actually, one of my best friends told me that I won’t miss any of those Toronto restaurants because Moncton’s Calactus is all I really need.

Exaggerated, yes. But still not that far from the truth.

IMG_4511

I’ve been blogging about this place for years now. It’s my favourite restaurant. Ever. And all right here in my hometown.

IMG_4519

I first started going to Calactus over a decade ago when it was in a small old house on Mountain Road. It was around the time my family first started eating vegetarian, and this vegetarian/vegan restaurant helped introduce a whole new style of eating to me.

img_4516_thumb

Calactus is also home to the world’s best veggie burger. Seriously. This coming from a girl who spent eight years as a vegetarian and has choked down a lot of veggie burgers in her day…

IMG_4523

But the even better thing about this restaurant, is that they are more than just one standout dish. Everything is good. All house made, fresh, flavourful. The kind of meal that doesn’t weigh you down, but leaves you feeling healthily satisfied.

IMG_6882

Like with they’re Burrito Bandito.

100_9619

Or their extravaganza pizza with tomato sauce, veggie pepperoni, falafel, red onion, green pepper and cheese. Along with a beet and goat cheese salad.

I have yet to try their pakoras, but their munchables are amazing.

IMG_0184

The Thousand and One Nights with chapati bread, feta cheese and olives, falafels, hummus, tofu cream and veggie sticks.

IMG_0188

Their falafels are the bestest. Perfectly seasoned, crunchy on the outside, soft in the middle, without being greasy. Their tofu cream still alludes me. They put it on a lot of their dishes. Like a garlicky tofu hummus or tzatziki of sorts.

My latest visit to Calactus was on Saturday for lunch and my midday cravings wanted something rolled up in bread.

IMG_6589

I went with a “Flute” which is essentially a wrap. Falafel flavour, because as I said, their falafel is out of this world.

IMG_6593

With sprouts, lettuce, red onion, tomato, and a drizzle of that savoury tofu cream. My oh my it was good! Their house made chapati bread never ceases to amaze me. Always so soft and fluffy. A million times better than the usual flour tortilla.

The tabbouleh is something to write home about as well. Rather than being pre-mixed, it’s couscous with the dressed parsley and tomatoes dolloped on top. Tastes almost like a bruschetta on couscous.

Then of course there’s Christie and Tiffany.

IMG_6595

My Calactus lunch-mates on Saturday. We’ve lunched manymany times together over the ooohhh 20 years (?) we’ve known each other.

IMG_6597

They’re both living back at home now too. So the three of us live just down the street from each other like we did growing up!

Except you know, with a few extra stories to tell from along the way.

Told ya, a girl can find some good fun and good food just about anywhere ;)

Posted on April 3, 2011, in Restaurants, Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Wow, after reading that menu I couldn’t tell ya what I’d order! Everything looks fantastic, especially that falafel wrap!

  2. Kristin Brænne

    ★★★★★

  3. Oh my goodness, I would want to devour pretty much everything on the menu!

    Reuniting with childhood friends is the best – must be nice to be living so close :)

  4. Awe that is so fabulous you have been so close with them for so long. I just tried my first vegetarian restaurant a month ago and I fell in love. All the dishes make me feel so good.

  5. so happy that you’re living so close to your friends AND a great restaurant!!

    :)

  6. Those dishes look fantastic! I wished I was in Canada and could try them :-)

  7. I’m so thrilled that you’re settling in so well now that you’re back home! :)

    One look at your friend’s smiling faces tells me you’ll be just okay!

    PS: I miss poodle photos!

  8. greensandjeans

    Wow, that would definitely be worth moving across the country for!

  9. Looks like you are enjoying being home and near your friends! :) BTW I like your hair! My last haircut didn’t go so well.

  10. Holy cow that food looks amazing! Its so cool that your long time friends are back home too. You three will have so much fun together.

  11. that’s great that your friends are so close!

  1. Pingback: Some Cancer Questions Answered « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a comment