Weekend Soundtrack

It’s been a while since I did a music post! I’ve been listening to lots lately. A girl can only watch so much Regis and Kelly for background noise in the mornings. Here’s what’s been getting lots of play on my laptop lately:

I was just recently introduced to Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes thanks to Holly and it was love upon first listen. I love bands that are more like big collectives with tons of instruments and voices, and these guys really pull it off! When you’re done with this song, go listen to this one.

This is a sister vocal duo from Sweden who do mostly covers – except outstanding waybetterthantheoriginal covers. This is just an example of one of them.

Sloan. I am always listening to Sloan. This is an oldie, but I like their new stuff too. And let’s face it, in terms of musical eras, I will always be stuck in the 90’s. These guys are well known in Canada, but not so much outside I think.

This backyard YouTube performance doesn’t do the actual recording justice, but it’s still a fun and joyful tune.

I can’t help it if I’m one of the 8 million people who’ve listened to this on YouTube! I like it! Plus, it’s a fun song to kick off your weekend with. I’m very picky about my hip hop and rap, but Jay-Z and Kanye hardly ever disappoint separately. Together with Otis Redding? Awesome.

Now it’s your turn – what are you listening to this weekend?

Posted on August 20, 2011, in Music. Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Just wanted to leave you a link to this “Home” cover. probably the sweetest out there:

  2. Not sure if you’ve seen this trailer yet, but I came across it & reminded me of your blog — http://trailers.apple.com/trailers/summit/5050/ — it’s an “upbeat” perspective of a young guy with cancer.

  3. Music rocks! I listen to almost anything, but yesterday was all about the re-recorded soundtrack from “Somewhere in Time,” and the original Broadway soundtrack to “The Phantom of the Opera.” Earlier in the week, I was stuck on the “Across the Universe” soundtrack (love-love-love The Beatles’ music!). Today, it’s Train, Michael Jackson, Belinda Carlisle, Adele, Lady Gaga … And I can feel Vonda Shepherd coming on soon. Have a great weekend!

  4. I am obsessed with Fleet Foxes right now and this song, “Helplessness Blues”, is simply divine :-)

    • Trying to get into Fleet Foxes, one of those bands that it takes a few listens to like!

      • Yes, I locked myself into a room for 8 hours and forced myself to listen to the entire album over and over again. Well, actually I was working at the shop and it was the only music I had in my iTunes :-) Still, I was really glad I had the chance because I LOVE them.

  5. Ooh and this one! I’ll always been a sucker for beautiful harmony :-)

  6. Just a few more…you shouldn’t have gotten me started; I could do this forever ;-)

    One to make you dance:

    One to make you laugh:

    And one to make you feel sexy:

  7. Ahhh…sorry those posted twice and are now cluttering up your reply wall :-( Can you remove the second set?

  8. Jenny Lewis, one of my girl crush, is burning up my iTunes today. I love the sound of that Swedish duo (a bit Nico-esque) – do you know their name?

    • Jenny Lewis! I forgot about her! The Swedish duo is called First Aid Kit. Not the best name, but I’ll cut them slack seeing as English isn’t their first language ;)

  9. I LOVE the guitar work on the First Aid Kit song! The vocals too! Going to have to look out for more of their work.

  10. Travis! it never gets old :)

  11. The Sheep Digs are my current fav…amazing Canadian band!

  12. And by Digs I mean Dogs…darn autocorrect!

  13. I am loving that jay-z and kanye song too! I have been listening to a lot of Fiona Apple lately. I guess I have been in that fiesty girl power mood. I also wanted to say that I am a first time commenter and I have been going through your blod posts from the past month or so and I just wanted to let you know how awesome your doing so far. You are so strong, and you are totally kicking cancer’s ass!

  14. Adele’s new album 21 is never gets old for me right now. I love every single song.

  15. Love these threads!
    Here is my call-to-arms gal, Marnie Stern:

    So great!

    Also did some Saints!

    Yahoo!

  16. I LOVE that you have ‘Home’ up there as the first song! It’s my current obsession. My fiance and I are living in different states right now, and this song always makes me think of him and cry a little. I think it makes my heart bigger.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

