To The Summit We Go

I have a confession to make. (don’t us bloggers always do?)

Since moving back home, I have resorted back to some of my old habits. “Toronto Susan” was a little more outgoing, adventurous, and always on the go. “New Brunswick Susan” is a lot more shy, isolated, and plays it safe. Mind you, my injury has forced me to reel it in a bit, but it’s also turned into a convenient excuse.

I am so full of excuses these days.

So when I found myself spewing out excuses as to why I couldn’t go to the Healthy Living Summit this year after having a fun time at it last year, I had to convince myself to give it a rest already.

With about 15 tickets left for the blogging conference, I snatched one up on a whim without allowing a chance for any second thought.

image

Yup. Come August, I’ll be flying to Philly to hang out with some of my best blog friends. Some I know well, and some I have yet to meet. Seeing as I live at home now, I’ve got extra room to play with expenses. And even though I have a looming surgery on the horizon, it’s my decision as to when it will (or won’t) happen.

As I mentioned, I went to the Summit last year in Chicago and know a little more about what to expect going into it this year. Chicago was my first ever blogger conference and I was so nervous! Now I’ve got two big ones under my belt (Foodbuzz being the other) so I feel a little more relaxed going in.

 36809_457475009852_123151319852_6343764_2382559_n

I do however plan to attack this year’s conference a little differently. I am no longer a budding entrepreneur like I was last year. I’m physically injured and can’t participate in some of the activities. My overall life outlook is much different.

IMG_0869 
                                                         (My Toronto gals – I miss yoouuuu!)

I think the biggest thing, is that I just won’t take it as seriously.

Getting almost 200 females obsessed with a healthy lifestyle together can be an unhealthy recipe for disaster. There can be gossiping, self-comparison, and unwelcome cliques. The key is to not get caught up in this.

Even though on paper, I’m not as “healthy living” as I was last year, I would say I certainly have a healthier approach to how I live my life now. A lot of things have happened over the past year that have put “healthy living” into perspective for me, and given me a better focus of where I need to be in order to truly be healthy.

Honestly, I’m going to feel a little out of place because my approach to blogging is so different now. I’m really more looking forward to surrounding myself with fun, enjoyable people, taking in what I can from the sessions, and seeing a new-to-me U.S. city!

Not to mention, I’ll be staying with my road trip partner and roommie from last year, Callie!

IMG_0971

As well as my blogging soulmate/Foodbuzz roommie Janetha!

IMG_3324

And Lauren, who is the only one I haven’t met yet, nor already shared a bed with ;)

Finally, a few other plans for Philly include eating Cheesesteak, running up the Rocky stairs, seeing this girl, and licking the Liberty Bell. Should be legendary!!

I feel like after everything I’ve been through over the past few months, a fun weekend getaway will be just what I need. Apparently so did my mom, as she ended up buying my plane ticket as a “broken arm present.” In the end, it seems I am left with absolutely no excuses.

Posted on June 9, 2011, in Fun. Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. I’m not going and will live vicariously through you and the other ladies who are going…I have a few trips planned that are more photography oriented than just blog oriented that I am super excited about it and I thought about going to HLS but time/money got in the way :)

    HAVE FUN!!!!

  2. greensandjeans

    YESSSSSSSS! I can’t wait!

  3. I am so excited to meet you and share a bed together! LoL. We are going to have such a blast! :)

  4. I am so excited that you decided to come and I can’t wait to me.

    And I think having fun and just being and enjoy the moments is the best idea!

  5. Gosh I am super jealous. I wanted to go so badly and I missed the tickets. Boooo. Well perhaps next year I’ll be able to snatch one up.

  6. hehe at at the liberty bell. Watch out for the cheesesteaks, I hear they can be messy.

  7. Ah you’ll have a blast!! Give Janetha the biggest hug imaginable from me! <3

  8. I’m so excited! I think that this year is going to be even better than last year :) This time I’m going to be completely free and don’t have work or anything to rush to right around the summit, so I think my approach will be much more relaxed too. We’re gonna dominate those Rocky stairs!

  9. That’ exciting that you’re going! I’d love to go sometime in the future…

  10. Whoo hoo! So looking forward to seeing you again! And yes I agree – we’ll definitely have to hang out more this time:) Inhebriated or not! ;)
    I also agree it helps to know what to expect. It was definitely a lot more “social” than I thought it would be as opposed to being more of a conference. Know what I mean?

  11. Looks like it will be a good time for you! :) I can’t wait to see pictures of these exploits you are planning! lol

  12. I’m not going and I am super bummed. I’ll be settling into my new life in DC so the timing just didn’t work out. :( But I can’t wait to read all about your adventures!

  13. have fun in philly! that’s where my husband’s family is from so i eat a lot there. make sure to get a true philly pretzel with lotsa mustard!!!

  14. That’s going to be so much fun for you! Especially now that you aren’t a newbie to it all :)

  15. I am so excited to finally meet you! Sounds like we had the same thoughts on the wee hrs of Tuesday morning- had no intention of oing (whatsoever) but just figured “what’s the worst that can happen?” I read the recaps every year and wish I could meet everyone- I know it will be awesome and I’ll be right there with you trying not to tke things too seriously (hell, nobody even knows who I AM anymore!) and just trying to have fun. Not going to lie…more than a little nervous! My activity is limited too so we can have our aye/eh conversation at last! Over a beer… ;)

    • “My activity is limited too so we can have our aye/eh conversation at last! Over a beer… ;)”

      That sounds like absolute PERFECTION!!!!

      I too thought about having to read everyone else’s recaps and feeling grumpy about not being there. So the best way to cure that is to just go. I am sosososososo excited to hang out with you!!

  16. Sounds like a great event and good for you for deciding to get out there and go! Can’t wait to read about your adventures there! :)

  17. ahh I’m going to! And, even though I have been to Philly, I haven’t run up the stairs like Rocky!! It is so on my to-do list that weekend. Can’t wait to meet you!

  18. HIP HIP HOORAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! boot camps, eye masks, and apparently licking liberty bells. can’t wait to explore with you and eat our way through philly. cheesesteaks are on my list.. i wonder if cream cheese should be? i mean.. philly cream cheese is pretty good from the store and all..

  19. Good attitude- I totally hear you about the cliques. It’s a lot of girls in one room! Have a ton of fun! :)

  20. I’m going to live vicariously through you…I really wish I could go but with two weddings and my sister having a baby in the fall, I’m all out of vacation days and travel budget :(
    I can’t wait to hear all about it and I’m so glad you made the decision to go!

    Philly is a really fun city- enjoy it!

    • No worries – the whole point of reading blogs is living vicariously though other people anyways ;) Also – exciting your sister is having a baby!!!!

  21. Wish I could go to that one. Philly is much, much closer to me than any of the other conferences!

  22. Normally I’m not really a blog commenter, but I just have to say that I literally laughed out loud at the HIMYM reference. That just made my night. I hope your trip is legend-(wait for it, and I hope you’re not lactose intolerant because the next word is…)-dary!

    • Bahahaha. I’m so happy someone got the reference, because I bet there are a lot of other people wondering why I want to lick the Liberty Bell. Definitely re-watching that episode before I go!

  23. have so much fun! i am sad i can’t go, but please know i will be with you in spirit. eat some fried food and drink a beer for me ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

