When Money CAN Buy Happiness

It arrived! It arrived! I finally got my grubby paws on it!

IMG_0210.JPG

Yes, I technically only waited one week to receive my new MacBook Pro after ordering it. But in some ways, you could also say I’ve been waiting five years for it.

When I bought my HP Pavillion dv2000 five years ago, what I really wanted was a MacBook. But my poor student bank account couldn’t afford it. In the first year of having the HP, I sent it back to the manufacturer THREE TIMES to be fixed and found out the model had actually been recalled without my knowing. They never once replaced it, instead removing and fixing whatever cheap parts were broken.

IMG_0214.jpg

After five years, the battery went, I’ve invested in two power chords, and a back panel fell off to expose some wires and other pieces. This computer got so hot at times I think I sustained second degree burns on my legs. And probably scorched my ovaries and ruined any chance of having children by lying with it in bed.

IMG_0215.JPG

The paint came off on the mouse and I lost a button. There’s also the mysterious instance of “shift + x” not working to get a capital X. I always had to press “caps lock + x.”

Anyways, that is why I was basically foaming at the mouth to get my brand new, exceptionally shiny, laptop.

IMG_0212.JPG

Or, for our purposes, my new “blogging machine.”

IMG_0213.jpg

I’ve had a lot of experience using Macs but still have a lot to learn about the operating system. As well as getting used to blogging with a different program. This post is brought to you by Ecto, but there are a few others I’d like to try out. Is there an easy way to get Windows Live Writer on a Mac?

IMG_0221.JPG

So far my favourite feature is the light under the keypad so I can type in the dark. Oh! And of course, the screen grab function. No print screen + copy/paste into Paintbrush for me. Megan, you know what I’m talking about.

In other news, my mom forced me to go to the doctor last night over the pain in my neck. Most of the swelling is located at the base of my throat and the doctor thinks it might have something to do with my thyroid. I’m being sent for blood work and a cat scan today to get it checked out. I’m not too worried about it (yet), mostly just bummed that I have to spend yet another day of my life at the hospital. On the bright side, I’ll get to see my friends in the imaging department. We’re all on a first name basis now.

As my friend Madeline says, make it a great one!

Posted on June 21, 2011, in Fun. Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. I just got a new mac and posted ad nauseum about getting WLW on it
    http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2011/06/new-imac.html

    and then ended up not liking it. detailed reasons why explained.
    http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2011/06/health-beauty-mall-trip.html

    I also dont like ecto b/c it eats my posts in the past and i am leary!

    congrats on your new machine! scott just bought a new MB pro two days ago, too! Nothing like a new mac…or a household that gets new macs all in 2 weeks b/c both old computers crap out within days of each other. Oh, the timing$$ :)

  2. I dropped in 2 links so my comment went into moderation

  3. Now my comment just seemed to get munched…weird. :)

  4. It’s a beauty! You will love her. :)

  5. I have the HP Pavillion dv9000! It’s battery doesn’t last but that’s the only problem we’ve had with it in the 3 short years that we’ve owned it.

    I won’t tell Geoff about the Macbook, I feel it may break his heart to know that a family member has gone to the Apple side LOL!

    -Elisa

    PS: I like the MacBook too, but please don’t tell Geoff LOL

  6. Enjoy the new laptop, Susan! Looks like you needed one! ;]

  7. Oh it is GORGEOUS, Susan. And I agree – some things that I buy with money make me damn happy ;)

  8. Yay, I love my Mac, and I was just going to tell you that Averie put WLW on her Mac, but I see she already commented. I’m an Ecto girl. It has its faults, but I love the drag and drop feature for photos!

  9. As a new Mac convert myself, my only word of advice is get a neoprene sleeve or a plastic shell or sticker for the laptop itself if you are traveling with it daily; I have found that in five months of lugging it around a lot, the case scuffs up. I find that just makes it look loved, though, so I’m not too concerned about it.

    • Based on the evidence displayed in this post, I’m clearly not very careful with laptops and will probably need a sleeve just for carrying it around the house :P

  10. Haha, so how often did you have to type capital x’s?? :) I’m kidding- new toys are so exciting! Have fun!

  11. I used to have an old HP and it was awful! Part of it was recalled and they didn’t bother to tell me either until I took it in to Future Shop to get it fixed and they were the ones who told me, not HP. I just got a new Sony Vaio in January and I love it, but I still want a mac someday. I think when this one eventually craps out on me I will finally take the plunge.

  12. Eek, I hope your thyroid is okay! That would be just awful; you’ve got enough problems with your health as is! I’m glad you got your new computer–though I’m a PC girl myself!

  13. Hope all works out well with the thyroid tests, Susan.

    And enjoy the mac! I miss having my mac to work on. My company has a PC only program. Boo…

    • Thanks Lori, can’t say it was a great moment when the doctor said the swelling was localized in my thyroid :\ Hopefully I should know by the end of the week.

  14. I’ve spent the last six months trying to convince myself that I *need* a Macbook. And I really do. Maybe six months from now I’ll finally take the plunge!

  15. YES!!!! I DO know what you’re talking about. Another handy screen grab feature: (you probably already know it) instead of cmd->shift->3, which does the whole screen, you can use cmd->shift->4 to open a crop tool and just grab a selection of the screen. It’s wonderful!

  16. congrats on your shiny new fruit of choice!! I am waiting to get one,:( until my mom’s estate is settled. until then I have a 9 yr old iMac that is limping along. Ok to read blogs/facebook/recipe sites/forums, until I can get a macbook pro. Which one did you get, I am having a hard time deciding, I’m thinking the middle size screen then maybe going for a faster processor via a mac authorized seller that puts their open box macs on sale-still with Apples warranty & eligible for apple care. Can’t decide. battling strange arm/elbow nerve inpingment issues myself so I understand your frustration. I hope it turns out very minor!

  17. I have had the same computer for about 3 years now and LOVE it!!!

    I use to use Ecto, but it starting to freeze up on me a few weeks ago and I haven’t heard back from their customer service… After THREE attempts, I decided to try MarsEdit3–> http://www.red-sweater.com/marsedit/

    I liked Ecto better, and I hope I can figure out how to fix it, but MarsEdit3 seems to be working pretty well so far!

    I ordered these hard case covers a couple years ago and LOVE them!! http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001NJQ5PG

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

