Daily Archives: August 28, 2011

Snapshots

I secretly love looking at the random photos people take on their cellphones. Not everyone carries a camera on them, so when life or the mood strikes, the cellphone is often the one that captures the moment. The photos are random and don’t typically string together to tell any kind of story. Compared to say, photos from a vacation. But that is the part I love about them. Tidbits from life that aren’t “important” enough to bring a camera for, but I think are special all on their own.

So today I open up my iPhone for you. I admit, I’ve already shared a lot of these photos of Twitter and Instagram. Some I forgot about, or got too lazy to post. Others are just too good not to put up on the ‘ole blog for everyone else to see.

IMG_0071.JPG

Woke up one morning to my step-sister's cat staring at me from on top of the closet door.

IMG_0063.JPG

My step-dad's birthday with my two step-sisters.

IMG_0076.JPG

The sinkhole soon-to-be swimming pool in my mom's driveway. It's crazy!!

IMG_0086.jpg

I'll take them all please.

IMG_0143.jpg

How did this full carrot get through?

IMG_0151.JPG

Scenes from an afternoon walk.

IMG_0191.jpg

The many tortures of physiotherapy. Learning to straighten my arm by pulling it down with weight.

IMG_0222.jpg

My baby nephew!

IMG_0226.JPG

Waiting for the doctor after I found out I had a blood clot. Forgot to ask him for the Bieber sticker after.

IMG_0227.jpg

Peanut butter chocolate cupcake my family brought me after being admitted to hospital.

IMG_0325.jpg

This stuff saved me from getting an extra IV when I had the stomach flu.

IMG_0330.JPG

I am never too sick to eat potatoes. And they're chock full of potassium!

IMG_0331.JPG

Best/funniest "Get Well" card I received, courtesy of my Aunt Jane.

IMG_0400.JPG

Found an old picture of my cousin Ellen and I circa 1990-ish.

IMG_0493.JPG

Board game from my fellow foodie ex-roommie. One I actually knew the answers to!

IMG_0496.JPG

I do not miss the hospital food AT ALL.

IMG_0548.JPG

Cuddling with the poodle.

)”]IMG_0563.jpg

Harry Potter with my sister Sara and step-sister Sarah! Yes, I have two sisters named Sara(h)

IMG_0596.JPG

Fuel to get me through chemo from the Clif company. Peanut Butter Pretzel Mojo is the best EVER.

IMG_0610.jpg

I stick two of these in my stomach every day. I am a human pin cushion.

IMG_0696.jpg

A common view from where I sleep.

IMG_0704.JPG

Bird in the oven.

IMG_0810.JPG

Schnitzelhaus in Aulac, New Brunswick. Mom and I stopped for a roadside lunch.

IMG_0816.jpg

Schnitzel with spaetzle. Ie flattened and breaded meat with soft egg noodles.

IMG_0819.JPG

First time schnitzel experience was a very, very good one.

IMG_0844.JPG

Falafel crepe? Pita is better.

IMG_0845.JPG

I usually have to share my bed with these two misfits.

IMG_0861.jpg

My wig! Still haven't started wearing it yet.

IMG_0923.jpg

Buddy with a star on his chest.

IMG_0927.JPG

Still get a surprise when I reach for socks and grab a cat instead.

IMG_0966.JPG

Get even more surprised when she hops out of there unexpectedly.

IMG_1058.JPG

My Nana puts orange marmalade in everything she bakes. Even chocolate chip cookies.

IMG_1063.JPG

Sometimes she snores.

IMG_1082.JPG

My dad's grocery list.

IMG_1108.JPG

Knitting!!

IMG_1142.JPG

Untangling said yarn because of cat.

IMG_1148.JPG

Yet another coconut flour pancakes fail.

IMG_1183.JPG

My sister Jane and her band.

IMG_1193.jpg

Under cover.

IMG_1223.JPG

Progress made over the past two months on the arm with the broken elbow. I can see my palm now!

IMG_1228.JPG

Story of my life.

IMG_1237.JPG

Burgers stuffed with brie, sundried tomato, and portobello mushrooms.

IMG_1241.JPG

My Dad, posing with some of our best burgers yet.

P.S. Thank you for the feedback on my last post! If you haven’t left any yet, I encourage you to do so. It’s been fun, helpful, and super encouraging :)

A Frittata For Your Thoughts

Happy Sunday!

IMG_8215.jpg

As I lay in bed this morning thinking about food, as I am wont to do, I realized we had the makings of a great frittata sitting in the fridge as leftovers.

IMG_8218.JPG

Have you ever made frittata before? I used to make them all the time during my weight loss days. One giant slice is usually low in calories and high in protein.

IMG_8222.JPG

All you have to do is pick the veggies you want as the filling, sauté them with whatever spices you like, turn the heat down, then pour an egg/milk mixture over the veggies in the pan. How many eggs you use depends on the size of your pan, but a medium pan is generally 6-8 eggs. I like to use buttermilk or yogurt instead of milk sometimes too to make the eggs fluffy.

From there you let the eggs “set” on medium-low heat for about 10 minutes. Until the edges are solid, but still liquid in the middle. Sprinkle cheese on top, wrap the pan’s handle in tinfoil if it’s not cast iron, and stick the whole thing under the broiler for about 3-5 minutes.

IMG_8225.JPG

Today’s mix included potato, mini portobellos, corn, green onion, smoked paprika, and goat yogurt instead of milk. Sprinkled with old cheddar on top. A nice surprise for my dad and sister to wake up to this morning!

Instead of yammering on today, I want to ask you for some feedback. I have never done this before and I find myself increasingly curious about it. For new and old readers alike, what brings you to my blog? What about this blog in particular keeps you coming back? What are some of your favourite topics? Are there any other topics you’d like to see featured more often? I’m a big girl, I can handle constructive criticism. Please comment below, leave a note on my Facebook page, tell me on Twitter, or pop me an e-mail at thegreatbalancingact@gmail.com. Thank you!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers