Daily Archives: June 11, 2011

Old-Fashioned Oatmeal Cake

Happy Saturday friends!

I hope you have some gathering, party, or event to go to this weekend.

IMG_7533

Because you need to make this cake.

I chose it for my Nana’s 88th birthday yesterday. I can’t imagine celebrating my birthday EIGHTY-EIGHT times. I can’t even remember what I did for my 15th birthday. Imagine what it will be like in 63 years?

IMG_7534

My Nana is a fan of sweet, simple desserts. Old-timey, ya know. This Old-Fashioned Oatmeal Cake has been bookmarked forever with her in mind. You can find the recipe here, and a step-by-step here.

We all know anything with oatmeal automatically gets deemed healthy. Even if it does have three times as much sugar as oatmeal.

IMG_7541

Soft, fluffy, super sweet, with a heartiness that can only come from oats and a syrupy-sweet crunchy topping.

I really hope you have a birthday to celebrate this weekend. Or housewarming. Barbecue. Baby shower. Bat mitzvah. Because you need to make this cake.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers