Daily Archives: November 1, 2009

Run With Me & Goals for November

I loved hearing the things you guys (girls?) learned over the last month. Some made me giggle, but some also really made me think. The comments are always worth reading through! :)

Reader Jenn (hi!!) asked me what route I took for my 10 mile run. An excellent question, because I’m quite attached to my trail. When I transitioned from the treadmill to outdoor running this spring, I hated running outdoors. But I eventually learned it wasn’t running outside that I hated, just my route. I was running on sidewalks and busy streets, when my heart belonged on the trail! So today I brought my camera, and subsequently you, with me! :)

No nap was needed after work today (thanks Daylight Savings!) but I did fuel up with a tootsie pop first.

Worked pretty well actually!

I’m lucky that my trail is literally across the street from my house. Was definitely a selling point for me when I found my new place.


I only see maybe a dozen people on my runs. Most are pretty friendly. Too bad the leaves have all fallen – would have been a lot prettier a couple weeks ago.

Part of the trail runs directly along the St. John River.


My hometown Moncton has a river that’s known as the “Chocolate River” because it’s so muddy and gross. So I never take the beauty of Fredericton’s river for granted.


The other side of the trail is littered with gorgeous homes. Some have beautiful backyards and gardens. 


There’s also a little farm country along the way (I saw horsies on my 10 miler!)


And don’t worry mom, it’s not totally deserted! There’s an Irving gas station along the way (I am in New Brunswick after all…)


The worst part however comes on the last kilometre when I actually run past my house. I like to do a little loop, so I get a 7 minute cool-down walk in at the end.


This is usually where I start running fast. I can’t help it. My brain was all set to keep my pace for the last 5-6 minutes today, but my legs just started moving faster on their own! :P

This was supposed to be a 45 minute run, but turned into 50 minutes with the photo taking. I was running close to 9 minute miles the whole time too, so I actually covered close to 5 miles. I was feeling good after resting Friday then just doing yoga on Saturday.

I also have to share the stellar breakfast cookie I had this morning.


I’m not sure whether to call this a s’mores or fluffernutter breakfast cookie.

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate whey powder
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp Fluff
  • 1/2 tbsp mini chocolate chips
  • splash almond milk

It was pretty decadent – even for me!

However, not all my eats were stellar today.


Store-bought apple sauce will never be the same now I’ve experienced the glory that is homemade apple sauce.


It was borderline gross. I think I’ll save this for baking and get a bag of apples for sauce-making asap.


Today also marks the start of a new month! Which means it’s time to set a new set of goals for the days ahead.

First, let’s check in and see what goals I set for October:

  • Manage my time better so I get more out of my day.
    • I kind of sucked at this one. It’s a work in progress!
  • Continue using my new tiny kitchen to the fullest.
    • Check! There was lots of activity in there last month :)
  • Complete my first double-digit run
    • Check!!! :D
  • Do some freelance writing. Preferably paid.
    • No check. Unfortunately, since I sucked at goal #1, I didn’t have time to set this up. But this is something I’d still like to continue to work on.
  • Make a trip home.
    • Does one meal at home count? How sad is that, especially since my hometown is only a 90 minute drive away. Luckily, I’m heading there on Tuesday, so we’ll just call this one “late” :)
  • Get the guts to take a Zumba class.
    • Check!! Glad I made this a goal, otherwise I would have continued to chicken out.
  • Be more social. Join groups and reconnect with those I’ve lost touch with.
    • This didn’t happen. However, I think quitting my job is a step in the right direction toward this. Hopefully, I’ll be able to join groups when I’m working normal hours for once.

Now, for November?

  • Spend less on groceries. Seriously, time to batten down the hatches.
  • Have fun workouts. No training plans this month, no workout stress!
  • Be less complacent with food. This will be explained in further detail in tomorrow’s post.
  • Get more sleep. This is an ongoing issue that I think is more than just scheduling and bad time management. There are reasons I can’t sleep, and it’s time to get to the bottom of it.
  • Make it through the last month of work with a positive attitude.
  • Try my best to not let anything hold me back.
  • Figure out a way to get into the holiday season. I hate Christmas, but it would be nice to not be so miserable and grouchy about it this year.
  • Spend more time with my grandparents. I am lucky to have three left, and they need to see more of my face, and I need to soak in more of their warmth and wisdom.
  • Be more honest with people. I tend to sugar-coat things, and sometimes that does more harm than good.
  • Look for a job. Not just for security, but one that will ignite some passion in me.
  • Start playing music again. I haven’t picked up my guitar in seven months.

It’s quite the lofty list! Last month was my first month doing this, so I maybe didn’t take it as seriously as I should have. But this month I really want to commit myself to this. So every Sunday, I’m going to be checking in and updating on how they’re coming along.


Question of the day: What are your goals for November? Better make them good, I just might check in with you too! ;)


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 478 other followers