Daily Archives: July 22, 2011

Bits n’ Pieces

Hi friends! Posting a little late today because I SLEPT IN. Okay, so I got up at 6am to eat a couple fried eggs because my tummy was growling. But then I promptly went back to sleep cuddled up in my own duvet without any nurses or doctors poking at me. I’ll tell you – cancer makes you appreciate a lot of things in your life. But it’s amazing what a month in the hospital will do to you too.

Anyways, I am just popping in to share a few things quickly! First, the always-amazing Janetha wrote out the instructions for Monday’s auction which you can read here. Janetha is incredibly responsible and organized, and I am so impressed by how she has pulled this together.

I also want to thank those of you who have been providing suggestions on how to wade through the financial aspects of being sick. My family is working with a social worker at the hospital, but all she can really do is give us the forms and program names. Unfortunately getting assistance is a timely process, and when I need my $1000 neupogen shots right now to keep me healthy, time is not something we have. I could be halfway done chemo by the time all this paper gets pushed!

Someone shared this link yesterday (thanks Carolyn!) which may explain to other Canadians who’ve piped up confused as to why I’m having to deal with all these costs. As much as I love my home province, I do not always agree with what happens in the legislature. The government is working towards fixing it, but I hope to be in remission by the time they say it all goes through.

All that business aside, I’m just relaxing and enjoying being in my own house. I live with my dad, but my retired mom comes over during the day to entertain me. She brings Archie the poodle, who has taken it upon himself to stand guard at my side all day and keep the cancer away.

It can get tiring! ;)

I am off to get my hair cut today. Everyone says I should do it short-short, but I really don’t think that looks good on me. So I’m starting with a chin-length do. Hoping it turns out okay! I’m told I can expect it to start falling out after my next chemo treatment, so I don’t want to be pulling out loooong strands of hair in the shower. Plus, it will be nice to get pampered a little.

Have a great weekend!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers