Daily Archives: September 11, 2011

Will It French Toast? Pancakes.

This week on Will It French Toast, things get a little ridiculous. Just the way I like it.

IMG_6727.JPG

It’s one of the most important questions of the weekend: pancakes or french toast??

Well, why not both!

I started by making one large pancake using this stuff:

201109102340.jpg
Pancakes from scratch are a cinch, but I had this on hand so why not. I dig it.

IMG_6719.JPG

Once said pancake was done, I drenched it in egg whites. Again, one could also make a proper egg & milk wash. I used egg whites to get more protein because I actually eat these things! Plus, I never said french toasting was a classy affair.

IMG_6722.JPG

Then it becomes a refried pancake. In the best way possible.

IMG_6725.JPG

Served with fresh fruit, a dollop of peanut butter, and syrup. Proof that you can have your (pan)cake and eat it too.

I’m sorry, I hate puns.

IMG_6731.JPG

The french toasted pancake was good, especially the eggy bits on the end. But it was a little too dense to bring out the french toast texture and flavour. I knew I could do better.

To be continued…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers