Daily Archives: July 16, 2011

Where My Feet Have Been

Consider this my version of Chuck Taylor Tuesday. A little peek at what I’ve been up to so far this weekend during my great escape from the hospital.

Breaking free from the IV pole has given me a lot more mobility.

I’m not allowed to do anything strenuous because of those pesky blood clots and cancer around my beating heart. And trust me, after another month with cancer, being home allows me to see just how my health has deteriorated. But that hasn’t stopped me from moving around a little and soaking in the fresh air.

So no 4-mile jogs or trips to the gym (ha!). But a short and gentle stroll with the poodle is more than welcome.

Afternoon visits to Nana’s include tea, digestive cookies, and a quick catnap. 

First thing I did when I woke up on Saturday? Make pancakes!

I was scared that I’d be addicted to sleeping pills after almost a month of taking them. But it only took me an extra 45 minutes or so to quiet down my brain enough to fall asleep. I slept in a little and immediately took to the kitchen to make apple buckwheat pancakes with a bit of Vega vanilla protein powder added.

Lunch was the best one I’ve had since being admitted to hospital – homemade pasta from a family friend. With spinach, shrimp, feta, tomatoes and olives.

Dinner of course happened at one of my favourite restaurants in the world – Calactus! With my dad:

I opted against my favourite veggie burger in favour of the Club Flute and some raspberry green iced tea.

Oven baked wrap on handmade chapati bread with veggie pate, mushrooms, tomato, carrots, spinach and their crazy delicious tofu cream sauce.

Archie, my mom’s poodle, doesn’t leave my side when I’m at my mom’s. He either really missed me, or knows something is up. Probably both.

As fantastic as being home has been so far, it’s been really, really strange. But I’ll share more on that later. For now, I have a Sunday to enjoy. I’ve got 24 hours left of freedom.

Freedom!!

Not only did I get a day pass – I got a WEEKEND PASS!! Don’t have to be back to the hospital until Monday morning, apart from quick daily visits to get my blood thinner shots. I’ll also start chemo some time Monday.

Biggest to-do this weekend is see the new Harry Potter movie. Otherwise, I’ll be building my strength for Monday. Have a great Saturday!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers