Weekend Wisdom

“We can complain because rose bushes have thorns, or rejoice because thorn bushes have roses.”
-Abraham Lincoln

284194_544383245605_115400580_31464309_4436631_n.jpg

A picture of one of the many rose bushes that line my cottage. Paired with a reminder that even the thorniest of situations can come with something as sweet as a rose.

Posted on October 23, 2011, in Weekend Wisdom and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I think that has to be the most beautiful quote I have ever read.

    I haven’t commented on the blog before, despite following for six months or thereabouts – I haven’t known what to say.

    Please excuse this terribly trite comment, but we are the same age and I can’t imagine having your wisdom, strength and courage. I truly can’t.

    Wishing you all the best.

    • Always interesting to see what it is that makes people finally speak up! Happy the quote spoke to you today, and thanks for popping in and reading :)

  2. Beautiful…like you. Are you at the cottage this weekend?

  3. I love you Susan.. you’re amazing. :)

  4. Your blog encourages me stop to smell those roses-
    because if not now, when?

    Thanks .

  5. Love that quote! I just watched the entire first season of Raising Hope (thanks, Netflix!), and there was a quote on there that I really liked:

    “Never stop dreaming, because if you stop dreaming, you’re just sleeping.”

    Love it. Also, have you seen Raising Hope? It’s hilarious! If you ever need a good laugh, check it out! Maybe the Canadian Netflix has it?

  6. Fantastic quote – I really do think life is divided into people who see the roses and people who only see the thorns. Most people can’t grasp that happiness is truly up to them

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

