Daily Archives: July 29, 2011

Chemo Cravings

As I’ve alluded to many times before, chemotherapy hasn’t yet taken away my healthy appetite. However, I was met with some out-of-the-norm food cravings in the days following my first treatment.

Yup. Wendy’s would be one of them. Actually, I am one of those people who legitimately does not like fast food (as opposed to you health nuts who secretly do – you know who you are!). I was told not to eat any of my favourite foods after chemo, because chances are I may never want to eat them again. Good advice, because even though I didn’t get physically ill, I’m not sure if I’ll want to eat Wendy’s chicken wraps again.

Mostly what I craved, and have been craving, is meat. Surrounded by bread. Namely, fried egg sandwiches.

I lived off these for the first three days after my chemo. It was all I could stomach. The thought of my usual peanut butter toast and Greek yogurt for breakfast made me gag. Yes! Peanut butter!

Another one of the big cravings was a hamburger. Again, meat surrounded by bread. I may have overdone it a little on the red meat the first few days, but without these I may have starved. Or just eaten more egg sandwiches. Some people said I may no longer like spicy things, but I’m still dousing everything in hot sauce. And mustard. And pickles. And especially hummus.

The strangest craving of all is rather a lack of craving – for sweet things. I usually have an insatiable sweet tooth, but after chemo it was completely gone. The thought of anything sweet – cake, cookies, chocolate, even fruit, yogurt and nut butters, made me feel more nauseous. I’m not sure if this will be the case every time, so we’ll see what sort of craving chemo treatment #2 brings next week. Should be interesting.

In other news, I’m going to be MIA until Sunday. I’m at The Best Place On Earth!

My cottage!

We’ve got a family cottage in Nova Scotia and I’m finally feeling well enough to go. The first time this summer! A few relaxing days away before my next treatment will be absolute paradise.

Have a great weekend!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers