Mo Money Mo Problems

Is it just me or is this week dragging? I think there’s some law in physics that says as soon as you give notice at your job, the weeks that follow are the slowest of your life.

Or, I assume there’s a law. I failed the physics portion of grade 10 science.

But I do know that today was Waffle Wednesday!! The perfect way to perk up my hump day blues :D

101_0169

Blueberry waffles! Using my usual protein pancake recipe (found under the Eats tab) and a handful of frozen blueberries.

101_0168

Is that a peek of natural daylight I see on there!? I managed to sleep in till 7am today, so breakfast was photographed as the sun was rising over the river :)

I recently read an article by Tosca Reno in Clean Eating Magazine about all the benefits of wheat grass. I can’t find the article online, but she basically talks about how it’s a natural detoxifier, etc. I’m not always an easy sell, and this small article totally convinced me!

I don’t have any straight-up wheat grass, but I do have a whole canister of plain Amazing Grass SuperFood. It’s not a smoothie powder, but more of an “addition,” like a shot of greens to any smoothie. Anyways, I thought I’d just try it as a shot mixed with a little unsweetened vanilla almond milk.

101_0172

Most normal people would take one look at this and back off. It looks disgusting.

101_0175

Yeah, well it tasted disgusting too. I will not be doing this again. Experiments with SuperFood however will continue…

I was hoping the greens would give me a bit of a magical boost for spin class today. I actually convinced Chris to come with me this time! Chris is a hardcore cyclist. He does mostly road cycling these days, but he was also quite the mountain biker back in the day. The man is obsessed (and also taught me everything I know about bikes).

Ironically, it was Chris’ first spin class. It was funny to see such a pro on a spin bike. I forgot to tell him not to go all out at the beginning, because our class gets much harder as it goes on. Even if I had, I don’t think it would have mattered. The boy needs to go as fast as possible whenever possible :P

Afterwards, we went out for lunch. I had some turkey.

101_0183

Except mine was in a pita… at Pita Pit. Anyone else creeped out that this bird has manboobs? I find the decorations in this place to be really trippy.

101_0179

  • turkey
  • hummus
  • lettuce
  • green pepper
  • mushrooms
  • onions
  • tomatoes
  • olives
  • pickles
  • sprouts

Chris got a chicken caesar.

101_0180

Caught mid-chew.

101_0182

Caught mid-stuffing-face. I’m just replacing my depleted sodium stores from sweating in spin class ;)

Then I got called into work early. Boo. Managed to sneak home for a quick dinner though.

101_0191

Grilled tuna sandwich and carrot sticks. That’s just one carrot! It was ginormous!!! Way bigger than a parsnip even. I ate it all. I’m a carrot fiend. No shame.

 

So I have a confession to make. I’ve been suffering from a little blogger envy lately. I’ve been comparing myself to others, and it’s not good.

No, I’m not talking about people running faster than me, eating healthier than I, or looking better in a bikini.

I found I was getting jealous that many bloggers seem to have the financial means to do and buy many things that I, at this point, could only dream of. I found myself wishing that I too could afford to just hop on a plane and attend a big event. I can hardly splurge on a new coat and yet every day I read about someone else buying a new SLR camera and fancy new lens to boot.

Truth is, I’m more poor now than I was as a university student. It will be a long time until I can afford even a decent food processor. I am by no means looking for sympathy. Growing up in a wealthy family, I learned that money does not buy happiness. As a result, I put little importance on it. But that doesn’t mean I don’t sometimes wish for certain items, or dream of travelling when I can’t.

But I think it’s important to remember that I don’t need fancy plates to be a good blogger. I don’t need a dehydrator to be a healthy eater. I shouldn’t compare myself to these other people, but instead be content with what I do have.

Lunch may not have been a five course meal at a fancy restaurant, but dammit, it was cheap and good. And I know you guys can appreciate that ;)

 

Question of the Day: If you won the lottery, what would you do with the money? Travel is the obvious answer here, but for interest sake, I would also buy a really expensive bottle of whiskey, a commuter bike and PB2 :)

Posted on November 19, 2009, in Restaurants, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 30 Comments.

  1. The man-boobs are really weird…. that turkey also looks lobotomized! :D

    I really try hard not to have blogger envy. You never know what underlying story there might be to someone’s life that never makes it onto a blog. It’s hard though, I would love to have a company take me somewhere or travel a lot more.

    I don’t need much to make me happy. John says I am very low maintenance (which is good for him LOL!).

    If I won the lottery I would pay off all my debt! Actually if I only won enough money just to do that I would be happy as a clam :D
    I also would start some sort of cafe. Then I would do something charitable with the money.

  2. Oh, lord. I’d pay off my $120,000 in student loan debt, and then repay T’s $80,000 in student loan debt.

    If there’s anything left over, then I’d get T a new car and buy us a house. And maybe another dog or two.

    I have blog envy too, except it’s towards people like you pounding out your double digit runs! I know I physically can, I just have trouble pushing myself after a certain point.

    • Don’t worry Brie – you’ll get there, we’ve got half marys to do!! :D I would buy a dog too. I hurts me so much I can’t have one right now :(

  3. Earn a PhD in forensic anthropology and go to culinary school.

    http://eatventures.wordpress.com

  4. If I won the lottery, I would pay off my school debt, pay for the rest of my school and buy a Hybrid.

  5. I’d pay off my debts. There are lots of those :-)

    I have blogger envy too- bigger numbers, more readers, more commenters, slimmer, healthier. I think it’s normal to look at others who have more X,Y or Z and want what they have. But it’s important to remember that you have things that they may want too. It may not be financial- but you have many enviable attributes, and no amount of money can buy a good personality or kind spirit.

  6. I have blogger envy too. Today, if I won the lottery, I would buy a garmin + a new SLR lens. And a vacation in the carribean :)

  7. I have to say, I find it confusing that they would give manboobs to a bird that represents a healthy restaurant. Odd :) I really wish we had something similar to the Pita Pit here.

    If I did win the lottery, maybe I would buy a franchise of the Pita Pit. I’d take whatever was left and treat my family to the vacation of a lifetime in Australia, New Zealand and Costa Rica – all places I have visited and intend to see again!

  8. That turkey is indeed rather freaky. Ah, growth hormones in bird feed :P

    I hear you on the envy thing. Strange, because it’s new to me- I didn’t grow up in a family with money. We never went without things we needed, but we certainly didn’t have extra to splurge on luxury things. I have gone through periods over the past few years where I am flat broke (like, too broke to heat my apartment *ahem*) and it’s not easy, especially when I compare myself to others and wonder where I messed up. Of course, I didn’t “mess up”. I just have different circumstances right now.

    If I won the lottery right now? I would buy a new sofa (hip injury = LOTS of time sitting at home + uncomfy sofa = back pain, lol). I’d also go back to school, and a road trip around the USA!

  9. I hear you on the money thing. I cannot afford to do hardly any of the stuff I see some bloggers do. I just think that they are really blessed, but try to be happy with what I have.

    Don’t worry about all that. I know I like reading your blog just like it is, no DSLR or fancy food processor needed!

  10. I feel ya, girl. Really, I do. This move is strapping us so tight that when another blogger ordered some bars and had them delivered to my house so I can forward them on to her, I had to take her up on her offer to reimburse me for shipping. :/

    I would travel, pay off all debt, buy my parents each a car, and save some for a rainy day. Oh, and buy one fabulous outfit that made me feel like million bucks :) Fun question!

    • Lara, funny that you mention that, because I would looooove to do more giveaways, or send out random care packages to other bloggers. But I really don’t have the financial means to do so, especially since I’m in Canada. I’m sure you can appreciate how expensive international shipping is :\

  11. I hear you on the money thing, but I’m not too jealous of what the other bloggers are doing. keep in mind half the time the “elite” bloggers get sponsors to pay for their trips and give them spending money. And they get paid to blog too. So while it would be cool to do all that stuff, I know that I can’t so I’m over it. I need my money for other things right now…like bills!! I can’t even afford to live on my own. It’s totally sad.

    If I won the lottery I’d build house for my family, one for me and one for my sister. Or I’d move the hell out of MA. I’d travel too, and buy barney butter and my mix granola :)

  12. I tried straight up wheatgrass and ick!! that stuff is hard to swallow! Well actually I’ve had some from a smoothie shop and it tasted pretty good but the amazing grass on is nasty! In my opinion at least :D haha.

    I’m right there with you on the money situation! I can’t find a job and it’s really bothering me. Luckily I still live with my parents so I don’t really have to worry about food or that type of stuff. But I would love to do giveaways or order special fancy products.. but I don’t have the money for that.. shipping is so expensive!

    I love the way you eat with simple and affordable ingredients.. it’s more realistic!

  13. Well, it would be really hard to win the lottery without every playing, but…. if I did, I would totally pursue my dream job of opening a bakery. One of my favorite things is to make delicious food and get to watch others enjoy it. I love being able to make others happy, and food is one way I am good at doing that.

    Regarding the money issues though… just remember, there will ALWAYS be greener grass somewhere else! I grew up in a very small and poor town, yet almost every car on the road was a brand new truck/corvette/camaro/etc. Just because people do or buy those things doesn’t mean they actually have the money to support it. You are at least making a wise move in recognizing that you can’t afford those things at this point in your life, and are working to change your situation. Credit cards make it so easy to forget our limitations, and your recognition/acceptance of your current position is very important in your process of making changes. Good luck!

  14. Dangit!!! I just wrote a really good comment catching up on all your posts and then my internet froze and I got booted off. Pee.

    I can totoally relate to what you said about blogger envy. It is hard to see people getting/doing things that we would like. But I think you do a really good job of putting things in perspecitve and having a realistic attitude about your situation.

    If I won the lottery, I would pay off my house, quit my job and do whatever the hell I wanted. :) Hope you have a great day!! xoxo

  15. Oh yeah! I was also going to say, regarding blogger envy, that I am way jeoulous of your pita! We have pita pit around here (within 40 minutes), but I’ve never tired it! I seriously need too!

  16. erintakescontrol

    Freaky on the turkeyboobs. Just plain freaky.

    I don’t really fret with blogger envy – I’m a newbie. I don’t know how to create my own layout or use some of the wordpress features yet. I don’t have 125 commenters on each post, and that’s fine with me. The supportive comments I receive from others is definitely helpful and inspiring, but the purpose of my blog is for my own accountability in my quest for overall wellness. Reading blogs gives me ideas for new recipes or food combos, forms of exercise, inspiration from others who have been in my weight-loss shoes, what works for them, etc. I especially enjoy reading the various points of view – for me it’s really a means of expanding my knowledge of the world and the people who live outside of my own little small town bubble.

    If I won the lottery, I’d pay off my student loan debt and pay my son’s tuition, give him a college fund. I’d quit my human services job (as much as I love it) and volunteer with service agencies in my community that don’t have the financial means to hire staff because all their financial support goes to providing vital services. I’d take more classes to quench my thirst for knowledge, maybe get another degree or six.

    I think it’s good to dream, as long as that dream doesn’t become your only hope.

    Erin

  17. I am poor poor poor too. I effed up in college by going crazy on credit cards and even putting tuition on my credit cards and now I am paying the price. Most of my paychecks go towards bills and the rest goes to gas. Thank goodness Jodus can help with household stuff but we still live paycheck to paycheck. I think I have $38 in checking right now? eeks. It’s a major MAJOR stress factor for me… hence getting the second (third?) job.

    I also really envy the bloggers that make major cash off their blogs, own a house, an SLR, etc. It’s just not going to happen for me any time soon. And I’m ok with that. I was really excited when we got engaged this summer that maybe I would get some fun kitchen gadgets and new dishes but we’ll see if that happens. Seems like the economy is getting the best of everyone. Jodus and I just keep telling ourselves that we are in a recession and if we are starting out in the shitter, the only way we can go is UP. At least we have a little (like $500) in savings, are contributing a little (like $50 p/mo) to retirement, we have a roof over our heads, and JOBS. We are a lot better off than other people.

    And honestly? My most FAVORITE food bloggers EVER don’t use SLR’s or have amazing plates + placemats + napkins + silverware + fine dining experiences. They are the ones with the good sense of humor, the ones that are real, and the ones that I can RELATE to! :D

    xoxo

  18. Oh yeah, and if I won the lottery, I would in this order:

    1) buy a beer
    2) pay off debt
    3) buy a house
    4) pay off my mom’s and my dad’s house’s
    5) buy a new camera and my own domain/server for my food blog :D
    6) buy a Lexus
    7) quit my job(s) and go back to school full time and get into some sort of activism for child health in the school food arena

  19. If I won the lotto I would:

    Pay off my student loans/credit cards/medical bills
    Go to Ireland and other places (depending on the amt)
    Buy a new car, nothing fancy, probably a Ford Edge.
    Give money to people or causes I support.
    Build on or buy a bigger house.

  20. Ok I feel like I have lived both sides of the coin. When I was in my 20s I worked in nightclubs, bars, and lived off tips and worked til 5am with drunks. I have since grown up, made my own money, am married to a man and we do alright, but we don’t live beyond our means on credit cards. We recently (the last year) have sacrificed and stretched more than ever before in my entire life in order to buy our home. It’s been a really interesting year. Once mom stops working, and there’s a baby/child in the mix, it also really changes the dynamic…you have less income and more output. So I completely empathize with your situation…I think in this economy everyone is tapped. Period. I hope you dont hate me…I am going to post some of my kitchen appliances today. But now I am wondering if i should…i get so many questions but i dont wanna create envy….hmmm you’ve got me thinking…

  21. first things first…man boobs, hilarious.

    second, AMEN SISTER! i sub-consciously think this all the time – i have student loans, credit cards and make a decent living, but by no means can afford to have an extravagant life. and sometimes yes, i wish i could suck up a couple hundred bucks to buy a food processor. but you know what, you donated what you could to my well project and that i think is so much cooler than an SLR camera. but yes, it would be nice :).

    let’s live in a cardboard shack together eating Greek yogurt, making waffles and yummy sandwiches. i think i could be happy with that :)

  22. ok so your blueberry waffles were waaay better than mine! homemade is the way to go! fun that chris went to spin!! lol.. i tell my boss he has man boobs when he wears unflattering tighter shirts. hang in there with the money sitch. it will get better! it is so hard to not be able to spend, spend, spend.. but i also think that when you don’t spend, you appreciate what you DO buy more. like that awesome coat! love you susan!

  23. Isn’t it just part of human nature to be a bit envious of others? I think when harmless envy manifests itself into jealousy and an inability to be happy for others…well THEN it’s a problem. And for what it’s worth Susan – (and I think I told you some of this when we met) but I’m absolutely envious of your dedication to your blogging, passion for exercise and healthy eating and general drive and determination. For such a young woman (yes…you ARE young compared to me) I am constantly impressed with your approach to life. YOU may not think you have it all have it all yet – but I’m convinced that one day you will…

    Lottery???

    Other than the usual – quit my job, buy a new home, new car and new wardrobe….my biggest fantasy wish has been to rent a yacht on the Aegean and fly all of my friends to Greece to spend the summer with us island hopping. You’re invited!!

  24. “Most normal people would take one look at this and back off” Bloggers aren’t normal people ;)

    MOOBIES!!! Man + boobs = moobies. It’s kind of sad that turkey has bigger knockers than I do. What do you feed your turkeys in Canada?!

    If I won the lottery I’d be a traveling machine! PB2 haha I like that answer!

  25. Your waffles look delicious! And it’s totally not just you–that turkey is freaky! I think it’s inspirational that you can represent a healthy lifestyle without having a ton of extra cash :)

    If I won the lottery, I’d totally go to Maui. That’d be the first thing. I’d also want to help people with it. With all that I’m learning in school, I’m starting to consider doing a medical mission trip. So I’d probably think about how I could expand that with all the money :)

  26. As everyone already covered, I think we all have a bit of blogger envy. I get jealous of the fact that they are making a living doing something I would love to do in most cases–write, eat and get paid to write and eat. :)

    I’m a frustrated, underpaid writer. I have a shit camera and crappy pictures. I ramble on and am amazed that anyone even reads my blog. I own approximately no fancy dishes and spend all my meager money on the foods I love–produce, Greek yogurt, etc.–instead of fancy clothes or hosting sites.

    However, you never know what can happen, and just have to remember that you started this for you (I assume) and the friendships and personal growth are priceless…or some cheesy crap like that.

    I need to go buy a lotto ticket.

Leave a comment