Daily Archives: August 19, 2011

Linking Up

Happy Friday friends! I have some links for you today!

First, if you want a blog post written by moi, click here to read my contribution to Project Think Positive over on The Chic Life.

Meanwhile, The New York Times had a very interesting article about the discoveries being made on the cellular make-up of cancer. Basically, researchers are learning more about how cancer grows, and in turn are becoming more confused about how to exactly treat and prevent it. There is a handy-dandy video at the top of that article that explains it much better. The more you know the better I say!

The good news is that scientists announced they successfully were able to destroy leukemia cells by modifying the patients own cells and putting them back into their body. The first time they’ve been able to kill cancer using the body’s own resources and not scary outside treatments. Very cool!

On the flipside, we are also experiencing a chemotherapy drug shortage. Very, very not cool.

Finally, I have a call to action for my New Brunswick readers!

Screen shot 2011-08-19 at 7.25.19 AM.png

Please visit the Campaign for Coverage website to send a letter to your MLA asking for a catastrophic drug plan. Without the plan, people like me who require expensive medications to keep them alive are being left in the dark while every other province in the country (excluding P.E.I.) are dedicated to providing coverage for those life-saving drugs. If Canada has nationwide Medicare, why are just two provinces not taking care of sick people who aren’t covered by private insurance and can’t afford the drugs they need to thrive? Basically, it’s just not fair. It’s had me think twice about choosing New Brunswick as my place to settle down in.

Sending the letter is really, really easy. I know doing this stuff sometimes seems helpless, but I’m a true believer that if you put up a big enough stink, and bug politicians enough, they’ll realize how important an issue is. Let’s make sure they know this for when they return to the Legislature in November.

And with that, I bid you a great weekend!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers