Wisdom For Your Weekend

When you change the way you look at things,
the things you look at change.

-Wayne W. Dyer

201110070831.jpg

I was thinking yesterday about what makes us sick and all the things we do to prevent getting sick. We wash our hands and eat Vitamin C. But you know what harms our immune system more than germs or anything else? Stress. You can take all the preventions you want, but if stress is present, then the rest is for naught.

I know this is a quote or saying we’ve heard many times before, but I realize now how important it is to take to heart. Life is stressful. Everyone has things to worry about. But you can’t change those factors, only the way you respond to them. Take care of yourself and respond accordingly. Your world won’t end with some situations, but it will if you make yourself sick with stress.

Enjoy your weekend!

Posted on October 7, 2011, in Weekend Wisdom and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 35 Comments.

  1. Our delicious bake date with be stress free!

  2. Thank you! Best thing I could read before a med school exam :) Have a great day!

  3. Happy Thanksgiving weekend

    I’m thankful that you are my friend :)

    How are you spending it? turkey?

  4. Needed to read this today (and everyday, for that matter). Happy Thanksgiving!

  5. Wow, couldn’t have been said any more perfectly. Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving weekend :)

  6. As an oncology nurse and as a sister who has lost a dear brother to cancer, there is no question in my mind that stress is a carcinogen. It is so important to be kind to both ourselves and the people around us.

  7. Great advice, as usual! :)

    Hope you have a fabulous weekend! :)

  8. Someone close to me just went to the hospital as they were at risk of a stroke today. Likely causes? Stress. It really puts things into perspective. Thanks for posting this today!

    Good luck with your recovery.

  9. Well put Susan as always and I love the quote …(notice the comment from the Onc nurse)

  10. I think you wrote this for me today – thank you. Enjoy your thanksgiving.

  11. Hi There,
    Been reading your blog for a little while now, and haven’t commented before, but I just wanted to say thank you…this was exactly what I needed to hear right now. I really appreciate you!

    Hope you have a great weekend!

  12. I love to read as well as be active and that helps reduce my stress. Sometimes things are out of your control and you can either respond or roll with it – I try and roll with it. Take Care.

  13. This quote totally struck me. Seriously, its often the most simple of thoughts that can make all the difference in a mood, a perspective, whatever. This totally did that for me today. Thank you for the much-needed reminder.

  14. Exactly! :) I went in for a massage yesterday which completely relaxed me. Now I can do everything else.

  15. i was just talking to my husband about that. HOw stressed we are but finding other ways to respond to it and stay connected, strong, and positive! life is worth that effort!

  16. So true. I definitely need to relax and let go of some stress in my life. I think I need a cottage to go to like yours. ;) Have a great weekend, lady!

  17. sehr good thinking indeed. we all live in the sea of gravity, g= 9,98 smt… but we accept it and we feel no weight on us at all. Face everything, accept them all, if need be, an noiselessly… enjoy the moments that are .. I was born 19.., I had not been there in 18…, I wont be here in 21.. you neither… hee hee .. no worry
    Life must be at times stressfull… we can play hide and seek. But Let us never get stressed because of trying to get 100% stressfree !!
    In order to move effiently, you need some friction down there under your feet .. fate is part of freedom..

    a philo-suffer

  18. Thanks for the reminder! I guess that Thanksgiving is a good time to take a look at our lives and see what’s important and what’s not. To stop and appreciate the good things in our lives and to make sure that we follow our passions! I found a Steve Jobs quote yesterday on Pinterest (just discovered the site and went a bit crazy yesterday..!) about finding work that we’re passionate about… and it really struck a nerve. Even what looks to be like a great job on paper can make us miserable if it’s not right for us…

    “Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking, and don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it. ” – Steve Jobs

    By the way great interview on CBC this morning!!!

    Have a good weekend,
    Maddy

  19. you are so. freaking. awesome! it is amazing in this world of self-promoting “healthy living” bloggers to see someone like you who is so incredibly down to earth and real. i was recently diagnosed with thyroid cancer and while i’m on a different path than you as far as treatment, symptoms, etc. reading your blog has been such a help throughout the entire experience to know i’m not the only 20-something getting dealt a crappy hand and dealing with it the best i can. have a wonderful, stress-free weekend! :)

  20. I had seen Jobs’s commencement address a little while back. It’s inspirational to see that someone can be as grounded as he seemed to be but yet be so sucessful in their career… It doesn’t have to be one or the other!

    Another good one (not really a quote…) that I found was the “Holstee Manifesto” (http://shop.holstee.com/pages/about).

    :-)
    Maddy

  21. i love wayne dwyer. I think the has lots of great positive thoughts and i can always use more of those!

  22. So true! You know what stresses me out more than anything? The idea of getting sick! I stress about getting a cold when I have something I need to do (something big at work, a big social event etc). I even stress about getting something much worse than a cold, a mosquito bite that leads to triple E, or a full body scan at the airport that leads to cancer etc. In the end, what is going to give me the small and big diseases is all that stress! I swear I’m getting better at this!

  23. This is a great reminder for me today :)
    Have a great weekend!

  24. Words to live by! Thanks for the reminder, we all can change some things!

  25. Stress is one of those things I desperately try to avoid. Ditto for anger.

    For me, everything changed when I saw Dr. Oz on Oprah many moons ago. He told the audience that when you get upset a piece of your heart muscle actually dies. I was so horrified by the partially dead heart he showed that I forever changed my ways!

    BTW – Happy Thanksgiving amiga!!!! :)

    • Whooaa, that’s crazy! I wonder if I can find a clip of it?

      Happy Thanksgiving to you too!! I think I’ve got two dinners going on here this weekend :)

  26. “Take care of yourself and respond accordingly.” This is is exactly how I am living these days. Taking care of myself and avoiding stress are my top priorities right now. When I recently made the decision to live this way, I started to feel better almost immediately.

  27. Oops, Happy turkey day! My one trip to Canada back in the early 1980′s has us landing on your Thanksgiving… we went out for a Thanksgiving dinner one month early! ;-)

  28. Nicely put! This came at the perfect time. What an inspiration you are to me!

  29. Really feel something strong from your words,
    the same kind of feeling I got last night watching
    Steve Job’s commencement grad speech online.
    (meaning you make me think and feel and treasure the
    value of my life in a way that makes me take pause)
    Thank you Susan.

    Hope you felt better and had a nice
    Thanksgiving with your family.
    I hope you will never feel burdened by this blog-
    as a reader I would hope you will take as many
    and as long as breaks away as you need.
    I would be as happy to read you weekly or
    even monthly ….because your words are THAT
    good. Yup, they are! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

