Daily Archives: September 20, 2011

A Kick In The Butt

My friends, sometimes life just sucks.

People tell me all the time that it is okay to get upset about what is happening. Cancer is one of the worst situations I can think of, so in theory that should give me a free pass to bitch and moan for a while.

But when it comes down to it, I really hate complaining. I hate hearing myself complain, and I hate listening to others complain.

So it’s at times like these that I remind myself that yes, sometimes life is shitty, but I’ve just got to suck it up and get on with it. I’m an adult (part of the time) and I need to put my big girl pants on.

A lot of the time I want to mope around the house in my pyjamas all day. Trust me, it happens.

IMG_8431.jpg

There are days I wish I could go to work again like a normal person. Or go to a bar and drink a pitcher of beer. Maybe hit up a spin class and put my non-existant hair in a ponytail. There are also days when I really want to eat nothing but bacon sandwiches all day, but eat swiss chard wraps instead. This is what wearing your big girl pants looks like.

IMG_8437.JPG

The filling, made up of quinoa, cracked wheat, beets, walnuts, feta, mint, and dill. Dipped in sour cream, it made for an excellent healthful lunch. Cancer fighting, you know.

IMG_8451.JPG

But you know what? It was no bacon sandwich. And I’ll get over it.

I could sit around and complain, but I’ve got better things to do today. Like finding something to smile at. Parks and Recreation, I’m looking at you.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers