Daily Archives: June 10, 2011

Strawberry Rhubarb Galette

In case you haven’t noticed, I like to photograph pretty things. Okay, mostly just pretty food. Gone are the days where I photograph all my meals. Whenever I eat stir-fries and oatmeal I think “thank God.”

So when I saw this recipe in The Globe and Mail, I knew I had to make it. Not just to eat, but to photograph too!

Part of what also attracted me to this Strawberry Rhubarb Galette recipe is the fact that my mother’s backyard is overflowing with rhubarb ripe for the picking.

IMG_7517

So off to my mommy’s I went on Tuesday night, assembling the pastry dough while she picked the rhubarb. The recipe only calls for six galettes, which I though seemed rather large. Being a fan of mini desserts, I decided to turn mine into 10 “mini galettes.”

Except, an error occurred.

No, I didn’t screw up the ingredients. Or start a kitchen fire (again). It’s just that well, my mini galettes came out ugly!

IMG_7510

I mean, strawberry and rhubarb produce some of the most vivid colours in nature. And yet, mine look kinda shrivelled and dull. The pastry wouldn’t stay neatly tucked around the filling like a normal giant-sized galette. Instead it flattened out so I frantically tried to fold them back together any way I could.

IMG_7514

But you know what saved this recipe?

It may be ugly, but holy moly it’s delicious. There were a lot of “ohmygodthisisgood”s coming from my mom as she ate her first one. My dad had one as a bedtime snack, then again for breakfast the next morning.

Good thing I turned the recipe into 10, because they are now all gone.

I guess the moral of the story is: Don’t judge a pastry by it’s photo.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers