Daily Archives: June 29, 2011

An Update

Hello! This is just a quick update. I’ve been really sick since yesterday. I think I caught a bug or something and was very, very ill all day throwing up and such. On top of that, I had a “bilateral” bone marrow biopsy. Which means I got a needle inserted deep into my pelvis bone not once, but twice. It was hands down the worst experience I’ve had in the hospital so far. I won’t go into the gory details, but throwing up on a biopsy table is one memory I’d like to forget.

My body temperature is also up and down, I was running a fever last night and this morning. I thought it may be related to the flu, but my doctor said it may be related to the cancer. They took some blood cultures to make sure I don’t have an infection.

The biggest news I’ve received in the past couple days is that they didn’t get enough viable samples from my chest biopsy to make a proper diagnosis. I met with a thoracic surgeon yesterday and he’s going to cut either into the bottom of my throat or side of my chest to insert a scope to get larger samples of the growth in my chest. The good news is that I will be put under anaesthesia for the procedure. I’m up for anything if I’m put to sleep for it! The bad news is I won’t know exactly what kind of lymphoma it is or how it’s going to be treated for another week. So the waiting game continues.

I’m taking a road trip tomorrow to get a test at a hospital 75 minutes away. Hopefully I’m feeling a little better by then so I can enjoy my brief escape from the hospital. I’m still very weak and can’t walk around. Ironic, because I’m finally off the bed rest order! I haven’t been on the computer much, just lots of sleeping and resting, which is what I’ll be doing for the rest of the day. So don’t fret if you don’t hear from me :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers