Meet The Newest Member Of The Family…

Buster! My first ever dog!

IMG_8569.JPG

In case you haven’t already seen the barrage of photos I’ve posted on my other social mediums.

You see, it has been one of my long-term life goals to get a dog. It’s actually one of the many reasons why I moved home from Toronto! When I got cancer, I made myself a list of medium-term goals to get me through treatment. Apart from traveling and baking croissants, getting a dog was on the list. I knew it would be the perfect time to get and train one since I’m at home all day.

IMG_8567.JPG

I’ve been wanting to a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel forever. They are the sweetest, kindest, friendliest dogs. When I first moved home I found only one breeder in the area and was still pretty set on getting a rescue dog if I could.

Thing is, when you live in a small centre with a lower population, there are fewer dogs to rescue! Moncton’s only shelter has lots of shephards, huskies, and other big dogs. But very rarely does a smaller dog show up. I like lap dogs, what can I say.

Yesterday, it finally occurred to me to look on Kijiji to see if there were any locals looking to get rid of some older dogs, and there were TONS! Not all puppy mills or sketchy breeders, just every day folk who for whatever reason can’t care for their dogs anymore and want to make a few bucks off of it.

I stumbled across a young family here in town who had cavaliers they could no longer care for and I was there by lunchtime. By 1pm, Buster was at home with me.

IMG_8580.JPG

He’s almost 10 months old and responds to the name Buster. While it’s not my favourite name, I don’t want to confuse him, and it does kind of remind me of Arrested Development. I’m a bigger fan of silly human names for dogs, thus his proper title will be Buster Bartholomew.

While he is still a puppy in many respects, he so far seems to be house trained. No accidents yet! He’s not eating or drinking yet, which I intend to get him doing today. I may have to spoil him with a little meat and rice. He’s also going to get a bath today and a dreaded meeting with vet next week.

IMG_8583.JPG

In terms of personality, he is perfect in every way. Cavaliers are known for being excellent human companions and are often used as therapy dogs. He loves everyone who crosses his path and will cuddle up to them immediately. He is a BIG cuddler and gets very attached to people. He’ll whine a little whenever someone leaves a room! All you have to do is look at him and his tail will start to wag furiously. He came from a home with another dog and three small children, so I think he is loving all this new attention he is getting.

IMG_8586.JPG

I tried to put him in the kennel to sleep last night in case there were any accidents. That lasted all of two seconds. He ended up sleeping under the covers with me.

For those of you wondering, I do have two other dogs in my life, but neither of them live with me. Archie the poodle is my childhood dog who lives with my mom. He is almost 15 years old and will meet Buster today when we go visit. Buddy the boxer lives at my step-mom’s and visits here at my dad’s occasionally with her. But when I’m home all day it’s just me and Cashew the cat, so I’m elated to have another companion while I’m on sick leave. When I go back to work full-time, he’ll likely spend a lot of the days while I’m at work at my mom’s house so he doesn’t get too lonely.

IMG_1683.jpg

I am one happy dog mom!! Buster is sleeping on my legs right now as I type this. We’re already inseparable.

Oh, and Cashew the cat? So. Not. Impressed.

Posted on October 1, 2011, in Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 84 Comments.

  1. He. Is. Adorable! AHHHH. Want a dog so bad I can’t stand it. 10 more months until we are back in the States for good and I can make it happen!

  2. I just love him…so happy for you both

  3. Christina aka Mom

    I feel sorry for Cashew but she will come round. Remember when Rudy first came to live with me both Archie and Fergie the Cat had their moments. But they soon lived happily together when they all accepted that Archie was boss. Hopefully they will soon be sleeping together in your bed.

  4. Hey Susan- one of my best friends has a King Charles, her name is Maisie. I lived with them for about 6 months and Maisie and I became best friends. One thing about this breed is that they are amazing companion dogs! You will never regret this!

  5. OMG my heart just MELTED!!! That is awesome that you adopted/rescued him – HE COULD JUST NOT BE ANY CUTER! Also – I love how you are looking at your name, because AD is the BEST. SHOW. EVER. :) Congrats new mama – can’t wait for all the updates to come!

  6. compassionatecompetitor

    So adorable! I miss being able to have a dog so badly it will be one of the main reasons I move too!!

  7. He;s so cute! I love the name Buster! Ahhh, your going to make a great Mom, and I’ll bet you’ll spoil him to!! :)

  8. Oh my gosh, too adorable! Congrats on your new addition :)

  9. He is adorable! I want to reach through my screen and snuggle him and scritch his chin!

  10. I am so happy for you … as a dog lover … I had not had a dog in 16 years and then my Dante arrived at the perfect time for me … here is a little bit of his story and mine …

    http://semplicementej.blogspot.com/2011/08/at-vet-again.html

    I admire that you want to keep his name, but I have been told that the dog if loved will adjust just fine to a new name … maybe you can name him what you want and keep Buster as his middle name …

    Just a thought … whatever you decide … he is ADORABLE … congratulations!

    • Dante is so sweet!!! I’m really hoping Buster is okay when I take him to the vet next week. Cavaliers can have a slew of health problems. Not to mention, he still needs to be neutered :\ I thought about changing his name regardless, but it is just too darn cute when he perks up to the sound of “Buster”!

  11. HE LOOKS JUST LIKE MY SADIE!!!! We have two cavaliers and love them to death. I hope Buster is a great companion for you! :)

  12. Oh my gosh! SO adorable and I’m so glad you found just the breed you were searching for :) what a sweet goal met!

  13. Wow- your dog is absolutely precious looking and I would love to have one just like that! It looks like you 2 are already getting along fabulously!

  14. AGH! Your dog is so cute!! It’s great that you’ve been able to get another companion and I’m sure it will aid in the health of your experiences right now!

  15. Animals heal. There is no doubt about that in my mind. Congrats ;)

  16. Delurking to say congrats! Buster is adorable and his cuddles should have lots of healing properties. Oh and if you want to change his name, go ahead and do it. Just train it like any other command. Dogs don’t attach meaning to their names like we do. :)

  17. Awwww. The picture of Buster with his head smushed between the two couch cushions just melted my heart. So cute!

  18. Congratulations, Buster is absolutely adorable. I got my puppy shortly after the death of my husband and the healing powers he brought into my life were amazing. He lifted my spirits, gave me reason to laugh and smile again and opened my heart back up love. We have been inseparable since. I hope the two of you find the same joy, i’m so excited for you both!

  19. Absolutely precious! So happy for you and your lucky fur baby. :-)

  20. Adorable, and Buster’s personality really does sound perfect! My Dog is a little rescue too. They’re the best : )

  21. LOVE LOVE LOVE. I still think his middle name should be AnnYong, though. :)

  22. When my mom was undergoing treatment for breast cancer, my parents had gotten a Yorkie puppy for my sister. But, Fidget, as she is aptly named, quickly became my mom’s dog – snuggling with her on the couch or in bed, when my mom was resting, keeping her company while my dad and sister were at work and school, respectively. They became inseparable too. She has become my mother’s 3rd ‘child’. She’s only the teensiest bit entirely spoiled rotten. :P

    Enjoy your new fur baby! :)

  23. Soooooo cuuuuute! I love him!! The day I got my first puppy was one of the best days of my life!

  24. OMG Susan, he is gorgeous!! So so so cute! I’m jealous… I’d love to get a dog too but similar to how your living situation was in Toronto, I just don’t have the time to be around to let it out etc during the day. I think you’ll make a fabulous dog mom!! :)

  25. I am in love. I think Cavaliers are some of the cutest dogs. Happy for both of you!

  26. Awwwh LOVE those dogs. A friend in Nova Scotia got one a few years ago, and I just loved it!

    Congrats = dogs are awesome because they can sense stuff too – so I’m sure he’ll be great

    Re:names. Our dogs name from the pound was Lance. not a fan at all – I still have a hard time yelling it out, especially since he’s a pitbull/boxer aha but we didn’t want to confuse him either.

  27. Well, the only response to the photos is a big ‘AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!’ And please give my sympathies to Cashew. Our dear Electra has yet to make good friends with the newest member of our family, William. Electra is an 11-year-old Devon Rex, whom I often call ‘Momma’s little Mutant’ — the curly hair she should have is only on her head, neck, shoulders, and legs — with the rest of her body covered only in fuzz. She looks like we’ve given her a poodle cut. She weighs about 8 pounds. Our Siamese ‘kitten’ – weighing in at 11.25 pounds at less than 8 months old (with up to 10 more months to keep growing) — likes to ‘play’ with her by hurling his now adolescent body at her aging frame. In people years, he’s about 12 and she’s about 61, so you can imagine how well Electra received his playful behavior. Poor Cashew!

  28. What a little cutie! I love his name…and I love and cuddly dog. I bet he’ll have so much fun with you. :)

  29. Good puppy! Welcome to your new best buddy.

  30. You make an adorable couple!

  31. Yay! I read this post aloud to Marshall and we laughed at all quirks Buster has. Reminds us of a certain needy little girl….

    I’m SO glad you got a dog. I know how much you’ve wanted one, you must feel so complete :) sure wish we could have a doggy playdate! Love you!

  32. He is SO cute! and I don’t even like dogs!

  33. Ohh, he’s so cute!!! I love dogs!

  34. Congrats on your newest addition and he’s adorable! I saw the pics on IG and was blown away by the cute factor :)

  35. Buster may just be one of the cutest puppies I’ve ever seen! Congrats on being a new mommy ;)

  36. Congrats to you! We are on our 2nd Cavalier and ey are fantastic. All they want to do is love you :)

  37. He’s so sweet! I love the photo of the two of you.
    You could probably re-name and re-train him, if you could come up with a name that rhymes with Buster – Duster? Custer? Adjuster? On second thought, I like the name he has now!

  38. Hooray!!!! I am in love with Buster. So freakin’ cute! I think this is exactly the right medicine:)

  39. Any name that comes from Arrested Development is *absolutely* acceptable!

    Our dog Paisley came with her name as well. We weren’t fancy on it at first, but we couldn’t think of anything else that suited her better, so it just stuck!

  40. CONGRATS!!!!!!!! I have a Cavalier and they are the BEST!

  41. Well isn’t he cute! And congrats on being halfway through treatment!

  42. SOOOOO CUTE!!!!! Congrats! Dogs are the absolute best. They love you no matter what and are always there to comfort you. I don’t know what I would do without my little men (Dexter and Charlie, mini dachshunds, the loves of my life.) A perfect time to get a puppy too… someone to keep you company on walks and in bed :)

  43. oh my gosh. cutest lil pup everrrr!!! love him!

  44. How sweet! I love this breed of dog as well !

  45. Awww what a cutie. Glad you were able to rescue him :)

  46. WANT.

    Buster is SUCH A cute, Susan!! Growing up, I always wanted that kind of dog – love the pic of you and Buster together, too :)

  47. Yay! Congrats on the new addition! I do the same thing with animal names (we have 2 dogs). Leland became Baron Leland von Hornwhisker and Biscuit became Princess Biscuit Laroux.

    • Bahaha, I love those names!! The other dog at Buster’s old house was named Biscuit. They were named by children, hence the simple names. My other pets have all had silly human names though – Archibald Dylan, Fergus Jagger, Basil Magnus, and Prudence :)

  48. hip hip hooray!!! my first choice for a dog was a cavalier but we wound up with a jack russell. if you need any puppy advice just ask!

    • Jack Russel was on my shortlist of breeds along with Cavalier, miniature poodle, and daschund. I dog-sat a long-haired jack russel last year and it was such a good dog!

      Any advice on getting a new dog to eat and drink? He’s used to eating with another dog, and now that he’s the only dog here he isn’t into it. He’ll eat treats and stuff, but I’m worried about his lack of water!

  49. Oh dear god.
    That my friend is sweetness personified.
    You are a genius.

    I couldn’t think of a better thing to help you along on your journey and the universe must have agreed.
    BTW the Kijiji rocks.

    I wish you both years of devotion, love and sweetness.
    Enjoy every cuddle!

  50. SO FREAKING CUTE!!! And as a cat lover, I hope your cat adjusts…sure it will ;-)

  51. Cute! You really do look like a happy new mama :) Cashew’s just gonna have to suck it up hahaha oh and love the Arrested Development reference, one of my favorite shows! Your Buster is gonna be a mama’s boy too lol

  52. So cute! I love em. Enjoy!

  53. Gah! How cute is he??!?!?! What a great cuddle bud. I love the picture of his little feet :) Too sweet!

  54. aww so sweet! And Buster Bartholemew is the most genius name ever! Congrats on your new addition :)

  55. Poor Cashew, he’ll learn or maybe not to get along. Cats will always be the boss, so Buster better behave. :)

    He’s cute, glad you found yourself a companion. I have a Britany Spaniel he’s crazy but very much a lap dog.

  56. what an adorable dog! cuddly and friendly sounds totally perfect for you. having a pet around 24/7 who dotes on you (and that you can spoil) is the best.

  57. Susan,
    this is probably my favorite post of your ever!
    I love dogs and I just feel so happy for you.

    Buster could easily learn another name,but it’s sweet
    you want him to feel as at ease as possible.

    Hope he brings you tons of smiles, comfort,cuddles all
    along your journey back to great health!

    Congrats to you and to Buster :)

  58. Oh my gosh. I’m dying, Buster is so cute! Pets are so therapeutic and make such great friends. I can’t wait to see what you two get into!

  59. SO CUTE!!! I keep hoping that one day I’ll convince my husband that a Cavalier would be the perfect addition to our two cat home. It could happen right . . ..

  60. Oh my gosh that dog is ADORABLE!!!

    Totally the cutest thing I’ve seen in a long time.

  61. Rebecca Bloomwood Jr.

    Buster is adorable! He seems like the perfect little companion to keep you company.
    And I completely agree with you; small lap dogs that love to cuddle are the best!
    I have a 2 year old Min Pin Poo (she’s a cross between a Miniature Pinscher and a Poodle) and I can’t get enough of her. She’s just the perfect thing to come home to after a long day. Enjoy your new puppy!

  62. Oh he is SO adorable! Welcome, Buster! Why on Earth would his previous family want to get rid of him?! He’s such a lovebug :)

    I’m so happy for you, Susan…I know you have wanted a pup for a long time. And don’t worry, I think 10 months is still plenty of puppy…I think you’ll be surprised for the better!

    Please keep posting tons of photos! Congrats, Mama! :)

  63. That’s so awesome, I’m happy for you dog momma! I had a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel for 41/2 years that I found abandoned in a park not long after I moved to Seattle. He was only about 2-3 months old and I named him Riley. After my grandma’s dog died I drove him to Illinois to give her Riley because I knew he would be perfect for her. He is a cuddle bug but still quite athletic. He was my hiking buddy, he went up to 12 miles hiking with me. He was a bit more long legged and bigger then many Cavs I have seen. I miss him so much but my grandma has said she has never been happier. Sometimes you just have to make a sacrifice. I can’t wait for more photos!

    • Awww, such a sweet story! I hear that despite their small size, cavaliers can be quite athletic! Which makes me happy, as I go on long walks almost every day and need a dog that can keep up with me ;) Although, he does seem perfectly content to curl up in my bed all day.

  64. Awesome news! Just catching up now after being in Toronto at a dog trainers’ seminar with Dr Ian Dunbar. :o)

    Nothing wrong with “spoiling” your dog with fresh home cooked food like you eat! We have lots of customers who make their dogs’ food. As long as it’s correctly balanced, it’s the best thing you can feed them… think “100 mile diet”. ;o) If you feed fresh food, they often drink less, since they’re getting more moisture than is in dry kibble.

    Enjoy your puppy!!

    • Thankfully he is eating dry food and drinking regularly now! It took about a couple of days and a switch in dog food. He’s keeping it all down now. I think the stress from the life change made his poor tummy upset. Despite the dry food, he will definitely be getting lots of scraps and homemade dog treats from me in the future ;)

  65. He’s adorable. That’s all there really is to say! :)

  66. Goodness he is all sorts of cute :)

    Congrats.. doggies are awesome :) puppies are even sweeter

  67. Ahhh he’s adorable ~ congrats to you :)

  68. Can he come on our Maine trip too??

  69. i am so glad you have a “comforter spaniel”…perfect… i have raised them, in a very limited way, in the past.. i still have four.. my family has the rest…. my oldest is 11 yrs.

    He will help you get well…

    … Cavaliers would all weigh 200 lbs, if given half a chance.. he will eat…

    and, help him by getting his heart checked out as he gets older, and now…they are not the most naturally healthy breed…..

    You can email me if you want to .. i know/love all their little quirky habits.. (he probably wants you to feed him by hand, piece by piece… they are spoiled little stinkers). I LOVE the photo above where he is looking at the camera sideways…

    must go hug my little babies..

  70. I’m sooooo happy for you! Cavaliers are the sweetest, cutest little dogs. I have been yearning for one too, ever since I was introduced to the breed working in vet med, but had a cavalier/cocker (I lost her very suddenly to Immune Mediated Hemolytic Anemia) and now a golden/chow because I decided to rescue instead of go to a breeder. One day I’ll have a pair though. :) I know he’ll make you smile every day. I guess I should be off to take my pup to the park!

  71. Congratulations! Even though I have a Havanese, I must agree that Cavaliers are the cutest dogs EVER. Their faces look like puppies forever…total bonus! Good luck with the training!

  1. Pingback: The 100 Mile Dinner « The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: A Meatless Meal For Animal Lovers « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

