Daily Archives: July 29, 2009

One stellar breakfast

Hey! Good news, I am “blah” free today :) I shut the movie off at 10:30 last night, and even though my body tried to get me out of bed at 5:30 this morning, I forced myself back to sleep to get a full 8 hours. After that, I felt much better. I probably average around 7 hours a night, but I’m finding that I need at least one night with 8+ a week.

I started off with a little yoga for runners. It’s been a while since I’ve done this one, I forgot how great it is! After making friends with my legs again, I got to work on one stellar breakfast. 

100_6431

French toast waffles!!! I microwaved two Nature’s path maple cinnamon waffles, drenched them in egg whites and cinnamon, then pan fried them. SO good! I dipped them in an almond butter-fake syrup mix. I love waffles :)

I spent my morning in bed, reading and internetting. I wanted to wait for the morning traffic to subside before I went out for my hill bike workout. But I also wanted to beat the heat again. So happy I went out before noon!

Duration: 1:02
Distance: 23 km (14 miles)
Avg speed: 23 km/hr (duh)
Max speed: 44 km/hr (27 mph)
Avg HR: 138
Max HR: 167

I only did the hill o’ death once this time. My legs were screaming this whole bike ride. I’ve put them through four straight days of vigorous torture now. I’m so happy tomorrow is a rest day!! I’ve been walking around like this these past couple days…

 

 

I’m also happy to report that my new bra worked! I tested it out before I left. I just wet the sensors on the bra, clipped my Polar transmitter to it, and it worked! I didn’t wear it for the bike ride though, because I was scared it wouldn’t work for the whole ride :P I’ll have to test it out for a whole workout next time. Bytheway, it’s a Running Room brand bra. Running Room is a Canadian chain and carry a lot of their own products. Most of them are pretty good, I recommend their socks ;)

Lunch was a “kitchen sink” of sorts.

100_6440

It was a mix of:

  • 1/3 cup Mediterranean cottage cheese  
  • 1 can tuna
  • 1/3 cup garbanzo beans
  • whack of heirloom tomatoes
  • green onion
  • green pepper
  • a mushroom (using up all my veggies!)
  • 1 tsp sundried tomato dressing

    100_6438

This was verrrry good. A nice summery lunch. Surprisingly not that filling though. Protein alone just doesn’t do it for me!

I then proceeded to go to the grocery store and spend waaaay too much money. Funny thing is, I made a list and bought only things on it! I think I actually spend less when I go in without a list…

It was so freakin hot by the time I carted my groceries up to my sweltering fourth-floor apartment, all I could muster was a pita for dinner. And oooohhhh what a pita it was…

100_6445

100_6447

  • hummus
  • swiss cheese
  • turkey slices
  • tomato
  • onion
  • mushrooms
  • zucchini
  • green pepper
  • broccoli sprouts
  • spinach

I have a confession to make. I used store bought hummus. I discovered it back when I bought some to bring to the cottage. It’s President’s Choice organic hummus. Usually I can’t stand the store bought stuff because it’s runny and salty, but this stuff is neither. Still not as cheap as the homemade variety though. Might have taken a couple bucks off my crazy grocery bill!!

Then began an evening’s worth of desserts…

Popsicle.

100_6449

Caramel.

 100_6452

I also just had a chocolate vitamuffin, fresh berries and am now sucking on another popsicle! They’re quite good at cooling me off actually. This time of night is the worst, because it’s hotter in our apartment than it is outside. I sat on the balcony for a little bit and could feel the waves of heat from inside coming through the screen door.

Thank you for all your movie ideas! Everyone has such diverse tastes, I love it! I never answered the questions myself though. The one movie I really want to see is Julie & Julia and the one movie I think everyone should see is High Fidelity. Nick Hornby + John Cusack + music snobbery = love :)

Now for today’s question: what’s your idea of a stellar breakfast?