Daily Archives: July 23, 2009

A little cycling, and a lot of eating

I’ve got lots of food photos today! Not really sure how that happened… Oh wait, yes I do. I’ve been eating all friggin’ day. It’s just been one of those days where I have no energy or desire to do anything, except eat. It’s not just boredom eating either, I’ve been genuinely hungry all day. My body never ceases to confuse me…

I slept for about 7 hours last night, not too bad. Got up and did some yoga for low back. Then I had a chunk of frozen oatmeal.

100_6235

Looks appetizing, no?

It’s this stuff:

100_6228

Beside it’s ability to knock someone out, the frozen block is relatively safe.

100_6230

100_6232

After about 5 minutes and some fixins, the frozen block turned into this:

100_6237

Muuuuch better :) I stirred in 1 tbsp soy protein powder, then topped it with half a banana, peanut butter and cinnamon.

Taste wise, it was pretty good. Just a hint of sweetness, the perfect amount for my taste buds. Texture wise, it was awesome. I’ve only ever had frozen steel cut oats before, but I absolutely love what I have tried. Kind of like a smaller, creamer version of wheat berries.

it was not very filling though, so some serious snacking begun. I should know better than to snack on odd things here and there, because they never satisfy me. I probably end up consuming a lot more calories by munching on things instead of sitting down and having a legitimate snack.

Aaaanyways, here’s one of my random snackables.

100_6241

Dried turkish fig. I’ve only had the calimyrna variety before. This was much bigger, and slightly less sweet?

100_6243

Love the crispy/chewy texture!

More morning snacks included a VitaMuffin. I took a cue from Brie and slathered it in PB after warming it up.

100_6244

Still crumbly, still delicious.

I finally caved and had an early lunch. The star of the show was this guy:

100_6249

President’s Choice Mediterranean cottage cheese. Holy crap. This sh*t is good. I had to force myself to stop eating it out of the container so I could put it in a wrap.

100_6253

The wrap is just the cottage cheese with assorted veggies, then some extra assorted stuff on the side with tzatziki. SO GOOD.

Then started my agonizing over whether or not to go for a bike ride. Sheesh, I was getting annoyed even with my internal dialogue!

“My body does not want to move today. I don’t think I can get out of bed let alone force myself through a hill workout on my bike.”

“But it’s going to rain tomorrow and Saturday has to be a rest day. It’s now or skip it.”

“There’s spin class tonight, I could just lay around some more and do that later.”

“Ugggghhhh but I don’t feel like doing anything.”

 

This lasted for about 2 hours, and included a 20 minute nap. It took me an extra hour to get into my gear, have a snack, and get out the door. But by golly, I got out there!!

Duration: 1 hour and 11 minutes
Distance: 29 km (18 miles)
Avg Speed: 23 km/hr (14 mph)
Max Speed: 41 km/hr (25 mph)
Avg HR: 137
Max HR: 167
Calories: 538

Not gonna lie, most of my motivation came from knowing the ride would offset a lot of my snacking. I hate making calorie burns the reason for my workouts. But hey, I’m a girl, it crosses my mind.

Overall, I give this ride a solid decent. I tackled the biggest hill known to man (I’ll leave it up to you to decide if that’s an exaggeration) only once. I skipped it the second loop around. Only because I was getting weird pains in my legs and my energy was pretty nil. I had to dig deep to get up it at all. Much like this…

I’m glad I went biking, but I’m also glad it’s over. Now I’m even more pooped than I was to begin with.

 

Moving along, my reward supper was awesome to the MAX. Homemade burrito!

100_6260 

I’m quite proud of this little spicy nugget. The contents contained a Sol spicy bean burger, laughing cow cheese wedge and Eden Organic Caribbean rice & beans.

100_6255

The bulk of my canned goods are Eden Organic. It’s more expensive, but one of those expenses I’m willing to pay for.

100_6256

 100_6257

My least favourite thing about those Sol burgers is that they’re a little on the mushy side. But it made for an awesome mashed filling!

100_6262

The laughing cow definitely made it though. I didn’t want to use cheddar because I had the feeling the flavour would get lost. It was a good call. Oh, and I’m trying to use up those white flour tortillas, hence two of them today. They are definitely made for burritos!! Best use for them yet!

Okay, that’s about as exciting as I’m going to get today. I’ll stop the rambling here. Tomorrow, I’m going to do a post on workout music – I’m excited!

 

Question: Have you been following the Tour de France? Thoughts on Contador? I’ve determined he’s a douche. But it’s looking like he’s going to take it now. I’ll at least be content if Andy and Lance are on the podium with him. I like Wiggins, but I’ve still got my panties in a knot over what Garmin and Astana did to George-y boy in 14.

If you’re not into the Tour, what sports do you follow?