On My Bookshelf

Happy Monday! I spent part of the weekend at yet another cottage.

IMG_8085.JPG

My family has three cottages among us. Two of which are in the countryside of the north shore of Nova Scotia just over an hour drive away.

IMG_0879.JPG

The other one is near Shediac, a small French beach town 20 minutes away.

It’s a hard life, I know.

IMG_8083.JPG

Shediac is a little more populated, a little more noisy. But it’s also closer and the beach is nicer. It’s where people eat lobster by the table-ful.

IMG_0881.JPG

Not our party by the way, but a pile of lobster that big is worthy of capturing on my iPhone!

These days, my cottage visits involve no parties. No trips to the crowded beach, or dips into the cold Bay of Fundy waters. Cottage visits for me are now all about rest, relaxation, fresh air, and maybe a long walk or two.

IMG_0869.jpg

Oh yes, and reading!! I have been doing lots and lots of reading since I stopped working 8 weeks ago. Not as much as I’d like, because I surprisingly don’t spend that much time alone (my family likes to sit and stare at me at various times throughout the day). But I wanted to share some of what I’ve been going through in case there’s anyone out there who can benefit from it.

What I’ve Read:

everything changes.jpg

This was the first book I read in the hospital after finding out I have cancer. You would think that I’d immediately be drawn to material about my disease. But what I really wanted was to hear about others like me who I could relate with and would hold my hand through those first few days with cancer. This book totally delivered. It features stories and accounts of young adults with various forms and experiences with cancer. My sisters have read this book too and both found it interesting even though they don’t have cancer. Be warned, it’s honest and doesn’t sugarcoat anything. My middle sister said it was hard to read at times. But that’s what I loved about it. It gave me a real life account of cancer when I needed to hear the truth the most.

book_anticancer.gif

This book starts out describing some of the cellular make-up and causes of cancer, all of which I found very interesting. Then it goes into lifestyle changes one can make to prevent and manage cancer. I really enjoyed this book as it gave me a good base knowledge. I’d recommend it to people who don’t even have cancer, as the lifestyle advice in here should be taken on by everyone! I should also note that the book’s author recently passed away. He lived 19 years after his brain cancer diagnosis, which is a phenomenal thing.

PlanetCancerCover.indd

My sister gave me this book and I am SO glad she did!! If you know anyone with cancer, this would be a fantastic gift. If I had known better, I would have read this book first after my diagnosis. It goes through and describes all the tests and procedures, what to expect from chemo, side effects the doctors don’t talk about, and tons of other useful information. It’s edited so you can read bits at a time which was nice on days I had trouble focusing. My only pet peeve is that the writing was really dumbed down. I’m young adult, not uneducated.

0071473963.jpg

This is a book I would recommend to anyone with an interest in nutrition, cancer or not. It’s got great info about healthy and healing foods. A lot of which I already learned getting my nutritionist certification, but with an extra focus on how it relates to cancer (as opposed to sports nutrition). This book was also a nice kick in the butt to get me eating better when chemo tempts me to eat like crap.

51phP8ityjL.jpg

I knew about Kris Carr waaaay before the C-Word was ever uttered to me, but boy am I glad she’s around now! I’ve since re-watched her documentary with a new eye, and completely devoured this book. It’s a lot like the Planet Cancer book, written specifically for people going through cancer. It’s edited for easy reading and Kris makes cancer conversational. My cancer and Kris’ cancer are total opposites (mine is curable with treatment, hers is not), so I also appreciated that she brought in other women to talk about experiences that I could relate to better.

What I’m Reading Now

emperor.jpg

This is kind of a beast of a book, so I’m taking my time with it. I’m about halfway through and so far absolutely love it. I have learned SO much about the disease thanks to this book. Especially about how treatment came to be. It’s a little dense at times, but the author still takes his time to develop an interesting narrative, and dare I say, is a page turner at times.

hunger_games_book_cover_011.jpg

A fiction book! The first one I’ve read in months! Madeline sent this to me because of our shared love for young adult fiction. The only thing I don’t like about it, is that I find the premise of the book disturbing. It’s about kids killing each other for game. It’s really fast paced, and instead of going through it all in one sitting, I find I need a break to catch my breath just after a few chapters!

What’s On My Reading List:

More fiction!

slam-hornby.jpg

I read everything Nick Hornby writes. He’s an easy to read, funny, entertaining British author. Most well known for dreaming up the story behind my favourite movie of all time – High Fidelity.

500x500_977252_file.jpg

This one was recommended by a blog reader and I downloaded it immediately on to my Kindle after reading the abstract. Dan Shapiro writes about his experience with lymphoma with a little pot humour thrown in for good measure.

chinastudy[1].jpg

This has been on my reading list for a while, but now I feel like it’s got enough useful nutrition information that I should probably crack it open already!

IMG_0872.jpg

So that’s what’s on my bookshelf, what’s on yours? Fiction, non-fiction, give me book recommendations! I’ve got months of chemo left and nothing but time. Okay, in between sessions of my family worriedly staring at me.

Posted on August 15, 2011, in Cancer, Fun and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 64 Comments.

  1. If you love young adult fiction check out John Green. It’s a little young, but quick, insightful reads. I read Paper Towns by him recently, and Will Grayson, Will Grayson which he wrote with David Levithan is next on my list. Actually David Levithan is awesome too. But my favorite that I’ve read recently is probably Siddhartha by Herman Hesse. It’s definitely not everyone’s cup of tea; it’s very philosophical, lyrical, and flowery, and sometimes you have no idea if it’s been a day or five years since the previous scene, but so good.

    No I’m lying. Favorite recent read is Harry Potter, haha.

    Also, I SO recommend an eReader. AMAZing.

    Also, I commend how much you’ve been reading!

    Okay, I think that’s everything.

    • I’ve got a Kindle! It was a gift from blog friends and I LOVE it. Makes reading in bed so much easier ;) Although, it’s a bummer I can’t share the books I download with other people.

      And I have to admit, it’s taken everything I have not to use this time to read Harry Potter again for the gazillionth time.

    • Hahah oh Meg. That was a very Kate Mallin response. I had to stop and take breaths for you! ;)

  2. I’m in the middle of The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obrecht and it’s AMAZING. I’d definitely recommend it!

  3. I’d recommend light fiction! Even though I’m known as pretty brainy, when I was going through treatment for salivary gland cancer, I was too tired to focus on any of my normal tomes. (I wish I’d had a Kindle then — there were days when holding a book was too exhausting!) And don’t feel bad about TiVo-ing and watching every episode of The Nanny ever aired…because that’s totally what I did.

  4. I am NOT the person to ask for book rec’s. I have a FT job, a FT kid, a FT blog, and oh yeah, that thing called a Google Reader. It takes over my life…lol

    I love that you read. Real books. I could take a lesson from you :)

    • I can read books for you and just let you know about the important parts ;)

      I also read cookbooks beginning to end. “1/2 cup sugar, 1 tbsp baking powder, 2 cups flour…” makes for a fascinating plot.

  5. Wow that is an amazing book shelf!
    I’m currently reading Trudi Canavan’s the Rogue. Great fantasy books. I’d start with The Magician’s guild.
    I’m also reading Superfoods Healthystyle. Thanks for great nutrition recommendations. I am really into the subject at the moment and am investigating all sources :)

  6. I’m a full-time student and former lover of books. Now that I’ve written the final exam of my semester, I’ve been devouring everything. I’m currently loving Michael Pollen’s In Defense of Food and the Omnivoire’s Dilemma. I have also read the Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein, which is written from the perspective of a dog. It sounds corny but it’s actually kind of introspective and I loved it. Finally if you’re interested in chick lit (which I plan on reading next week when I’m on vacay!) I love anything by Jennifer Weiner or Cecilia Ahren, whose books always have a little bit of magic.

    • Read the Art of Racing in the Rain before I got sick and LOVED it!!! Now I’m convinced the animals around me can smell cancer like the dog in that book…

  7. What gorgeous pictures! Did you see Kris Carr’s article in the NY Times Sunday mag yesterday?

  8. I’m adding a few of your titles to my to-read list!
    I just finished reading The Help by Kathryn Stockett, which I couldn’t put down. It was recommended to me a couple years ago, but it took the impending (now past) movie release to get me to download it to my Kindle. It is written in three voices; those of two black maids and that of one white woman. Excellent.
    I’m now reading Peace and Plenty by Sarah Ban Breathnach (author of Simple Abundance). It would be categorized as self-help, but I can say, as I’m halfway through it, it’s a great read for any woman wanting to improve her relationship with money. It draws heavily and, sometimes, jaw-droppingly from women’s texts of the 1930s and 1940s.
    My last “big read” before The Help was A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness, which was recommended to me by a local librarian. Touted as being for the Twilight crowd, I would not want my teenager/tween reading it due to very adult themes acted out by very adult characters: a reluctant 23-year-old witch and a sexy 1500-year-old vampire. Major page-turner; great escape.
    In between, I’ve read/I’m reading books by healers, about healing: Be Your Own Shaman by Deborah King (very good, save for a glaring editorial error: the usage of “effect” rather than “affect” throughout), The Energy Cure by William Bengston, PhD and Sylvia Fraser, Defy Gravity and Entering the Castle by Caroline Myss, and The Creation of Health by Caroline Myss and Norman Shealy, MD.
    On hold: Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen and Simon’s Choice by Charlotte Castle.
    Happy reading! :-)

    • Great recommendations! I tried to read Water for Elephants when I was first admitted to hospital, but I was too stressed and distracted at the time to get lost in a fiction book. I will have to give it another try.

  9. Susan, rando question, but where did you get the What to Eat if You Have Cancer book? We distribute that through the website I write for, I was was just wondering if you came across it through us! How funny would that be?

  10. Susan, I’m reading tons of books right now, but all written in Portuguese. They are all funny, you can’t stop laughing. =)

    The authors are Claudia Tajes (her books are the best), STella Florence, Clarissa Correa. Each one has books with the “Bridget Jones” style… If I discover one of these books written in English I”ll buy it and send it to you… You deserve some laughs, right?

    Stay strong, and hoping for the best…

  11. I’m considering a Kindle. It’s the non-sharing thing that gets me. Not Amazon’s fault I know but I would really like to lend and trade books with other readers! I do have the Kindle app on my phone and love it! I have been loading up on free books and really cheap books because I’m really cheap! Some have been really good…others free for a reason! I don’t have exceptional literary tastes…I tend toward murder mysteries. Your choices seem a lot smarter than mine! :)

    As for TV I think we’d get along great! My favorite shows are Seinfeld, Arrested Development, and How I Met Your Mother. Somehow Robin really reminds me of you… just the Canadian journalist thing I guess. lol

  12. I’m currently reading a book by British author Alan Sholefield called “Great Elephant”, it’s about pioneering South Africa…so far very good. On my nook, waiting in line up is “Water for Elephants”…hmmm, kind of a quinky-dink that they both have elephant in their title. Off and on I am reading “Will Write for Food”, “Photoshop CS5 Essential Skills” and a “Nikon D5000″ how to book. They are a bit dry which is why I keep putting them down and reading my fiction books, which also explains why I still can’t write for crap, don’t know how to use Photoshop and still don’t know how to use a remote with my camera…..

    Also on my reading list, your blog :)

  13. Thanks for book recommendations!
    If you’re looking for something lighter, you might want to try Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley. It’s the first book in a series about a young girl who has a penchant for poisons and solving mysteries. Delightful character, fun and fast read.

    • Oooh! I forgot that book is on my real-life bookshelf! I got it before I went into the hospital and totally forgot about it. Thanks for reminding me :)

  14. Susan, after you read the China Study, you must read this raw food vegan’s amazingly researched take down of the book. http://rawfoodsos.com/the-china-study/

    It shows how data can totally be manipulated to say what you want and get it published. I put very little cred in the China Study.

  15. I love your dress! I am a really girly book lover, shopaholic series is a favorite for sure. I also love love love the tales of the city books they are fabulous! x x

  16. Love this post! I love book recommendations and hearing others book reviews.
    I’m glad you’ve had so much time to read while relaxing at the cottages- PS, the last pic to too cute!

    I’m considering reading a couple of those c-word books you recommended, just for information sake. Some of them sound really great.

    My latest recommendation: A Dog’s Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron. If you love a dog…and even if you don’t, this is a great read!!

  17. we listened to the hunger games on our tahoe road trip and loved it! but the ending was kinda meh. you are such a book worm! i need to read more. have you read the end of overeating? that was the most recent nonfiction book i read and loved. xoxo

    • Yes! Tiff (aka Carbzilla) sent that to me when I was living in Toronto. I loved that too, made me think twice about how I eat – especially the stuff at restaurants.

  18. You look really good!!! I love Anne Rice novels because there is lots of description and like vampires! Most are old and you can only get them at the library. Interview with a Vampire is the first and the series is good. Anne Rice had the vampire thing down long before the Twilight Series (which I’ve also read and are not as good).

    I’ve read Anna Karenin by Leo Tolstoy about 5 times. Why would anyone do that????? Because things really haven’t changed since the time period that it takes place in 1800’s. It’s about marriage, children, adultery, getting along, monetary problems, love, disappointment, falling out of love and society’s views of those who do not follow the rules. The ending is thought provoking. I may start reading it again soon.

    I torture myself with books rather than enjoy for a light read. You may want to avoid my choices on that basis!

  19. LOVE the Hunger Games series. So so good, but yes, the premise is quite disturbing!!

    The China Study has been sitting on my shelf for ages. I need to crack it open already!

  20. Ooooh love this post! For a bookworm like me who at times also has to restrain myself from reading Harry Potter again, this post is gold :) The Hunger Games is SO good! I know it’s a little hard to deal with the premise but keep reading I promise it will be worth it. Then you can start on it’s sequels hehe.
    I’d recommend A Stolen Life by Jaycee Dugard; it’s heartbreaking and uplifting all at the same time. She is the woman who was kidnapped at age 11 by a sex offender, imprisoned for 18 yrs in his backyard and gave birth to two daughters. It’s very easy to read despite the content and her writing is sometimes childlike which really serves to put you in her shoes. Jaycee had me crying and laughing; I can’t recommend it enough.
    I also just finished reading Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. It’s a fun little mystery and is filled with these really cool/creepy photographs. It’s about a boy named Jacob who grew up listening to these crazy stories from his grandfather about an orphanage off the coast of Wales who took in kids with peculiar abilities. Think levitating girls and invisible boys. When his grandfather is mysteriously murdered, he travels to the island and comes to realize that his grandfather might have been telling the truth all along. And that those kids somehow might still be alive. The ending set up the possibility for a sequel and if so I can’t wait!

  21. I love your pics that you share. Beautiful! Thank you for all the great books! I am going to share this post on my FB page. Also, I wanted to share this email I got from the ACOR.org list I still subscribe to – I will send in a separate email.

    Keep doing your thing!

  22. I tend towards non-fiction when I read but I will also read anything written by Nick Hornby. Although I’m a Bolton supporter, I remember reading ‘Fever Pitch’ where he discusses feeling like he didn’t deserve Liverpool winning the League because he hadn’t been a fan long enough and hadn’t earned the win… I TOTALLY GET THAT!! I was hooked. I think he’s awesome.

    I recently read ‘Death From the Skies!’ which is a lighthearted look at all the ways the universe can kill us and what we can do about it. It’s written by Phil Plait, Ph.D. who has an awesome sense of humour and totally written for those with only a cursory knowledge of astrophysics.

    ‘McCarthy’s Bar’ and ‘Round Ireland with a Fridge’ are great reads about travel in Ireland. ‘Red China Blues’ about China is also great although not as light and fluffy as the other two.

    I’m a huge fan of the ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’ series (A Game of Thrones is the first book) but they’re long and involved and with multiple storylines so you may want to skip them if concentrating for long periods is an issue at the moment. (But if you do read it and/or watch the HBO TV series of it–warning: mature TV show–then you’ll find http://www.arrestedwesteros.com hilarious!)

    ‘Long Way Round’ and ‘Long Way Down’ are both great armchair travel books. I preferred the first one because it seemed more like two friends heading off and less like two guys making money.

    ‘Barefoot Over the Serengeti’. I had the pleasure of meeting David Read when I lived in Tanzania. Remarkable man, remarkable book. He’s the only white person to ever be accepted by the Maasai as one of their own.

    I’ll stop there for now. Let us know when you’re through all the books we’ve recommended ;)

  23. I don’t know if you meant it to be funny(think so!)
    but I couldn’t help but chuckle at the family worriedly staring at you for hours….that cracks me up, because it so perfectly describes
    how my family would react to it all as well!

    • Yup, I am always giving my family a hard time for staring at me since I got sick. It’s unnerving! And irritating! And most certainly boring!

  24. Please do post on how you like Slam. :) I’ve bought it, but it’s still on my never-ending books to still read.

  25. For light reading, I recommend Alexander McCall Smith. Most folks are aware of his No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series, which are nice, but I prefer some of his other series – Isabel Dalhousie series, Corduroy Mansion series, and 44 Scotland Street series. But my very, very favorites are his Professor Dr von Igelfeld series, which includes Portuguese Irregular Verbs, At the Villa of Reduced Circumstances, and The Finer Points of Sausage Dogs. This guy has so many different voices!! A ‘traditionally built’ African woman detective; a wealthy yet down-to-earth woman who ends up married to a much younger man; a pompous German academic who specializes in Portuguese Irregular Verbs. And there are even a couple of more characters he gets into.

    And then there’s ‘Heavenly Date and other Flirtations’, which is a book of short stories, some of which are indeed bizarre – nothing like any of his other work at all – yet equally good. If you were to read it without knowing who the author was, you’d never guess it was Smith. Not exactly Stephen King or Edgar Alan Poe, but maybe a first or second cousin (or Stephen Poe or Edgar Allen King).

    For deep (or whatever the opposite of ‘light’) reading, I recommend ‘The Toss of the Lemon’. Padma Vishwanathan. It’s a tale of 4 generations of an Indian family, beginning a bit before Indian independence and going on up to about 1950 or so. It’s fascinating (and long, but so well-written that you really don’t want it to end). In general, I’ve found novels written in English by Indians to be well-written and fascinating. Another one I enjoyed was The House of Blue Mangoes by David Davidar. A Fine Balance by Rohinton Misty is also a powerful bookgtfrdz {Oops! Cat on keyboard). I must warn you, however, that I was a tad depressed after I read ‘A Fine Balance’ – so you may not want to read it right now. But, my God! It was a powerful book!!

    And if you’re really looking for a good time, try reading Don Quixote. I read it in college (40 + years ago) and didn’t really appreciate its rich irony; when I re-read it a couple of years ago (at 60), I practically fell onto the floor in hysterical laughter. I understand the original Spanish is even funnier because Cervantes is also a clever punster, but the puns just don’t translate well.

    Enjoy!!

  26. One of my favourite books is called “The Power of One” by Bryce Courtenay. It’s a coming of age story of a young boy in Africa…if you end up liking it, there are other books written by that author that have the same character later in his life. I’m a sucker for a coming of age story. :-) Also, you can check out the website and/or app for Goodreads (goodreads.com) to get a bunch of book recommendations and to keep track of books you’ve read or want to read. A little FYI for anyone who would like to know, a lot of local libraries (Canada and US) offer digital copies of books these days for smartphones and eBook Readers (I use an app called OverDrive on my iPhone). Happy reading!

  27. Ok, first of all that first picture is GORGEOUS! Seriously, submit that somewhere. I finished Mudbound (by Hillary Jordan) recently and loved it- such a page turner. I’m in the middle of White Tiger (by Aravind Adiga) and am loving it. Ok, so I read a lot of fiction. :)

  28. Andrew van Geest

    Hi Susan.

    I’ve been a big fan of Michael Crichton,Clive Cussler and Jack Higgins for years. If you’re looking for fast-paced suspense sci-fi or historical fiction I highly recommend these authors. I’m also a bit of a history nut. So I read all kinds of books about geo-political stuff.

    Happy reading and best regards

  29. I was always a big reader but my Kindle makes it soooo easy and convenient to always have lots to choose from to read. I do wish it had better sharing capabalities (apparently you can share your books, but you have to de-register your Kindle & then register it in the name of the person you want to lend to…that’s a little too much access to my info for my liking). Anyway, you must read Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay (pretty sure that’s how you spell her last name); amazing story, though it will prolly make you cry. I’m also a big fan of Catherine Mckenzie (“Arranged” & “Spin”) – and she’s a Canadaian author so yay. I also highly recommend Veil of Roses & Dreaming in English by Laura Fitzgerald. Thanks for asking for book suggestions! I need to take notes on all these comments…hubby and I are going on a cruise next month and I need to re-load the Kindle! LOVE your sundress by the way!

  30. I am so happy you ordered Mon’s Marijuana! Wait, that sounded wrong.

    I went to high school with Dan – he is an amazing guy!

  31. I am soooo glad you have been able to read up and relax, your pictures look amazing!!!

  32. Wally Lamb’s books are wonderful! I found She’s Come Undone very helpful during a tough time in my life. Maeve Binchy’s Tara Road is a fun escape. This thread makes me miss reading!!! My two boys keep me so busy and exhausted by the end of the day that it’s fallen by the wayside. Thanks for sharing your journey — you are a remarkable woman. Best of luck to you! Sara

  33. I just finished ‘The help’. Loved it! It was an easy read but one that I could really get into and have a hard time putting it down.

  34. i was referred to your blog by my cousin who reads it religiously…I was just diagnosed with Hodgkin’s Lymphoma..stage 2 class E and had my first ABVD treatment today…I will shoot you an email if you would like to be in touch at all..I’m in the New Jersey area..hope to talk soon :)

  35. This is great, I’m always looking for something to read! Also I love your dress.

    Oh and I met a family from Canada today! It might sound weird to be excited about that but we don’t see many Canadians in Atlanta, and by that I mean we see NO Canadians in Atlanta. They’re from Alberta and said they were down here because they had extra air miles and were looking to buy a trombone on the cheap since things costs less here. Interesting story. Of course I immediately told them about you :D You look wonderful by the way! Happy you’re getting some fresh air and relaxation :)

  36. I’m also envious of your reading- I have had the Omnivore’s dilemma and In Defense of food for about a million years. I can’t get past the first part of OD- just hasn’t gripped me & everyone and their brother just LOVED it. I find that I have no time to read anything but a snippet of a magazine here and there b/c I’m on the go and if I’m not, I’m reading blogs. One day, that will need to change.

    I do hope that you will bust out the Sudoku book- it’s so totally doable and there is no math involved. I LOVE doing those when I just want something a bit challenging but don’t want to actually think too hard :-)

    • I stopped reading In Defense of Food a few chapters in too, so don’t feel bad! It didn’t grip me either. This thing with food books is that I’ve read so many now, I have a hard time finding ones that aren’t just a repeat of things I already know. I want some new and exciting foodie things :) I read for 1-2 hours every night before bed – that’s usually it!

  37. Oh, how I have also turned to reading since I have been off work with this cancer business. I really want to check out the Emperor of all Maladies, thanks for the suggestions! 

    Right now I am reading “Dancing in Limbo, Making Sense of Life After Cancer,” and “Picking Up the Pieces, Moving Forward After Surviving Cancer.” Though I am normally not a self help book kind of gal, these have really helped me with what I am going through. The doctors never really tell you how you are going to feel after the immediate treatments end, and I was relieved to find that I am not alone in what is basically a grieving period. So happy to be alive!…. Yet coming to terms with the uncertainly of the future and the loss of the life that I knew just 4 months ago. 

    Neither books are based on one particular type of cancer, which is nice. The only downside is that they are also not directed towards young adult cancer survivors, and the unique circumstances that affect us.These books may not apply to how you are feeling, but maybe just keep them on the back burner as an idea.

    Your pictures are amazing. I have never been to the other side of Canada, and now you have me interested! Those cottages you write about sound SO divine. I’m a city girl but lately I have been craving peace and quiet.

    When you wrote about your family sitting and staring at you I laughed. I understand your frustrations completely :)

    • Ooohh! I am filing those suggestions away for when I’m closer to the end of treatment. Right now I just get jealous when I read about people who are all done and “survived.” I know it’s petty, but I want to be there already too! Although, I’ve heard finishing treatment can often just feel like the beginning on many levels…

  38. You have some great picks up there! I am a huge fan of Kris Carr, so glad you’re looking to her for wisdom :)
    xo

  39. Oooh, I was going to recommend the Emperor of All Maladies to you then saw it on your list! It is such a beast of a book; I’m reading it right now too.

    I loved the Hunger Games books – yes, the premise is very disturbing, but I found them very engrossing. I’ve heard Bossypants by Tina Fey is pretty funny; it might be a good break from life, to read about someone else’s!

    Do you have any favourite books that you can re-read? I’d likely work my way through Harry Potter again. . . Other favourite YA fiction books are The Outsiders and Stargirl,

    Another beast of a book, a favourite of mine, is Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follet! I also want to second the rec for Tara Road by Maeve Binchy (I adore her). Oooh and “Where Rainbows End” by Cecelia Ahern if you want more “light and fluffy” reading (which I like the best!)!

    • Bossypants is on my extended list! I started reading Pillars of the Earth but it was a little too dry for me. I may have to stick to the movies for that one ;)

  40. Have you read the Book Thief yet? I think it’s considered young adult and it’s really, really good.

    I think when your family stares at you, you can still read haha- no need to have staring contests :)

  41. i ravaged that hunger games series. sooooo good!
    love kris carr too. ive rec’d it to a few patients as well as her other book. and the china study is a bit intense, but good to slowly work through.
    i am currently reading rescue by anita schreve. her books are hit and miss for me, but so far this seems like a good one.

  42. Winter Garden by Kristen Hannah by far one of the best books I’ve read in a very long time!

  43. Okay, I’m a big reader, I love losing myself in a good book. I second the Game of Thrones series but they are complicated and detailed.
    If you like young adult I would suggest the Percy Jackson series, a little less serious then Hunger Games, which I also enjoyed, more a long the lines of Harry Potter.
    I read quite a lot of travel narrative books, “McCarthy’s Bar”, “Jaywalking with the Irish”, “The Lost Girls” and” The Olive Season”.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

