Daily Archives: August 24, 2011

Something To Look Forward To

There was a time when, at the start of every month, I would set a list of goals to accomplish over the course of the following 30 days. As a personal trainer, I know how important it is to establish things you want to finish, write them down, and then work hard at following them through.

But then my life went to shit.

Somewhere between shattering my arm and getting cancer, the idea of making nifty little goals every month seemed like too much of an extra burden. Some days are hard enough to get through without the additional demands we put on ourselves, so I stopped making these somewhat trivial goals. “It’s okay if I didn’t read more books this month, today I just want to survive.”

With that said, I do think goals have their place. Without them, I probably wouldn’t strive to do better in my every day life. I would coast along comfortably and not challenge myself. If life is all about living, why not set out to actually do some things?

After yesterday’s depressing blog post, I realized that in order to see myself through to the end of this cancer ordeal, I have to actually look into the future. I know it’s important to be present, but the ability to even think about a future is a luxury I think many of us often forget.

It’s hard to set “micro” goals when I honestly can’t predict what kind of physical and mental shape I’ll be in tomorrow. But I think it is very much within my scope of reason to set “macro” goals for myself. In other words, things I would like to do over the next year while I receive treatment and enter remission. It will be something to work on, something to look forward to as I go through the motions of getting better. Now is a good time to think about it too, as we put the lazy days of summer behind us and enter the fall months.

1. Write an outline for a book.

This is hard, because as much as I love to write, you can’t write without a stellar idea. This is something I need to chip away at rather than just waiting for it to smack me over the head.

2. Travel somewhere in North America.

I can’t fly until I’m done treatment, but as soon as I’m in remission I’m cashing in my flight credits and hopping on a flight somewhere.

3. Bake croissants and bagels.

I’m already scared.

4. Get a dog.

Permitting everything falls into place!

5. Run.

Preferably without a huge cancerous mass in my chest. That would be awesome. I can jog while on treatment, but not safely until the mass shrinks around my heart.

So there ya go, five things to look forward to, not to mention a mini-adventure I am taking with my mom today. But that is a post for another day…

What are your “macro goals” for the next year? They have to be fun!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers