Weekend Soundtrack – Albums

Happy Father’s Day! Are there even any dads out there reading? I love how stereotyped these holidays are. Moms are always flowers and perfumed things, Dads are all about barbecues and power tools. For the record, I have never seen my father use a power tool.

I did however partly inherit my love of music from my father (other part from my mother, of course). Weekends at my house growing up were always accompanied by music blaring out the stereo system. Neil Young, Bob Marley, Santana, to name a few. Okay, and my father was usually in the backyard grilling too.

Anyways, I don’t have any Neil Young for you today, but I do have some albums to share that I am currently obsessed with. Some of these bands I’ve already mentioned, but this time not just for one song. This time because I love the album as a whole – from beginning to end – which I find is a rarity these days.

1. Lungs by Florence & The Machine

You’ve probably heard the title track, “Dog Days Are Over” on the Eat Pray Love soundtrack. But every song following that one is just as good! No two songs sound the same, yet they are all lovably quirky.

 

2. The Loneliness of Mixed Drinks by Frightened Rabbit

A band I’ve mentioned before, if you like somewhat catchy, but still thoughtful, Scottish indie music, you should listen to this album!

 

3. The Flying Club Cup by Beirut

File:The Flying Club Cup.jpg

I’ve been listening to Beirut for a long time now and I still haven’t grown tired of this album. I would classify him as perhaps a less whacky version of Sufjan Stevens. Great music to work or study to.

 

4. Sigh No More by Mumford & Sons

File:Mumfordsonssighnomore.jpg

Another band I’ve already mentioned, but definitely no one hit wonder. A lot of the songs on this album start slow and progress into this really powerful, banjo-accompanied song  by the end. I love songs that build up like that.

 

5. Let The Dominoes Fall by Rancid

I know it’s sonotcool to like anything a punk band released after the year 2000, but I don’t care. I still really dig this album. Perhaps I’ll never have the emotional ties to it like I do …And Out Come the Wolves or Life Won’t Wait, but I still find this one entirely enjoyable from beginning to end. One of the few albums I can listen to while running and not feel like skipping any songs because they’re boring.

 

On this Sunday, you will likely find me blaring one of these albums while doing housework or cooking in the kitchen.

And yes, you’ll probably find my dad next to the BBQ too.

IMG_7264

Have a great Sunday!

Posted on June 19, 2011, in Music. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Love the music!! I’m really into Mumford & Sons right now. Love Florence and the Machine, too, but I haven’t heard much about the others! I’m definitely going to look into them.

  2. I listen to all of these guys, except for Rancid. I’ll have to check them out! Have you ever listened to DeVotchKa? Based on your taste, I feel like you’d like them.

  3. Yeahhhh Florence!!! I love her so much. Her voice is POWERFUL – you should see her live if you get the chance!!

    Hah, so true about the stereotypical mother’s and father’s day gifts..I always have such a hard time knowing what my dad would like! Actually, this post reminded me of my intention to get my dad some good concert tickets one year…ah well, perhaps next father’s day :)

  4. I love working out to Florence and the Machine!! Such good beats and good music :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

