Best Oven Potato Wedges

Friends, after much research, trial, and error, I am happy to finally share with you my method of making the best potato wedges right in your oven.

IMG_9154

You know the kind that are crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. No deep frying necessary and perfectly paired with a burger, slab of steak, or breaded fish.

No pussyfooting around today. Let’s get to it.

IMG_9121

1. Set your oven to 450F. It’s hot, I know. Bonus points for taking this photo at noon on the nose.

IMG_9123

2. Put a pot of water on the stove to boil.

IMG_9129

3. Grab your potatoes. The kind of potato for this method doesn’t really matter, that’s what is so fabulous about this method. Just you know, don’t go sweet potato on me.

For today, I used 8 small/medium potatoes which was about 2.25 lbs on my home scale. Makes enough for about 4 side dish servings.

IMG_9125

I peel my potatoes because of that whole immunosuppressed business, but you can leave the skin on if you like it. I otherwise usually do. Cut into wedges and wash well! If wedges aren’t your thing, this also tastes great for potato roasties (what I consider to be cubes).

IMG_9131

4. By now your water should be at a rolling boil, so put your potatoes in there to parboil for 5 minutes only!!!

IMG_9133

Basically until just fork tender but still too firm to eat as is. You don’t want them cooked all the way through or they just stay mushy and get crumbled in the next step.

5. Drain the potatoes and put into a mixing bowl with:

  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 1 egg white
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • any other spices you like

IMG_9140

I experimented with spices and my favourite by far is infused oil. This particular bruschetta kind has oregano, basil, and garlic in it. I find when you add herbs to potatoes they burn in the oven, but oil flavoured with them won’t! You don’t have to buy fancy stuff either, just put some dried herbs and spices into a small jar of olive oil for a few days.

IMG_9143

6. This part is important: spray your baking pan. The egg whites will make the potatoes stick, even though they’ve been tossed in oil. You need extra grease on the bottom.

7. Bake for 20 minutes, flip potatoes, then bake for another 15 minutes until brown and starting to crisp on the edges. Potatoes don’t burn as quickly as some other vegetables, so I leave them in until the corners start to turn a little black.

IMG_9159

I’ve made these at least 10 times over the past few months and the following steps lead to crispy, pillowy, perfectly cooked oven fries every single time. No deep frying needed.

IMG_9165

Gotta save my calories for the vat of ketchup and mayonnaise these get dipped in.

Off to see my oncologist today to get cleared for what will hopefully be my final round of chemotherapy. And nothing soothes a chemo belly like a tray of fries right out of the oven.

Posted on December 13, 2011, in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 53 Comments.

  1. Egg white. This is such a brilliant idea and so plain on its face. Kudos for coming up with it and beat of wishes with your chemo treatment.

  2. Wow. This is incredible. They look delicious. I would have never thought to use an egg white!

  3. Your potatoes come in MUCH cuter bags than the ones down here!

  4. oops I mean you have blown MY mind … but Brad will go CRAZY about this as well

  5. Oh yum. This looks and sounds delicious. And I do hope that you mean that you mix the mayo and ketchup together to make a lovely pink sauce…the way that it’s meant to be. Hmmm…I wonder if this would work the same way with yams.

  6. I love all things potato! Can’t wait to make these!

    Good luck at the doctor today! :)

  7. ooooooooo. I am actually making potato wedges tonight for dinner, I will nix the recipe I have and use this one :)

    Spanks

  8. The potato’s look amazing!!! I’m thinking this would be great with dinner tonight. For an added touch I will warm some Trader Jo’es Con Queso Cheese and drizzle over top! Yum!!!

  9. I don’t know what it is about potatoes and its soothing effect on the stomach! I’ll have to try this.

  10. These look fantastic, can’t wait to try them! Would have never thought of using egg white to coat, but it makes sense since egg washes help make pastries crispy.

  11. Yummy! I love how you serve them on newspaper…it’s like the real deal! :)

  12. You posted this at exactly the right time – I was planning on making potato wedges for dinner! If my boyfriend agrees to pick up some eggs on the way home I’ll definitely be trying this recipe! :)

  13. You were already my hero and inspiration, but now more so. Making these pronto.

  14. Those fries look a..mazing!! Only problem is I don’t eat eggs. Wonder what I could use to coat them with?! I’m gonna try them & maybe even tonight for supper! YUM.

    • Boiling them beforehand makes a huge difference too, even without the egg whites. Maybe try tossing them in a couple tablespoons of flour for a little extra coating?

  15. Yum! Good method! I do something similar by steaming the potatoes, but I hadn’t thought of the egg white idea. You are so smart. :)

  16. Andrew van Geest

    Experimenting with different recipe ideas through trial and error. You are so innovative and creative in the kitchen. I’ll have to give this one a try.

    I love the newspaper too it does make it look authentic,eh

    Best regards,Susan. I hope this round of chemo proves successful in anihilating the cancer:)

  17. Yum! Can’t wait to try these out!
    Best of luck today.

  18. Those look so tasty. I typically make oven fries by just tossing potatoes in low-fat Italian dressing and baking them, but these look way better. Hope all goes well at the oncologist’s and that this is your last round of chemo.

  19. wow, those look like perfection! i always slice mine into skinny little matchsticks so they get extra crispy but i’ll definitely be trying your step-by-step next time!

  20. hope luck was on your side today!! I am making these right now with trader joe’s teeny tiny taters :)

  21. Done. I am making these over winter break!

  22. That’s how I make em!! Saw the boiling secret on food network one day and I’ve never looked back!! Haha

  23. i’m friends with your sister sara. i love your blog, and thought of you when i saw this: http://www.eatit-literarycookbook.com/

  24. Good luck at the doc today! OMG…I LOVE fries dipped in ketchup AND mayo! My husband’s family in Montreal took me to that dark side – I never would have done the mayo trick before I met them. Damn them!! :)

  25. shit i should not have read this. it is a low carb day and all i want is those.

  26. Consider yourself my new bestie for life. I can’t freaking wait to make these.

  27. So I ignored you and tried it with sweet potatoes… and it pretty much made a mix between mushy and crunchy.

    I -will- find a way to do this with sweet potatoes though! Mark my words!

    • That’s what I thought would happen! The sugars and starches are all different in sweet potatoes. Honestly, I’m not sure if GOOD oven SP fries are even possible… You will have to report back to me on your findings!

  28. This is almost identical to the way I make oven fries and I will be making some TOOOONIGHT!

  29. Made this last night. Hands down BEST OVEN FRIES EVER! Thank you so much for sharing the results of your hand work of trial and error. I’ve been trying to perfect them for a long time and you just gave me a recipe that will allow me to never mess up oven fries again!
    Thank you Susan!

  30. Can I just say that photographing those on the newspaper is an amazing idea? Love!

  31. I can’t wait to try making these!

  32. Made these tonight and they actually passed the teenager test!

    Thanks!

  33. I’ve played around with using egg whites when trying to make perfect crispy sweet potato fries but for some reason have never tried it with actual potatoes. Looks delicious!

  34. Making these now.. did both yukon gold and sweet potatoes. Will report back!

  35. I just made these following the recipe exactly. BEST oven fries EVER!! I dunked them in a ranch/plain greek yogurt mixture. Yummmmm

  36. I just made these, and as I coated the potatoes in the oil and egg white I realized I totally forgot to parboil them. oops. But I cooked them just the same (450F) and left them in for about 5-10 extra minutes, and they came out fantastic! So if you are in a hurry (or just forget like me) they work without the parboiling too!

  1. Pingback: Food: Foods I’m Loving Right Now « lgsmash

  2. Pingback: Failing at the barre

  3. Pingback: Five Things Friday « district delights

  4. Pingback: How Do I Cut Potato Wedges? | SuperSana

  5. Pingback: WIAW – Fourth of July! « Mint Chocolate Chick

  6. Pingback: Friday Photos « district delights

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

