Visualization

When I picture the cancer in my chest, it looks a lot like the smoke monster from Lost.

smoke-monster.jpg

I imagine it would grow and sound a lot like the smoke monster too. If only I had John Locke here to tell it to get out.

Surgery yesterday went as well as it could. They were able to get samples from two different nodes, which will make for a better diagnosis. I was only under for about an hour so the effects of the anaesthesia aren’t as bad as my arm surgery (which lasted five hours). I’ve been taking pain killers because my throat hurts where they inserted the scope, but I’m hoping to be able to go without them today.

Spoke to a doctor yesterday who insinuated I will be in hospital until my first chemo treatment, which will probably be another 1-2 weeks. As far as I know, I’m done all the tests, so it will be a verrrry boring couple weeks.

Posted on July 5, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Keeping my fingers and toes crossed. Thanks for keeping us updated! As always, sending warm healing thoughts and lots of love your way.

  2. So glad the surgery went well! I hope your family and friends are stocking you up with great books and magazines! I created a summer reading list a few weeks ago – you should check some of the books out. I’ve finished some of them already!

    http://cleaneatingchelsey.com/2011/06/17/summer-reading-list/

    Still praying for you every day!

  3. Well you’ll have lots of time to watch the Tour ;) Thinking of you always.

    Ummm some suggestions … Try and get your hands on “An Idiot Abroad” it’s the latest thing from Ricky Gervais, VERY funny.

  4. Michael Paciocco

    Good to hear that the surgery went well. Sorry to hear you’re still going to be there a while. That sucks and I hope at least that the time goes by quickly.

  5. Visualization —- maybe you should visualize the next 2 weeks as a free spa treatment…. :-) Just there for you to relax, get pampered, gather strength, read or listen to cool stuff, hang out, not to be prodded. Ok, so it might be a bit of a stretch but you got imagination! ……..

  6. One to two weeks is just chump change in the grand scheme of things, my friend. Think about how great it will be to get out of that place and how quickly time will fly!

    Now would be a good time to catch up on completely mindless TV, blog reading and the movies you would normally never admit to watching (the funny ones, not the dirty ones.) We expect full reviews. ;)

    Hang in there, kiddo.

  7. Janet Durling

    Hi Susan! Been following your blog, thanks to your mom for sharing with us! Think about you often! Glad your surgery went well. Keep those positive thoughts going!. My girls all say “Hi!” and we are all sending our love & prayers to you! xo

  8. hmmm…maybe you should rewatch “Lost?!?” if you need any movie suggestions lemme know!

  9. Glad to hear the surgery went well. Here’s hoping you were wrong with your insinuation (did I spell that right?) It would be so nice for you to go home for a couple weeks.

  10. rebecca thomas

    Are you up for visitors?

  11. Glad your procedure went well! Sorry you’ll be stuck there awhile. Hopefully a special little poodle will be able to make more visits! I loved the picture of you and Archie from the last post! :)

  12. Sooo glad surgery went okay. Always praying and thinking about you!

  13. Oddly enough, that’s how I visualized your cancer, too. If you are bored, you need to start playing games on your iPhone with me :) Words With Friends & Hanging With Friends. Hop to it! Chop chop!

  14. Zombies vs Plants will suck several days out of your life. :P In case you wanted to play that to help pass the time!

  15. I wish i could help you let the time pass faster! Or to bring you another amazing burger! Sending you a big hug & visualizing me stomping the begeezers out of the cancer.

  16. I’ll be thinking good thoughts for you!

  17. Madeline - Greens and Jeans

    Oooh, I can put together a whole reading list for you. You should start with the Hunger Games series because they are wonderfully easy to read and the plot is still pretty interesting and then you and I can discuss them because I’m kind of obsessed.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

