Babaganoush Hummus Soup

When people ask me how I’ve been making out with my chemotherapy treatments so far, I usually name the one or two side effects that are the worst that day, then add that overall it hasn’t been too bad.

I’ve written before that I had some horrific image of my being rail thin, bald, and puking over a toilet the whole time. Instead, I feel like the chemo experience has instead been quite manageable. Sure, I’m tired all the time. But really, what busy person doesn’t feel tired all the time anyways?

Then treatment #6 came and I felt a little walloped.

The thing with chemo is that it accumulates. While I was able to recover within a few days of the first treatments, that recovery time gets longer and longer with each treatment. Suddenly, a week has passed since my sixth chemo and I only now feel like I’m coming out of the post-treatment fog.

One of the big things I noticed this time around was my stomach. It hated treatment #6. All I wanted was toast and cheese, preferably every few hours to keep it from getting too upset. That worked for a couple of days, until I realized I needed something with I dunno, vegetables.

IMG_8612.jpg

We got eggplant in last week’s CSA box. There was no way I had the stamina to make another moussaka, so I racked my brain and remembered a certain Babaganoush Soup I once saw on Eat Live Run. I *puffy heart* babaganoush and it sounded like a great way to turn the dip into a meal.

But then I remembered Oh She Glows Garbanzo Soup. Aka hummus soup. I wanted that too!

IMG_8618.JPG

So I mixed the two and created a tasty little “get well” chemo soup. It’s full of those veggies I need, easy on my tummy, and a cinch to make when I have no energy to be standing around in the kitchen.

Babaganoush Hummus Soup

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 large eggplant (or 3 small ones)
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1 red onion
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1 tbsp ground cumin
  • 2-3 cloves garlic
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp tahini
  • 1 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 cups vegetable stock

Directions

Heat oil in a medium heat pan and add chopped eggplant, red pepper, and onion. Cook slowly, about 20 minutes, until soft and caramelized.

Add coriander, cumin, and garlic and cook for another 5 minutes.

Transfer to blender with remaining ingredients and blend. I recommend adding your stock last and a little bit at a time until you get your desired consistency. I like my soups reeeeally thick and added less than 2 cups.

Transfer to a pot and let simmer for about 30 minutes so the flavours can mingle. Or 5 minutes if you’re impatient like me.

IMG_8633.JPG

The end result is a warm and creamy soup with a cumin and garlic kick reminiscent of my favourite dips. Although, it’s still a good idea to have pita bread on hand for this one! Or my latest favourite – cheese and toast. With a little pesto for good luck.

Posted on October 5, 2011, in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I have to admit- I’m a little skeptical about the texture…is it a little grainy or is it really creamy? The flavours sound great but the texture freaks me out a little (but it could just be translating weird into photos)

    Hope your stomach gets happier soon!

    • Not grainy at all! Keep in mind I didn’t put in all the recommended stock to make it really thick (I have an aversion to hot liquids, but that is a post for another day…) The key is to cook the veggies slow so they get soft and puree well.

  2. You had me at warm and creamy! Perfect fall soup!

  3. I’ve been saying the same thing about it accumulating!!! after my 7th I had the worst fatigue ever for like 4 days. Also, to also comment on your last post, my digestive system has gone from stopped up to the opposite after that treatment. YUCK. Are you having a halfway point PET/CT???

    • I was told I would be getting a PET after my three month mark (which is now) but I haven’t gotten the appointment yet! I’m actually looking forward to it as it involves a little day trip to the next city over :)

  4. Mmmmm, that looks delicious lady! Yummy! :P

  5. YUM!! This reminds me of a little something I came up with (although, since my mind works in strange and mysterious ways, you’ll have a devil of a time figuring out how your soup recipe triggered my treat recipe!) You can buy some marvelous beet salad in the Turkish stores here in Berlin. It’s cooked beets, cut up really fine (more or less shredded) with a bit of olive oil and just a little bit of hot pepper. It’s almost like a puree, only a bit more coarse. I decided to try this:

    Take fresh mushrooms and remove the stems (and, or course, clean them)
    Turn them upside down and fill them with beet salad
    Plop a walnut on top

    This mixture of textures and flavors is really nice.

  6. I’ve looked at both recipes before, but have trouble getting past the image of “hummus as soup.”

    does it taste like hummus, or a bit different?

    • The veggies cut the taste of the garbanzos a little. I actually found both the eggplant and chickpeas to really shine through. Just think of it like a bean soup!

  7. :( I hope the you are feeling much better now. I know that it’s rough being sick and tired all the time (hey, I’m on my second pregnancy so I do know a little about that haha). But before you know it, it’ll be over and you’re going to be feeling awesome again.

  8. Looks delicious! I hope that was just what you needed to satisfy your vegetable intake without putting you over the edge. What a ridiculously fun recipe name, too. Hello superfluous syllables!

  9. This looks awesome! I love how thick it looks.

  10. Susan- only you could manage a culinary masterpiece while fatigued from chemotherapy when most mortals MAYBE could muster using a canopener. I’m so beyond impressed. AND I love the marriage of those two recipes. I sometimes ‘eat’/’slurp’ super thick soups myself- they feel a bit more substantial than watery soup at times.

    I’m glad I came over here- I’ve missed you.

  11. I added the whole 2 cups of stock and what came out, can hardly be called soup. It’s rather a vegetable cream. I think the most awesome vegetable cream I’ve tried :D Soooo creamy and warming (I also added a ton of ginger and chilli to make it spicier). And we have the first day of really cold and rainy weather today – what a perfect timing :) Thanks for this recipe and take care :)

  12. I made this a few nights ago and I absolutely loved it! Like you, I didn’t add all of the stock (maybe 1 1/4 cups total) and the texture was wonderful. Thanks for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

