Daily Archives: October 14, 2011

Leftover Mashed Potato Pancakes

Heeyyy, happy Friday! I just took a dose of my new steroids and am feeling extra bouncy!

You may want to read yesterday’s post to find out why I’m hyped up on the ‘roids and can’t catch my breath mid-sentence.

Anyways, I’m really just popping in to share with you one great way to use up Thanksgiving leftovers in case you’re still working your way through them.

IMG_8654.JPG

Pancakes, obviously.

My little sister made German mashed potatoes with apple for our big dinner on Monday. I knew the leftovers would lend themselves nicely to something sweet, after scouring the internets for recipe inspiration, here’s what I came up with:

  • 1 cup leftover mashed potatoes
  • 1/4 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • dash cinnamon

Mixed up and put on a medium-heat griddle. Definitely make sure that the griddle isn’t too hot, as the potatoes will burn quicker than regular pancakes. Leave them untouched, cooking for around 8 minutes each side.

IMG_8660.JPG

Keep in mind these are NOT the fluffy flour-y pancakes you are used to. More crispy on the outside, soft and starchy on the inside. You know, like a potato pancake. I topped mine with leftover homemade cranberry sauce and syrup. The recipe made three large pancakes and I was bursting after two. So you should probably be nicer than me and share these.

I am off to go lift trucks and jump between tall buildings on my steroid high.

Or cuddle with my puppy. Whatever.

Screen shot 2011-10-14 at 8.30.48 AM.png

Have a great weekend!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers