The 100 Mile Dinner

Hello! I am back after a day off from blogging yesterday. Weekends are always low-key around here anyways, but I got a dog on Friday and he sucked up every ounce of my attention over the weekend!

I did manage to tear myself away from the puppy long enough to attend a 100 Mile Dinner with my sister on Sunday. I’ve been intrigued by the 100 mile idea ever since watching the “100 Mile Challenge” show on the Food Network Canada. Basically, a group of people in British Columbia committed to eating only food produced 100 miles from where they lived. It was a lot harder than they expected it to be! One hundred miles isn’t very far if you think about it…

IMG_8599.jpg

Eating locally is not really something I’ve done a whole lot of until this past summer. Namely because local goods are often more expensive than the imported stuff in the grocery store. But when the cancer diagnosis came, I shifted around my priorities. Buying quality food, and knowing where it’s grown, became important to me and the healing process. No fancy green elixirs here, just straight up, close-to-home food.

IMG_8591.JPG

Plus, the dinner was a fundraiser! We started off with whole wheat biscuits. Very soda-y, just the way I like them. I’m curious as to how many of the ingredients were local. Every last one of them? The journalist in me needs to get to the bottom of this…

IMG_8592.JPG

Our soup course was a delightfully spiced cabbage soup. I was expecting it to be bland by the looks of it, but it was quite the opposite.

IMG_8595.JPG

The main course stole the show for me. Beef with a mushroom ragout, mashed potatoes, and roasted root veggies (beets, turnip, parsnip, carrots). The beef was soft and full of rich flavour. The mushrooms added a wonderful heartiness to it. The gravy mixed in with the buttery potatoes was to die for. Of all the local foods out there, beef is one of my favourites to splurge on. You can really taste the difference and it’s the kind of meat that leaves you feeling good and energized after.

IMG_8597.JPG

Finally, dessert! Apple crumble. A little predictable, but always a crowd pleaser. The dishes were all served in the cafeteria at the local community college and prepared by the culinary students there. I was quite impressed by how good everything tasted for such a large event and at the speed of the service. Despite feeling kinda crappy on Sunday, I’m happy my sister and I were able to pop out of the house to experience it.

I wouldn’t have predicted my diagnosis would spark a local food lover in me. One would probably guess a health-nut like me would have gone for seaweeds and veganism. But there’s something about the idea of meeting the people who grow my food, seeing the soil it’s grown in, and knowing it only took 20 minutes to get to my plate. It gives me more piece of mind than something that was handled a million times flying across an ocean to get here.

Don’t take that the wrong way though. There will always be room for Guatemalan coffee ;)

The dinner was also my first time away from Buster since I got him on Friday. He was at his Nana’s the whole time (ie my mom’s). We’re already quite attached and it took everything I had not to text my mom every 5 minutes to see how he was doing.

IMG_1755.JPG

Archie the poodle is my childhood dog who lives with my mom. He is quite offended by the new addition. Buster just wants to play and Archie is all like “What are you doing here?” Archie is 14 years Buster’s senior and my mom keeps comparing it to bringing a new baby home to an only child. Poor Archie!

Posted on October 3, 2011, in Fun, Pets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. I can understand not wanting to leave that cute little face. So so adorable.

    I find the 100 mile diet interesting as well and I watched the special on the Food Network and read the book. I’m partially convinced that the only place in Canada that the 100 mile diet would truly work (especially year-round) is exactly where they tried it- BC.

    That being said, I try to do as much local eating as I can. But no, I will not give up my Costa Rican or Ethiopian coffee :)

    • Yup, I think BC would be the only place for the 100 mile diet in Canada too. Which says a lot about how difficult it would be. I remember one episode when the woman started crying because they found lemons!

  2. My sister raises her own cattle and we get to reap the rewards. You can just taste the difference in a cow that’s been happy and grass fed! She brings us steaks, roasts, ground beef – all FREE!! So blessed!

  3. Archie totally looks jealous in that picture!! Too funny.

    There is a lot of produce within 100 miles of us (granted, we live in California farm country) but I have no idea about meat. We stopped buying beef from the grocery store when our farmer’s market started offering grass-fed beef. It comes frozen so i wonder how far the actual farm is.

    • You should ask! If I want to buy local beef in the “city,” it’s frozen for freshness. I’d actually be a little more sketched out if it was thawed. The only place I’ve been able to find it not frozen is on the farm or at a farmer’s market.

  4. I love local grown foods. I wish there was a restaurant here (maybe there is), that served locally grown foods

    • The best restaurants around here for serving local foods (apart from the typical hippie-dippy places) are hotels! Not chain motels, but some of the upper-scale hotels with chefs will tailor their menus to highlight the best of the food in the area. Always makes for a nice treat!

  5. What a cool event! And I hear you on the beef. We buy local meat and I can certainly notice a difference.

  6. I think this 100 mile thing would be pretty hard where I live. I know there are a few sources for meat but not a lot going on produce wise. It would be a pretty sparse dinner to say the least! lol

    I love how Archie is looking at Buster! The name made me think Arrested Development too! :) Speaking of I read on Yahoo there is a season 4 in the works!!!

  7. hahahaaaaaaa. poor Archie – his face in that picture is priceless!!

    I could do the 100 mile diet here, but it’s so expensive, and time consuming (the farms are a bit of a drive)… I know that’s no excuse, but I try to buy local veggies – it’s just the meat that gets tricky and expensive!!

  8. Hi Susan. Congratulations on your new arrival. Buster is ADORABLE. I think Archie is trying to figure out how big a box he needs to box him up, call FedEx and banish him to Timbucktu in the photo though. Funny!!! I’m in BC, and buy as much local as I can, but I think to truly embrace it, you’d have to have alot of money (and I’d really miss my coffee!) All the best for the week ahead!!!

  9. That is such a cool concept. 100 miles isn’t far at all!

  10. This looks like a meal my grandmother would serve up with vegetables and meat from her backyard. Simple and delicious :) While I love the idea it’s definitely not possible here all year but do I soak as much of it up as I can in the summer.

  11. LOL at Archie – he’s totally giving him that look in the picture!

  12. What a cool idea for a fundraiser! I love that idea- I wonder if there’s anything like in in Chicago. PS, your dog is adorable. :)

  13. Hi Susan,

    I have been following your blog for a while now and your are quite inspiring. Your posts are always interesting, often funny, and many times poignant. Thank you for sharing your journey so honestly and openly.

    I have awarded you The Versatile Blogger Award.

    http://versatilebloggeraward.wordpress.com/vba-rules/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

