Daily Archives: July 10, 2011

Cancer Girl

If there is one thing I refuse to let happen during this cancer journey, it’s to be deemed “Cancer Girl.”

superhero_girl.jpg

Already I know that my disease does not define me, nor will I let others think that it’s all I am. I am not a superhero, crusading through the night, energetically jumping on and beating my disease to a pulp.

I’m just a girl who loves to eat, bake, work out, listen to music, drink whiskey, and have a laugh; who also happens to have a sucky disease. I’m not going to stand on a soapbox and yell at my cancer through a megaphone. No fist pumping or chanting here. Cancer will change me, but it won’t become me. For I have a long life ahead of me that cancer will be no part of.

So don’t expect me to be sporting my bald shiny head or “I am cancer hear me roar t-shirts.”

But at the same time, don’t think I won’t be putting up a fight of my own making. Just maybe one that includes a little more lightheartedness.

201107091710.jpg

Thanks to my friend Kayla for the t-shirt. I thought a lot of my readers would appreciate this one.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers