Old-Fashioned Oatmeal Cake

Happy Saturday friends!

I hope you have some gathering, party, or event to go to this weekend.

IMG_7533

Because you need to make this cake.

I chose it for my Nana’s 88th birthday yesterday. I can’t imagine celebrating my birthday EIGHTY-EIGHT times. I can’t even remember what I did for my 15th birthday. Imagine what it will be like in 63 years?

IMG_7534

My Nana is a fan of sweet, simple desserts. Old-timey, ya know. This Old-Fashioned Oatmeal Cake has been bookmarked forever with her in mind. You can find the recipe here, and a step-by-step here.

We all know anything with oatmeal automatically gets deemed healthy. Even if it does have three times as much sugar as oatmeal.

IMG_7541

Soft, fluffy, super sweet, with a heartiness that can only come from oats and a syrupy-sweet crunchy topping.

I really hope you have a birthday to celebrate this weekend. Or housewarming. Barbecue. Baby shower. Bat mitzvah. Because you need to make this cake.

Posted on June 11, 2011, in Baking, Recipes, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. This was a cake I had a lot growing up, and is one of my dad’s favorite’s. Brings back some memories!

  2. Susan it looks so awesome. That is my kinda cake! And congrats on your T.K. feature!

    • Oh it wasn’t be who did the TK blog, it’s where I found the recipe. I actually really dislike photographing step-by-step recipes! It’s hard to do with only one fully functioning arm!

  3. The Teenage Taste

    That cake looks perfect! Not too fancy and bound to be a favorite by all!
    Have a great weekend, Susan!

  4. Im on you’re blog SUSAN!!! :D My grandma use to make that cake.. i love it!! wish i liked baking though.. im more of a fine cuisine chef minus the dessert :)

  5. Oatmeal cake is a wonderful thing . So moist, and it’s the kind of cake that you can eat without frosting and still get a “sweet” fix. It stays moist up to a week…if it lasts that long !

  6. i want a grandma who will make me that cake!!!

  7. Oh MY! This looks absolutely delicious. I love oatmeal and don’t think I would be able to look at it the same after eating this cake ;)

    I wish I had an event to make this for… I’ll bookmark it though!

  8. Ooooh I love me some oatmeal cake. Your nana is lucky to have such a lovely Birthday treat :)

  9. thank you for the link. this looks awesome, and i bookmarked it to veganize in the VERY near future. mmmm…

    glad to see the arm is back in action. have no fear girly!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

