ESP Hummus Pizza

What a whirlwind the past few days have been! Between the auction, doing interviews, keeping up with family, and dealing with the onset of some lovely new side-effect pain, I am exhausted. My dad and I both fell asleep at 10pm yesterday reading, only to wake up at midnight forgetting what had happened. Okay, so dads do that all the time, but I never do!

As mentioned yesterday, Janetha and I were on CBC television in New Brunswick! You can watch the newscast here until 5pm ET today. Skip ahead to the 12:45 mark on the video to get to our piece. I hope to get a YouTube of it up soon.

Also, my story was on the front page of the Fredericton newspaper today! I lived in Fredericton for six years, working and going to school. I’m no stranger to seeing my name appear in a newspaper in the form of a byline, but being the subject of news articles is certainly a new role for me!

All that business aside, believe it or not, I am actually here to talk about food today. I discovered some food photos on my camera of recipes I made before being admitted to hospital that got forgotten about. Which is a shame, because they certainly don’t deserve to go by unnoticed.

The first one I’m sharing is actually quite topical. You see, one of the side effects of chemotherapy are mouth sores. Because chemo kills fast growing cells, even healthy ones like those in the lining of our mouths are subject to it. Even after my first treatment, I am noticing more pain and tender spots inside my mouth. I have to be extra careful to clean my mouth ALL the time so I don’t get an infection and have to be careful doing it.

It also makes eating a little trickier. I’ve been advised against eating things that are crunchy like tortilla chips and granola in case they cut my mouth. Also, acidic foods like citrus and tomato sauce are out.

Yup, tomato sauce! How is a girl supposed to eat pizza then?

Apparently, I had solved this problem before I even knew I had it by making hummus pizza just days before being admitted to hospital.

It’s true. Hummus saves everything.

I used this recipe for the crust with a little basil and oregano added to the dough. I made it ahead of time because it takes about two hours to make. Divided into two balls, one went into the fridge overnight, and one into the freezer. That way, the next day after work I was able to just pull it out of the fridge and let it sit on the counter for 20 minutes before starting to work with it. I have yet to attack the dough in the freezer, will get back to you on that one! But the refrigerator dough turned out, in my opinion, perfect.

Once the dough was shaped, I liberally spread on the hummus as the sauce, then topped with pieces of pre-baked chicken, sundried tomato, and shredded mozzarella.

Baked for 20 minutes, I ended up with a crispy, chewy, garlicky, cheesy, and oh-so-hummus-y slice of perfection.

Who needs tomato sauce when you’ve got hummus? Chemotherapy be damned!

Posted on July 28, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 46 Comments.

  1. The hummus pizza is almost like a white pizza, but with some Mediterranean flair! If you ever find yourself at an Italian restaurant, though, white pizza is a great option for you since it’s made without sauce!

  2. OMG, yum! Inspired to give this a try! :-)

  3. I am LOVING all this media coverage of TGFA!

  4. Hey Sister! I read your story in the F’ton paper (online) today and went immediately to your blog. Ima gonna subscribe to keep tabs on you because you’re going down a road that I’ve already traveled. Just want you to know that I was diagnosed with Hodgkins (4B) in Jan of 1999 and I’m ALL BETTER… and you will be too. HUGS from Heather in Freddy Beach.

  5. For a woman with limited use of her arm, who’s going thru cancer treatment, and who’s just had SUCH a time of it….you sure havent lost your touch for creating amazing food AND photographing it so beautifully, Susan! :)

  6. um, YUM. that looks so freaking good!! I make homemade hummus quite often and I bet that would make it that much tastier right?? With some roasted red peppers or something on top…oh I am drooling now!

    • I bet the hummus flavour/topping combo possibilities are endless!! I’m also thinking a garlicky homemade hummus with greek toppings like spinach, olives and feta… mmmmm :)

  7. Susan, that sounds great, I am going to try it as soon as I can actually eat food again…LOL I am on a competition diet and it’s very boring and bland…LOL Anywho… I wondered, did your doctors tell you about rinsing with salt and soda rinse after you eat? My son just got done with treatments for ALL and he used to use a baking soda, salt and water rinse all the time and he never once had a mouth sore. So, if you can, try it, it’s great but tastes nasty! (((((HUGS)))))

    • Yes! They gave me a “recipe” for a baking soda solution at the hospital. I think the ABVD chemo must be notorious for mouth sores because they were veryvery concerned about mouth health at the hospital. I don’t have any bad sores yet, just a few spots where it’s obvious the lining is breaking down :\ Thanks Michelle!

      • You’re welcome, and I hope that you don’t have too many problems with it. It’s funny, I actually read your first blog, the day you posted your accident with your elbow. I was randomly signing up for fitness blogs. I have read your blog every day and admire your ability to keep rolling with everything that is being thrown at you. The cancer thing really hits home since we just finished three years of treatment with my son, so please know that you are in our prayers every day and thank you for sharing your journey with us all. You are a daily topic at our dinner table every night. My 14 year old asks me every night, “How is Susan doing today?” LOL Even though we don’t know you IRL, we love ya!!!

  8. That pizza looks and sounds amazing!
    I had never thought of using hummus as a base or sauce. I love it on its own or with bread and vegetables. Weird question, but does it taste different hot?
    Yay about the auction it was amazing looking at the posts that day. Also great about all the news. I really hope the coverage helps to highlight the issues you are currently facing and if they can’t change in time for your treatment you will have done a fantastic thing for someone else in the future.
    I hope the side affects aren’t too bad for you at the moment.

  9. Great idea. You can try ricotta (is that the right word?) too. I tried and it was delicious! Put some olive oil and tuna and that’s it! =)

  10. Omg I was going to make hummus pizza for dinner last night! I made my dough and everything….but then decided to eat frozen yogurt instead. haha oops! Well I guess great minds think alike!

  11. Love all the press for TGFA and you! :) Isn’t hummus so versatile? Yum! Grreat pics, too, girl!

  12. I finally found a good GF pizza crust and have been having pizza night at least once a week! I can’t wait to make a hummus pizza. My favorite pizza toppings are steak, spinach, and feta cheese…that should be good with a hummus base! Thanks for sharing! :)

    • Oooh, is it a GF recipe or bought? If it’s a recipe, do share!! I never thought of steak as a pizza topping for some reason, now that is a must try :)

  13. Hummus + cheese is one of my favorite combos. I make hummus pizza all the time :) Delicious!

  14. Watched your tv news piece and listened to your raido interview. You go girl(s)! I’m so glad the auction was a success!

  15. haha Good ol’ President’s Choice Hummus!! Gotta love PC! hehe

    You are SO creative its crazy. The sundried tomatos look ultra fabulous. I think I’ll have to try this recipe – and add mushrooms. I’m kind of a mushroom freak :)

  16. That pizza looks amazing!

  17. You love cooking, and I love backing! Unfortunately, it’s been around 100 degrees here in Maryland for the past month, so turning on the oven is a no-no :(
    My dr prescribed me some mouthwash to prevent mouth sores and it has been awesome. Ask about it! It’s called Chlorhexidine Gluconate. Also I think alcohol-free mouthwashes have been recommended too (on things I’ve read online)

  18. Baking, geeze, chemo brain didn’t catch that typo!

  19. Hummus pizza is my favorite thing. I make it every week at least 1x. It’s AWESOME the next day too. It really help because obviously I don’t have cheese.

    Going to listen to your video now! :)

  20. Hummus pizza is such a nice change from the regular tomato variety!

  21. So awesome that you’re taking a positive look at this! The hummus pizza sounds delicious — cancer or no cancer. It’s on my list of things to make! May your spirit continue to be strong, and may you continue to find such awesome foods that you can still eat!

  22. Oooo…the pizza looks amazing! Yummy! :D

  23. I never considered putting hummus on a pizza. Now, I’m thinking of all the possibilities!

  24. Yum, I love non-traditional pizza “sauces”. And hummus, of course. I think it would be interesting to use whole chickpeas as a topping on this, too…too much? ;)

  25. that hummus pizza actually looks amazing. i prefer my pizzas with less tomato sauce anyway, so this is the perfect alternative. tasty too!

  26. Fighting cancer is a full time job and you still have time for all the interviews, blogging, etc. What a girl! Try Biotin Mouthwash and Biotin toothpaste with a soft brush. I used the mouthwash each time after I ate and never got a mouth sore. It was reccomended by my oncologist here in the states and is so much better tasting than the soda/salt stuff.
    Wishing you strength and perseverence…..
    Ann

    • Biotin is what my dental hygienist friend bought me! I love it. Didn’t know they had toothpaste and brushes too, will definitely have to look for those.

  27. Lately I’ve been all about tortilla pizzas with hummus. You’re right – who needs marinara? One of my dad’s favorite meals is a “Greek pizza” with hummus, cherry tomatoes, kalamata olives, and feta cheese.

    Again, I’m just amazed at how much this auction is making waves!

  28. Fabulous- once a food blogger, always a food blogger :-)

    I need to catch up on the PR side of this- I was waiting til Derek gets home tonight to watch/read all about you kids on tv and in the paper <3

  29. This idea is amazing!

  30. That pizza looks really yummy!

    You could also try an alfredo type sauce if you aren’t afraid of the 3000 calories and grams of fat! :)

  31. omg that looks amazing! wonderful idea!! i am so happy that you are still blogging…you are amazing

  32. This sounds amazing! Can’t wait to give it a try. Isn’t it awesome how things work out? You had no idea this would become an issue, but you’d already solved the problem. Truly amazing.

  33. I LOVE hummus and pizza! I will try this ASAP!

  34. I’m loving the sounds of this pizza! Also the version you mentioned further along in the comments, with spinach and olives and feta…yum! I’m so glad that your “Pizza ESP” kicked in and that cooking is continuing to bring you happiness :-)

  35. GENIUS. you can bet yo bottom dollar i will be making this!

  1. Pingback: Chemo Cravings « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

