A Nugget of Wisdom, From Me

If I could offer one piece of advice to my readers out there, this is it. Especially the readers who take it upon themselves to eat well and exercise. Those of you who are at your “goal weight” or what you deem “the best shape of your life.”

My advice to you, is do not put all your eggs in one basket.

In other words, please make sure that these qualities are not your only source of confidence. Please make sure you find confidence somewhere that does not involve your physical strength, endurance or ability to touch your toes.

I say this because, even though it can take years to build this kind of confidence, it can be taken away from you in an instant.

And then where does that leave you?

Struggling to find confidence elsewhere, and possibly not knowing where to even begin looking.

Posted on June 12, 2011, in Lessons Learned. Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. You are so right. This is great advice. We shouldn’t focus on only one thing to be confident about because like you said, it can be taken away so fast.

  2. Oh my gosh, I just posted about this a couple of weeks ago! How we should not use physical fitness and the amount of exercise as the sole means of measuring our bodies. It’s so limiting!

  3. I hope you know, you’re so much more than your fitness level!!!!!

    You’re awesome in all kinds of ways!!!! :)

  4. So wise. So true. If I thought about it, I should really worry about that because so much of my life’s focus is on health and exercise. But then I do realize that there are other, more meaningful things I have in my life as well, and I should focus more on cultivating and growing those. Thanks Susan- hope you are getting better day by day!

    • I always used to go on and on about how weight lifting gave me the confidence I always wanted. I never even considered what would happen if I suddenly couldn’t lift anymore. It’s been pretty hard actually! My family is really what gets me through every day. I can’t imagine what it would be like going through this and not being home with them.

      And I am getting better, but in a “two steps forward, one step back” kind of way. Another surgery at the end of July is looking more and more likely. Trying to convince myself it will be for the better!

  5. I love this. And, in addition to the confidence thing, it’s important to recognize other pastimes and activities in your life that bring you joy! I’m getting over an injury right now too, and I never considered how much I rely on running, biking, hiking, dancing, moving, to make my free time fulfilling. It’s never easy to adjust to an injury, but dwelling on stuff you can’t do is such a waste of energy. I swear it prolongs the recovery process!

    • Yes! So important to not rely on just physical activity as your only hobby. That’s why so many injured people go crazy with boredom. One should be well-rounded I think, we’ll be happier eventually because of it :)

  6. I needed to read this. I struggle with reaching my health goals (weight loss, physical endurance, etc) and it can be so debilitating. I forget some of the other great things about my life. Thanks for sharing this!

  7. stuffedsillysarah

    inner strength is much more important than outer strength… wisdom and compassion are the keys to eternal happiness x x

  8. This post is such a great reminder. I injured myself badly this year and felt a complete loss because of it. The depression that comes from losing your fitness is overwhelming. You’re so right; focus needs to be built across multiple interests.

  9. This is a very good thing to take to heart. This time last year I put all my eggs in one basket: running. I was obsessed with training and running all the time, preparing for Hood to Coast. I dismissed doing other things because running was “it.” Getting injured and having to stop running made me realize what a mistake I was doing.

    I switched to weight lifting and focused on other things like cycling and hiking and swimming. I still run but I don’t do races anymore and I have a much more balanced life when it comes to fitness.

  10. Since my immune system went on strike I’ve not been able to exercise. It has really hurt my confidence. I’ve always enjoyed kickboxing and lifting weights and now doing anything more than a mild walk leaves me sick for two weeks. :( So now when I see articles about sedentary people and couch potatoes I feel like they are talking directly to me! I feel so lazy and guilty for not going to the gym or popping in a workout dvd. I think you are right and I need to find something new to feel confident about. Hopefully my doctor’s visit will give me some answers and I can get back on track. In the meantime I’m going to focus on being more well-rounded (not just in my body shape! lol).

    I think you have tons of stuff to be confident about…writing things that so many people look forward to reading each day, baking wonderful recipes, being an awesome sister/daughter/granddaughter, and friend!

  11. I’ve focused so long on my body. Everything in my life has revolved around how much I way or how I look or my fitness level. It is an incredibly unnatural way to live, especially when you’re perspective is as skewed as mine. Especially now that I need to gain weight, I really need to learn to let go of basing my self-worth off of my “perfect” body. But that idea seems so foreign to me; achieving the ideal body is the only thing I’ve put effort into (besides school, obviously, but who really cares about school?!) in the past 3 years. I’ve gone way too far… and now trying to reverse all the hard work I’ve put in… it just mindboggling and kinda depressing, and very, very stressful. I guess that’s the nature of ED recovery.

  12. wise words my friend! everyone needs to take this to heart and realize there is so much more to who we are than eating, exercising and how we look!

  13. A very thoughtful post!

    I wiped out on my bike a few years ago. I was totally LOST after. I used to bike everywhere. Work, gym and to see friends.

    I remember crying at the bus stop on my way home from work because I felt as if I couldn’t do anything! I was in pain all the time and my face was scraped up from the accident.

    I started reading more, discovered blogs, went for walks, visited friends and eventually I healed!

    Take care!

  1. Pingback: Chicken Over Cornbread and Chorizo « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

