Daily Archives: September 17, 2011

Weekend Soundtrack – 1990’s Edition

Remember the 90’s?

I was watching a CBC special the other day on music in the 90’s, which eventually led me to looking up videos on YouTube. Ninety minutes later, I’d been sucked into the YouTube vortex, clicking on one 90’s music video after another. Memories spilling all over the place.

Mind you, I was born in 1986, but music from this decade has influenced me by far more than any other decade. A lot of this stuff is what taught me to love music when I was at an impressionable age.

Admittedly, the first cassette tape I ever owned was the Ninja Turtles II Soundtrack in 1991 (yes, the one with Vanilla Ice). My first CD was Alanis Morissette’s Jagged Little Pill in 1996. Alanis was my hero, until I got No Doubt’s Tragic Kingdom later that year.

Growing up with two older sisters – one 4 years older and one a little more than 6 years older than me – I was highly influenced by their tastes in music. I would sneak into their rooms when they weren’t home and listen to their CDs, absorbing as much as I could without getting caught. So, I guess, thanks to them for not having crappy taste in music.

Clearly, five songs isn’t enough here, but it’s a good start for my trip down memory lane. What are some of your favourite songs from this decade?

P.S. That Radiohead is one of my Top 5 favourite videos of all time. Remember when music videos were actually entertaining to watch?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers