Leftover Mashed Potato Pancakes

Heeyyy, happy Friday! I just took a dose of my new steroids and am feeling extra bouncy!

You may want to read yesterday’s post to find out why I’m hyped up on the ‘roids and can’t catch my breath mid-sentence.

Anyways, I’m really just popping in to share with you one great way to use up Thanksgiving leftovers in case you’re still working your way through them.

IMG_8654.JPG

Pancakes, obviously.

My little sister made German mashed potatoes with apple for our big dinner on Monday. I knew the leftovers would lend themselves nicely to something sweet, after scouring the internets for recipe inspiration, here’s what I came up with:

  • 1 cup leftover mashed potatoes
  • 1/4 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • dash cinnamon

Mixed up and put on a medium-heat griddle. Definitely make sure that the griddle isn’t too hot, as the potatoes will burn quicker than regular pancakes. Leave them untouched, cooking for around 8 minutes each side.

IMG_8660.JPG

Keep in mind these are NOT the fluffy flour-y pancakes you are used to. More crispy on the outside, soft and starchy on the inside. You know, like a potato pancake. I topped mine with leftover homemade cranberry sauce and syrup. The recipe made three large pancakes and I was bursting after two. So you should probably be nicer than me and share these.

I am off to go lift trucks and jump between tall buildings on my steroid high.

Or cuddle with my puppy. Whatever.

Screen shot 2011-10-14 at 8.30.48 AM.png

Have a great weekend!

Posted on October 14, 2011, in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. Could your dog be any cuter? I don’t think so.

    Maybe once you’re done with the leaping and truck lifting you can break the 100m world record! The women’s record hasn’t been broken since the 80s….

  2. homemade cranberry sauce and syrup = NICE

    been thinking about you all day. hope you’re doing okay…all things considered
    xo

  3. Delighted that you’re feeling so much better, but my vote is ‘cuddle with puppy’!!

  4. Feel better, and visualize that pulmonary inflammation easing and resolving by the minute!

  5. So steroids make you hungry too?? I wonder why?

  6. Glad you’re feeling better..there’s nothing better than curling up with a furry friend. Cute pic :-)

  7. You totally shoulda French toasted that shit!

  8. you and your puppy are tooooo cute :)

    I love potato pancakes! I want one right now.. darn it!

  9. Those look sooo good. Cute cute pic of you and your pup.

    Have a great weekend!!

  10. Yay!!! Your fealing better, even if its steroid induced Yay!!!
    Ps
    I forgot to to mention in my email yesterday that my pulmonary function guy told me that he had has seen young people recover their full pulmonary function as early as three months after the damage from the Bleo !!! Yay !
    Have a good weekend!

  11. Love the pic of you and your pup! :)

    I’ve never tried potato pancakes. If I ever let any mashed potatoes survive uneaten I will have to try them. I definitely approve of the cranberry sauce. It’s good on most anything!

  12. Now I wish that I had leftover mashed potatoes. And that I had a puppy like yours.

  13. I love potato pancakes. My dad always makes them with shredded potatoes. I never thought of using mashed potatoes! Thanks for sharing.

  14. What a clever use of leftovers! A friend of mine recently made cinnamon buns that had mashed potatoes in them – and you’d never guess it by the taste or texture.

    What a cute puppy you have :)

  15. Oh, my… :-) First, those pancakes sound amazing, and I’ll be doing something similar with my leftovers – if there are any! – come Thanksgiving here in New Hampshire. :-)

    Second, I read your post in a very speedy way… I think. It may be that you wrote in a very speedy way, as induced by the ‘roids your body needs right now.

    Anyway, the thought of you lifting trucks and leaping between tall buildings has me smiling on this rather blustery Autumn day. :-)

  16. Excellent idea for pancakes! I like the crispy outside, soft inside type of pancakes better anyway!
    Your puppy is soooo cute, by the way, but I’m sure you know that.

  17. I adore you and your dog- that picture is too cute.
    And, I’m forwarding this recipe to my mom. While I’m at school, she’s stuck at home with way too many leftovers on her hands. I shoulda brought some with me!! Grrr.

    Have a great weekend, you’re a star.

  18. You need a cape! Leap tall building in a single…something or other. Glad to hear you’re doing better today. Sending good thoughts your way!!

  19. I’m Going to Pump…You Up! Sorry, your steroid humor cracks me up :) Hope you enjoy your weekend!

  20. Ah sweet cuddle pic! The pancakes look nummy! :P

  21. Fried up mashed potatoes are my absolute favorite leftover! Mine usually aren’t as fancy as yours, though. Did you share any with Buster? ;)

    • No, I’m actually really strict about feeding him from the table! I don’t want him learning how to beg and he seems to have a sensitive tummy. Any scraps get mixed into his food later on. I know, I’m no fun ;)

  22. steroids suck but they do make you feel pretty great!
    I got the best grades ever the semester I was on 40mg of prednisone, I only needed like 4 hours of sleep a night!
    Almost worth the moon face (but the important to remember is that eventually it goes away)

  23. HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND WITH BUSTER!! You look really pretty in that picture!

  24. Us Jewish people calll those a variaton of a potato latke! ;-) Hope you are better!

  25. Adorable picture and great recipe idea! I’ve read several recipes in the past for leftover mashed potato croquettes but have never actually tried it (mostly because we eat mashed potatoes pretty fiendishly around here and rarely have leftovers). Might have to make a separate batch to hide so I can make these, I bet they’re yummy with applesauce too! :D

  26. I would totally rock a runny egg on top of those.

    That picture with your puppy has to be the sweetest one you have ever shared!

  27. What a beautiful photo of you two!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

