Daily Archives: August 20, 2011

Weekend Soundtrack

It’s been a while since I did a music post! I’ve been listening to lots lately. A girl can only watch so much Regis and Kelly for background noise in the mornings. Here’s what’s been getting lots of play on my laptop lately:

I was just recently introduced to Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes thanks to Holly and it was love upon first listen. I love bands that are more like big collectives with tons of instruments and voices, and these guys really pull it off! When you’re done with this song, go listen to this one.

This is a sister vocal duo from Sweden who do mostly covers – except outstanding waybetterthantheoriginal covers. This is just an example of one of them.

Sloan. I am always listening to Sloan. This is an oldie, but I like their new stuff too. And let’s face it, in terms of musical eras, I will always be stuck in the 90’s. These guys are well known in Canada, but not so much outside I think.

This backyard YouTube performance doesn’t do the actual recording justice, but it’s still a fun and joyful tune.

I can’t help it if I’m one of the 8 million people who’ve listened to this on YouTube! I like it! Plus, it’s a fun song to kick off your weekend with. I’m very picky about my hip hop and rap, but Jay-Z and Kanye hardly ever disappoint separately. Together with Otis Redding? Awesome.

Now it’s your turn – what are you listening to this weekend?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers