To my mom…

Today she turns fifty-fi…I mean forty-five ;)

My mom is the person I look up to most in the world. She studied for and obtained her third degree while raising three children.

100_8078

She taught me the importance of education, hard work and dedication.

She’s also the type of person who will entertain a room and is the life of any party. She’s passionate and opinionated, quite fiery despite her 5’2” stature.

100_2858

Ever since my Papa passed away in January ‘08, she’s been caring for my Nana. I know it’s been a big life change for her, and I hope she knows her efforts are not going unnoticed!

Finally, she is a mother through and through. Growing up, she was full of love for her children. Even through some rocky times, I never once doubted she was there for me, 100%.

During my high-school years it was just me and my mom living together in the house. We did a lot of bonding during those years. Watching her struggles has taught me how do deal with my own. She is the strongest person I know. Every valuable life lesson I learned, I learned from her.

Happy Birthday Mom!!

My mom is also a great cook, who always fed us healthy, homemade meals. However, she’s not much of a morning person. Luckily, I learned how to make myself breakfast at a young age :P

100_8047

Went a little savoury this morning – egg, cheese, Yves veggie sausage patty, ketchup on a whole grain english muffin. Then a pear sprinkled with cinnamon on the side. I love my sweet bowls of oatmeal in the morning, but sometimes I just want some eggs!

I finally polished off that coleslaw for lunch today. It was getting close to the end, but still very flavourful!

100_8056

I mixed up some salmon salad to put on a whole wheat hamburger bun. The salad was canned salmon, canned peas, red onion, mayonnaise, mustard, lemon juice, curry powder, pepper.

100_8059 
Yum! I always forget about canned salmon. Tuna and sardines are usually my go-to’s. But this was pretty darn good!

I stayed with the curry theme for dinner. It started with some Amy’s organic butternut squash soup.

100_8065

I’m not a huge fan of “drinking” my meals though. I like to bulk up my soups! So I chopped up the rest of my wonky butternut squash and 1/3 block tofu and tossed it in maple syrup, curry powder and cumin. Then roasted/baked it.

100_8063 
It was still missing a little green though, so I dug into my freezer and found some broccoli.

100_8067

Threw it all in a pot and let simmer to blend the flavours, then served in a giant bowl.

100_8071

Ohmygosh, this was delicious. One of my best “impromptu” meals in a while! The sweetness of the maple syrup blended amazingly with the sweetness of the soup. Then the curry gave it an exciting kick. I also loved having the chunks of squash with the puréed soup. 

Of course, it may have been my hunger talking as I’d just come back from the gym. I’d been psyching myself up for a bike today since the weather was absolutely perfect. But when the time came, I was so unmotivated. If you followed me during my triathlon training, you know I’m not very good at forcing myself to do to scheduled workouts if I’m just not feeling it when the time comes. For me, exercise is fun. And I never want to do anything to take the fun out of it!

I hardly ever blow a workout off unless I really need the rest day. So I considered my options and what jumped out at me the most was spin class. It felt like such a cop out, trading in a legitimate road bike ride with a spin class. But ya know what? I had a blast in class!!

The room was packed full of enthusiastic people, it was my favourite instructor, the tunes were awesome (how can Paradise City not pump you up?). I was able to put my whole heart into the workout, and loved every minute of it, even when my legs were screaming at me!

So my lesson today is if you’re going to be active, make sure they’re activities you really want to do instead of just going through the motions :)

Okay, time for me to go watch the last half of the Biggest Loser! By the way, you guys reminded me of so many shows I forgot about in my last post. I’m really bad at keeping up with things on a weekly basis, it’s so hard to keep track!

Question of the day: I bragged about my mom, tell me something awesome about yours!

Posted on September 22, 2009, in Fun, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. You really are my Canadian twin! It was just my mom and I for all of my high school years, too, and we’re super close. Hooray for moms!

  2. Aww…. what a great tribute to your mom. And hope she has a happy birthday!

  3. Wow… that dish looks amazing! I used to get a maple-curry pasta dish at a local restaurant and love those flavours together!

    I hope your mom had a terrific birthday!!

    I hope your sister had fun completing her tri on the weekend… what an active family you have!

    • My sister also found out today that she finished first for women in her triathlon too! It was the short “Try a Tri” distance, but still awesome nonetheless :D

  4. Happy Birthday to your Mom!!!!! She looks so nice in your pics!
    As for my mom, I think she is super awesome b/c she’s sure to let me live my life for myself, and no one else.
    Have a great weeeek :)

  5. awwweee i love this post! what a great tribute to your momma. happy birthday to her! she is gorg and you look just like her. she sounds like a really amazing woman :) i have NEVER had canned salmon, i think i need to take a walk on the wild side and purchase some. i am loving that bulked up soup, i never make tofu because i don’t think i can make it taste good but i think yours would be phenomenal. i still need to try a spin class…

    well i rave about my mom all the time, i think you know what i think of her!

    xo

  6. My mom dressed and cleaned my wounds every single day when I fell and skinned the flesh off both my shins. She was crying and she’s terrified of blood, but she did it.
    My mom was separated from my dad because she had to take care of her sick mother-in-law…RIGHT after her marriage. But she still tended to my dad’s mom with care and wept the most at her funeral.

    LOVE this post, Susan! You and your mom are SO alike! Both freaking gorgeous people! :D

  7. Lovely tribute to your mama (and awesome segue into your eats, don’t think I didn’t notice that!). Something cool about my mom…ummm…one time in elementary school she came in to teach my class what it was like to be a lawyer and then showed up dressed like a judge for a mock-trial thing we did. Is that cool? Haha.

  8. Ooh I love adding my own mix-ins to canned soups! My favorite is to add white beans and broccoli (of course!) to tomato soup!

  9. Happy birthday to your mom!! My mom is a Humane Investigator and she is the head of Chihuahua Rescue USA for Illinois. She also owns a salon and works part time at a clothing store. When I was little, she dabbled in photography and cake decorating. Talk about shoes to fill!!

  10. Happy birthday to your mom! :D Sounds like a great person!
    I’m glad to see that butternut squash chopped up xD… All funky shaped things veggies must meet their maker sooner or later :P

    xx

  11. My mom just had a complete knee replacement surgery last week and watching her go through the healing process has been so hard. She’s the strongest person I know and inspires me to keep running every time I think I can’t go any further.

  12. I love that you posted about your Mom! That’s so special. She must be as proud of you as you are of her!

    Love that soup!!

  13. Happy birthday to your mom! My mom can always make me laugh.. I love her!

    That salmon sandwich sounds delicious! I’ve been having a major craving for salmon lately so I’ll probably try that soon!

  14. Christina Guthrie

    Thanks Susie for the posting, it was the perfect birthday present and thanks to your fellow bloggers for their birthday wishes. I am feeling great today and looking forward to my 56th year!!!!

  15. HAPPY BIRTHDAY MAMA! i hope she has a wonderful birthday!

    my mom is hilarious – no lie. i love that she doesn’t care what people think, and we all love her for that. people flock to her outgoing and hilarious personality, and she is ripped. she could totally beat me up :)

  16. and the comment by your mom is adorable :)

  17. I love your mom post! I can only hope my daughter feels that way about me! You are so sweet! Happy Birthday to your mom!

    You soup looks delicious. I’ve not had the best of luck with tofu in the past, but maybe I’ll give it a second chance!

  18. Oh yeah, I forgot to say something cool about my mom. She’s always around when I need her and she is usually nice enough to not say she told me so! :P

  19. That coleslaw looks really yummy! Something about my mom: She is a real natrual beauty. She has never worn a stich of makeup in her life except for the occasional swipe of lipstick for something extra special. She has never needed it and never will. Although I have to admit, that always kind of sucked becuase it took me forever to figure out how to apply my own, but I think I’ve got it under control now :)

  20. Happy birthday to your mom! You guys doing anything fun to celebrate?

    I am loving canned salmon right now. I only discovered it recently and it’s delicious :D Also tried your breakfast cooke recipe (video tutorial) and made a mini sample one- was AWESOME! YAY! :D

    My mom…is my rock! We have had a lot of ups and downs over the years, but without her… I don’t know what would have happened. She fought really hard to get me treatment- everything from writing to MP’s, to going on TV to moving 500 miles away so we would be in the catchment area for a treatment facility. I don’t know if she will ever know quite how much I love and respect her…

  21. Happy birthday to your mom!! Sweet dedication!
    Your sausage patty/english muffin breakfast looks to die for!!!

  22. Happy (belated) Birthday to your mama! She seems like an awesome lady. THREE degrees?!
    My mom is the most outgoing, friendly woman you will ever meet. She can talk to anyone and make them feel comfortable. I love that about her.

  1. Pingback: Maintenance « The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: A Year of Maintenance « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a comment