Daily Archives: January 5, 2010

Meet me in my office

Happy Tuesday all! I apologize if I’m a little “off” this week. Trying to get settled into the new job,and spending my spare time “catching” up on some things. Also, I’m frantically trying to get through my personal training textbook before my classes in Moncton next week (okay, how exciting will those be!? Can’t wait to share it with you!)

Anyways, tangents aside, I did indeed get up at 5am today to hit the gym before work. I swear it’s not that hard to do. Maybe it’s because I’m not very good at falling back asleep. Once I’m awake, I’m usually anxious to get my day started!

My first week of scheduled workouts is already all wonky from taking the day off yesterday. I’ll still get them in, just on different days. So that means I went for 40 minutes running, shoulders, and abs today.

First, the treadmill. I don’t feel like typing it out, but I started with 5 minutes walking. Then I did the following sequence:

5.6 mph, 5.7 mph, 5.8 mph
5.7 mph, 5.8 mph, 5.9 mph
5.8 mph, 5.9 mph, 6.0 mph

…until I got to 7.0 mph, which took 40 minutes :)

Weights/abs were alternated again:

Dumbbell shoulder press: 3 sets, 15 lbs ea x 10
Cable horizontal woodchop: 3 sets, 35 lbs x 10

Barbell upright row: 3 sets, 20 lbs x 15
Hanging leg raises: 3 sets, bw x 8

YTWL: 3 sets, 7.5 lbs ea x 4 each letter
Swiss ball crunch: 3 sets, 11 lbs x 15

I tore through the last part, finishing in 65 minutes. I wanted time to go back home to shower and make a nice breakfast :)

IMG_2357
 
Custard oats topped with cashew butter and molasses. I am obsessed with custard oats. My protein powder oatmeal just isn’t the same anymore in comparison. Oatmeal lovers – I encourage you to give it a try! The creamy texture is out. of. this. world. All I do is whisk in an egg with the oats and water before I bring it to a boil. Then I reduce it to med-low and simmer for 15 min to make sure it’s all cooked in.

Today was Day Two at my new communications job at the university. Wanna see my office??
006

I’m the desk on the right, office-mate is on the left. Office-mate is a sweetheart, and a very similar worker as me. Both of us are pretty quiet, but like to stretch and take chit chat breaks occasionally. I’m not a huge fan of people who blab my ear off while I’m trying to get work done.

The boxes you see are full of university apparel. Apparently we’re also a “sweatshirt shop.”

010

I don’t mind actually, makes it feel more school-like :)

And a window!! My old newsroom didn’t have a window.

009

Those flowers are already starting to wilt in my presence…

My desk! My very own desk :D

007
I got my radio set up today, and plan on replacing that Tim Horton’s cup with a nicer pen holder. I also want to get a mint dish/candy bowl, and maybe some filing trays for my papers.

Classes don’t start until next Monday, so it’s eerily quiet in the building. I’m on a floor with classrooms, so it should get lively shortly! It is so SO weird being back at my university as a staff member and not a student. SO weird!!! I totally flipped when I got my parking pass today…

011

It doesn’t say “student!” Plus, staff parking spots are in all the prime locations ;)

It’s definitely neat learning all the “behind the scenes” stuff of my university. Even more, having a hand in what goes on there. I feel like such a proud alumna :D

Got all my assignments done for the day just in time to come home starving and impatient for a meal.

IMG_2365
I didn’t even feel like cooking a chicken breast, so I threw a can of tuna in with some Indian Cauliflower Stew. Tuna was definitely not the right meat for these flavours. But whatever, it was hot, edible and healthy.

 

I’m already exhausted, don’t think I’ll make it through the Biggest Loser tonight! Got a 6am spin class on the sked for the morning. See ya tomorrow!

 

Question of the Day: What is one personal item you must have in your office/workplace? Anything you think my desk could use? I need to have hand cream and chapstick within an arm’s reach at all times! At Starbucks I kept them in my apron pockets ;)