Will It French Toast? Pancakes.

This week on Will It French Toast, things get a little ridiculous. Just the way I like it.

IMG_6727.JPG

It’s one of the most important questions of the weekend: pancakes or french toast??

Well, why not both!

I started by making one large pancake using this stuff:

201109102340.jpg
Pancakes from scratch are a cinch, but I had this on hand so why not. I dig it.

IMG_6719.JPG

Once said pancake was done, I drenched it in egg whites. Again, one could also make a proper egg & milk wash. I used egg whites to get more protein because I actually eat these things! Plus, I never said french toasting was a classy affair.

IMG_6722.JPG

Then it becomes a refried pancake. In the best way possible.

IMG_6725.JPG

Served with fresh fruit, a dollop of peanut butter, and syrup. Proof that you can have your (pan)cake and eat it too.

I’m sorry, I hate puns.

IMG_6731.JPG

The french toasted pancake was good, especially the eggy bits on the end. But it was a little too dense to bring out the french toast texture and flavour. I knew I could do better.

To be continued…

Posted on September 11, 2011, in Will It French Toast? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. God that looks soooo good.

    With the pb AND syrup. YES!!!! I could skip the pancakes and actually just have the topping :)

  2. Looks really good susan….I honestly can say I’ve never french toasted a pancake! Good call.

  3. mmm these look delicious!

  4. These look delicious, especially pb+syrup, yum! There is a sentance that confused me, though: ”(I used egg whites to get more protein) because I actually eat these things!” What do you mean?

  5. This is pretty much the most brilliant idea ever. I can’t wait to try it myself!

  6. I find this series very intertaining. What will you french toast next? Got any other nouns to turn into verbs? =) =)

  7. ahhhh. i just ate breakfast and seriously still think i could eat at least 2 of those! looks amazing!

  8. Wow I saw this post and knew i had to immediately try it. I def think that would be the most delicious thing in the world. I’ll be attempting it quite soon!

  9. this month’s ice cream flavor at baskin robbins is french toast!

  10. Yum! Looks like a great protein packed bfast! I could eat eggs anytime of day, so french toast (and the egg wash) are my favorite!

  11. I don’t care if they can be better….I will happily take some of those now. :)

  12. I think your future plans should definitely include an informal hands-on summer course at a cooking school in the countryside of France or Italy.

  13. I love that you are cooking and sharing your concoctions again more!! It is great to see!!

  14. Best. Idea. Ever.

    I wonder if french toast would french toast…. ::goes to kitchen::

  15. Yum!!!! That honestly looks so good, the eggy bits are my favorite part as well. I also use 100% egg whites and I think it tastes just as good. I mix in vanilla stevia drops, cinnamon and maple extract. I’m looking forward to what you french toast next…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

