Daily Archives: January 29, 2010

TGIFF – Thank Goodness It’s Flashback Friday

TGIF!!!!! This is how I party on a Friday night…

IMG_3370 
I’ve been looking forward to this aaallll week. I actually woke up sick this morning. No doubt from my 6-hour nights and 10-hour work days this week. I feel like junk, I can’t believe I photographed this for you guys to see!! :P

Had I known my head was going to be invaded by mucus last night, I wouldn’t have set my alarm for a morning workout. Alas, when it went off at 6am, there was no falling back asleep for an extra glorious hour. How do you snoozers do it??

I thought today I could attempt to do all three levels of Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred video. Umm, did you know those levels are technically 25 minutes each? Well I didn’t. At 50 minutes, I finished the second level and had taken up most of the hour I allotted for exercise. This is my excuse anyways. Truth be told, I was done at the squat thrusts. I tend to get cocky with exercise videos, but it kinda kicked my butt!

I had breakfast waiting in the fridge for me. The only way to have oats cold ;)

IMG_3357 
The childhood nostalgia breakfast cookie.

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate whey protein powder
  • splash almond milk
  • 1 tbsp marshmallow fluff
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • mini chocolate chips
  • sprinkles!!!

Maybe it’s because I haven’t had one in a while, but this b-fast cookie was beyond awesome. Or maybe it was the sprinkles ;)

Work was busybusy. My mucus/headache/sore throat/cough/chills/aches only got worse as the day progressed. Oh, did I mention? We apparently got a snow storm last night that I unexpectedly had to shovel out of this morning. I spent the day in wet clothes. The only thing worse than getting snow in between the cuff of your jacket and mittens, is when it sneaks under your pants and on your ankles!! Brr!!

Thankfully, my boss sent me home a half hour early when he noticed I’d been clinging onto kleenex all day just in case I get another bloody nose.

One of those days where I was craving absolutely nothing for dinner, but a girl’s gotta eat!
 IMG_3361 
Baked salmon filet topped with feta and Kirkland no-salt seasoning. On a garden salad. I drizzled watered down tzatziki for my dressing.

IMG_3364

Looooooved everything about this salad. The saltiness of the feta went wonderfully with the richness of the salmon. And tzatziki makes for a really nice cool and refreshing dressing :)

 

A January Flashback

That’s right! ‘Tis that time of the week – Flashback Friday!! I’m feeling a little uninspired tonight (blame the mucus brain) so I thought I’d flashback to photos from past Januaries. I actually think it’s kinda fun to see what I was doing at this time last year, and years before. Unfortunately, my earliest January photo only goes back to 2006.

IMGP0223

This is me getting a scooby-doo chia pet as a b-day gift in 2006. Little did I know, four years later, those seeds would be an addition to my favourite granola

(P.S. I killed Scooby just like every other plant that has ever entered my house. Including cactuses)

In 2007, I was mastering my mad pool hall skillz.

n121400105_30303810_73033333 
With my BFF Matty. He’s off gallivanting in England now, I miss him! By the way, let the record show we both suck at pool. I honestly don’t know why we thought this was a good idea. One game took a solid hour.

In 2008, I was apparently not doing a good job of dyeing my hair.

n115400580_30497028_5344

This was my first ever fondue experience. I learned that it takes forever to cook and just tastes greasy. I believe I’m seen here bobbing for a lost mushroom.

Aahhh. 2009. Whatta year. Here I am with my J-Class (that’s J-speak for “journalism”) trying to help a classmate dig out his car.

n115400581_30824848_6379Or, at least standing by watching as he spins his tires. This was an awesome night when I got to meet the editor-in-chief of Macleans, Canada’s weekly news magazine. It was a big deal. I’m a dork.

Also worth mentioning, I got my university grad photos done in January ‘09!!

n115400580_30830421_2129

I can’t believe I’m here now one year later, working at the same university! I’m all kind of mushy these days about being back there. I love that freakin’ school.

 

So back to current day – January ‘10. I’m in my fuzzy slippers as promised.

IMG_3372

Watching MTV, as promised.

IMG_3373

It’s 9:12 and I’m about to hit the hay. I worked hard this week, and in some serious need for down time. Two words for the weekend ahead: low key. Can’t wait!!

 

Question of the Day: What were you doing exactly one year ago? Exactly five years ago?? In January 2005, I’d just started going to university part-time and thought I wanted to be a high school English teacher. I also went to Cuba for the first time with an ex-boyfriend!! Ooohhh how things have changed :)