Daily Archives: January 4, 2010

New Year, New Job

Hi blog friends!! I just got off the phone with my mom blabbing about my first day on the new job. I hope you don’t mind I spilled the beans to her first ;)

For those of you who may not know, I got offered a job in the communications department at my old university right before Christmas. I left my job as radio reporter a month ago, and majored in journalism/communications, so the position makes a lot of sense for me. It’s a four-month contract, and will fill the gap perfectly from now until I get my personal training certification!

My work day now starts at 8:30 am. I decided to skip a morning workout so I could have a relaxing morning before I had to be there. I slept okay, but was feeling a little nervous! Mostly about meeting all my new coworkers. I know I can do the actual work, but getting to know all the new faces always makes me feel anxious!

Breakfast was served the most comforting way possible – in a big mug.

IMG_2321

  • 2/3 cup rolled oats
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 whole egg (whisked into pot at start)
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla extract
  • chopped dates
  • cashew butter
  • unsweetened coconut

One great thing about working on a university campus is that I’ll be close to a couple decent cafeterias. I’ll have access to some pretty healthy options on days I don’t feel like packing a lunch.

In the bag today…
 IMG_2335

  • Tofurkey, hummus and swiss cheese sandwich
  • Cherry tomatoes, mushrooms and baby carrots with more hummus
  • Three carrot cake protein squares
  • One cheese string
  • Apple
  • Yogurt/muesli cup

I had the apple and cheese around 10:30, the sandwich and veggies + hummus around 12:15 and two of the carrot squares with the yogurt close to 4pm. My appetite has been off all day, I think my nerves suppressed it a little!

The day itself went really well. I met with my new boss first thing and went over some of the basics. The girl I’m taking over for spent the morning showing me the key things I’ll need to know. Then this afternoon was spent puttering away on some small projects.

Remember how I said in 2009 I learned to follow my gut? Well my gut feels good after today! First and foremost, I think I’ll really enjoy doing the work. I’ll be doing a lot of writing for the school’s website and various publications. My boss is really good about assigning tasks, so I’ll always have something to work on (I can’t stand being bored at work!).

All the people there seem really nice. It’s a small liberal arts university, so the “community” feel spills over into the staff and faculty side of things as well. I ate lunch today with the girl I’m taking over for (who took a job in recruiting), my new office-mate, and another girl who works in alumni affairs. It was nice to be accepted into their group so quickly, and made my day of transition that much easier :)

Oh! And speaking of my office – I have one!! It’s shared with a really nice girl close to my age. I have my very own desk, which is kinda big for me. Newsrooms are notorious for playing musical desks (ie, I’ve never had one to call my own). After work today, I stopped to pick up some office-y things.

IMG_2339

  • Small clock radio. Office-mate says she has no problem with listening to the radio quietly, I need background noise! (Canadians – I am in love with the CBC’s Jian Ghomeshi)
  • Hand cream
  • Post-its
  • Pens
  • Notebook (I’m an obsessive note-taker & list-maker)

I skipped my planned spin class today, well, because I didn’t feel like it! I’m mega sore from my living room workout yesterday, and really craving some down time tonight after my long day. Yeah, first day of my new workout schedule and I’m already switching it up. Ahh well. I’m going to try getting up at 5am tomorrow to do 40 minutes treadmill, shoulders + abs before work. I feel like I function much better when I get my workout in before the start of my day.

Anyways, I spent a lot of time wandering around the store and didn’t sit down for dinner until 7pm. So unlike me!

IMG_2349

Real hamburger with lots of mustard + pickles, and ketchup, onions, tomatoes, spinach. Sweet potato cheetahs seasoned with salt, chili and cajun for my fries. Love my simple dinners :)

Now I’m off to do some chores and catch up on a few blogs. Got an early day tomorrow. And oddly, I’m excited that I already have a list of things to do when I get to work tomorrow!

IMG_2353

Here’s to the start of a new adventure! :D

 

Question of the Day: What’s the thing you dislike the most about starting new jobs? Anything you love about it? As I mentioned, I get really nervous about meeting and working alongside new people. It takes me a long time to warm up to people I don’t know. If anything though, I find I’m always just anxious to settle into a routine at my new job.