Daily Archives: August 8, 2011

The C-Word

Have you ever heard of the Cancer Card?

Neither had I. That is, until I got cancer.

“The C-Card” as some folks lovingly call it, is a card you can “play” with other people to have things go your way. Don’t feel like babysitting? “Sorry, I have cancer, I can’t do that.”

Want an extension on paying something? “Sorry, I was in the hospital. I have cancer.”

Throw the C-Word around and people will feel so bad for you that they’ll do what they can to help. Well, so I hear. I’ve only played my C-Card once. It worked, but it made me feel kinda icky after. I’m only six weeks in though, I still have lots of practicing to do ;)

With all that said however, I find that I do use the Cancer Card frequently on myself. We all know that we are our own worst critics, and reminding myself that I have cancer has so far been the best way to cut myself some slack!

So on this Monday, I want to share my C-Card status. A free pass to all you non-cancer folk. Give it a swipe, cut yourself a break, and enjoy doing something selfishly for you today. A person’s health and well-being is important after all, cancer or no cancer.

So far, the best use of my C-Card is getting out of doing chores. The fatigue from chemo hits pretty hard sometimes and I like to reserve my energy for doing things like, um, feeding and washing myself. No guilt about not hanging up my clothes. Cancer patients should get a free pass for messy bedrooms!

I love to cook and bake, but usually on my own terms. Meaning, I get stressed when I have to prepare a large meal for other people, or when I’m too hungry to slave over a stove for an hour.

When I start to feel guilty about letting others make food for me when I’m the one who supposedly loves to cook, I have to give a swipe of the C-Card. It’s okay to eat pita bread and hummus for dinner, I might throw it up later anyways, I have cancer dontcha know.

There’s of course the personal trainer in me who thinks I should be doing strength training, cardio, and yoga every day. This has definitely been the best use of the Cancer Card yet. I can’t go for a run dude. I’ve got cancer around my heart. A gentle stroll and stretching instead? Don’t mind if I do.

The C-Card also makes me feel better about ditching on social situations that don’t appeal to me. I’m not a huge fan of clubs and busy bars, and thanks to my weakened immune system, I can’t go to them anymore! Swipe. How about a quiet place for brunch and coffee instead? Swipe swipe.

As much as I yak about trying to look good to keep my self-esteem up, sometimes a girl just wants to wear fluffy socks with her loafers. Function over fashion, especially when The Big C is involved.

And why yes, I did spend the evening lying in a hammock. The C-Card provides unlimited hammock access.

So tell me, how will you use your free pass today? Use your status wisely!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers