Daily Archives: July 11, 2011

Scenes From The Hospital

I don’t have my big schmancy camera at the hospital with me, however I have been snapping a lot of photos of the goings on lately with my iPhone. Here’s a snippet of some of the things I’ve been documenting…

IMG_0391.JPG

Walks around the hospital with an IV tree. It’s a bitch to push those rattly wheels over sidewalk cracks. I will be happy when I’m no longer attached to a metal pole 24/7.

IMG_0423.jpg

One of my many bruises from all the needle poking. This particular one was bad. A result of the anesthesiologist putting an IV of sorts into my artery to monitor my heart during surgery.

IMG_0428.jpg

Evidence that the hospital does not bring me the food I order. Many of you know I am allergic to pineapple and never in a million years would order pineapple cake.

IMG_0432.JPG

Sugar rush thanks to Morgan and Karen. In other words, a big ole block of my favourite fudge in the world – maple fudge from The Fudgery in Banff.

IMG_0436.jpg

X marks the spot. This way, the surgeons know what side of my body to operate on. Glad we got that cleared up, phew!

IMG_0437.jpg

No talking allowed in my hospital room. Communication via Macbook Pro only.

IMG_0442.jpg

For almost two days after my most recent surgery, they kept sending up liquid meals despite my asking every single person I saw to order me SOLID FOOD. I know the majority of people can’t tolerate solid food after surgery. Consider me in the minority. Apart from the pain under my right arm, the first thing I noticed when I came to in the recovery room was that my stomach was audibly growling. Is that normal?

IMG_0446.JPG

I threw a hunger induced hissy fit and demanded a submarine sandwich and french fries. My family knows better than to deal with the wrath of a Hungry Susan.

IMG_0449.JPG

A phrase that has a whole new meaning now. Thank you to my Toronto friends for putting this together!

IMG_0459.JPG

Being a sister means sharing your hospital bed when the other sister is sleepy. It also means embarrassing your sister on the world wide web. I love you Sara!!

IMG_0461.jpg

Yes, these are my feet. Hospital livin’ has brought me to the lowest of the fashion lows. In my defence, I did not buy these crocs or ask for them. But I will say, they are actually quite functional. I can put them on hands free, don’t slip in them, AND can shower in them. Plus, fuzzy socks are just the best.

IMG_0464.jpg

Twice the IV power, twice the weight to push. Good upper body workout.

IMG_0465.JPG

The hospital has all-you-can-eat Arrowroot cookies, or what we call “baby cookies” in my family. I have some every night with peanut butter before I go to bed. No, it’s not health food, but it sure is comfort food.

Have a great Monday! Praying this is the week I get a diagnosis, start chemo, and finally get out of the hospital. Fingers crossed!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers