Daily Archives: December 13, 2011

Best Oven Potato Wedges

Friends, after much research, trial, and error, I am happy to finally share with you my method of making the best potato wedges right in your oven.

IMG_9154

You know the kind that are crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. No deep frying necessary and perfectly paired with a burger, slab of steak, or breaded fish.

No pussyfooting around today. Let’s get to it.

IMG_9121

1. Set your oven to 450F. It’s hot, I know. Bonus points for taking this photo at noon on the nose.

IMG_9123

2. Put a pot of water on the stove to boil.

IMG_9129

3. Grab your potatoes. The kind of potato for this method doesn’t really matter, that’s what is so fabulous about this method. Just you know, don’t go sweet potato on me.

For today, I used 8 small/medium potatoes which was about 2.25 lbs on my home scale. Makes enough for about 4 side dish servings.

IMG_9125

I peel my potatoes because of that whole immunosuppressed business, but you can leave the skin on if you like it. I otherwise usually do. Cut into wedges and wash well! If wedges aren’t your thing, this also tastes great for potato roasties (what I consider to be cubes).

IMG_9131

4. By now your water should be at a rolling boil, so put your potatoes in there to parboil for 5 minutes only!!!

IMG_9133

Basically until just fork tender but still too firm to eat as is. You don’t want them cooked all the way through or they just stay mushy and get crumbled in the next step.

5. Drain the potatoes and put into a mixing bowl with:

  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 1 egg white
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • any other spices you like

IMG_9140

I experimented with spices and my favourite by far is infused oil. This particular bruschetta kind has oregano, basil, and garlic in it. I find when you add herbs to potatoes they burn in the oven, but oil flavoured with them won’t! You don’t have to buy fancy stuff either, just put some dried herbs and spices into a small jar of olive oil for a few days.

IMG_9143

6. This part is important: spray your baking pan. The egg whites will make the potatoes stick, even though they’ve been tossed in oil. You need extra grease on the bottom.

7. Bake for 20 minutes, flip potatoes, then bake for another 15 minutes until brown and starting to crisp on the edges. Potatoes don’t burn as quickly as some other vegetables, so I leave them in until the corners start to turn a little black.

IMG_9159

I’ve made these at least 10 times over the past few months and the following steps lead to crispy, pillowy, perfectly cooked oven fries every single time. No deep frying needed.

IMG_9165

Gotta save my calories for the vat of ketchup and mayonnaise these get dipped in.

Off to see my oncologist today to get cleared for what will hopefully be my final round of chemotherapy. And nothing soothes a chemo belly like a tray of fries right out of the oven.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers