Daily Archives: June 3, 2011

Supermarket Sweep

Happyhappy Friday friends!

Last night, my dad called just as I was walking in the door from work. I told him I was about to make supper. He in turn told me we had no groceries, so good luck finding something to eat.

What’s that??

Challenge accepted Dad.

You give me an empty fridge, and I will give you a delicious, albeit random, meal.

031

I think I partially inherited this talent from my mom, who I’ve watched time and time again throw an amazing meal together out of things found in an empty pantry.

Of course, I think many of us develop this talent during university. I wasn’t a poor college student like most as I worked two, sometimes three jobs while going to school full-time. But that also meant I had absolutely no time for walking to the grocery store.

I lived next to an Irving gas station for just over a year, and during that time I made some deliciously healthy meals with items found in a gas station grocery. It can be done my friends!

033

For this meal, I used up what was left of the little bit of food in the fridge. Baked sweet potato with stir-fried jasmine rice, spinach, green onion and ham. Topped with hummus and sriracha. It was amazing. And I bet I’ll never be able to recreate it quite the same again!

Shortly after, I went grocery shopping with my dad and step-sister’s family. I inherited plenty from my father as well, a love for grocery shopping being one of them. I just love wandering up and down every aisle, scoping out all the treats.

035

Sometimes letting out a squeal of delight when stumbling across my favourite foods.

036

Remember this stuff? I think I convinced my dad to buy it once when I was a child and I’ve been dreaming of it ever since. I’m a responsible adult now though, so I didn’t buy it.

But I totally bought the Fluff.

These photos were all snapped on my iPhone, so bare with me (yes, I’m one of those now!). Here are some other fun finds from the evening. Many of which only available in Canada (sorry!):

039

Maple Leaf “Natural Selections” salami. Salami is my favourite of the deli meats, but I never buy it because it’s also the sketchiest. The ingredients in this stuff: Pork, sea salt, cane sugar, spice, vinegar, lemon juice concentrate, dehydrated garlic, lactic acid starter culture, cultured celery extract, smoke. I can live with that!

042

Yeah yeah, Greek yogurt is old news. But Canada’s biggest grocery chain just started making their own version and I’m in love. I never bought it before because money was tight. But now I make decent paychecks and can justify treating myself to it :)

041

Exciting things happening with this creamed corn in the kitchen this weekend! Green Giant brand of course, because I was brainwashed as a child by their advertising in the 80s.

047

Pickled beets because I’m an 80-year-old man. I’ll skunk you in cribbage.

045

Must-haves: sriracha hot sauce and sugar-free syrup. I put these on everrrrything! (not together…most of the time).

037

Also, if you have a three-month-old nephew like I do, I highly recommend shopping with him. Makes for great parking.

Now you tell me – what are some of your best grocery finds lately?

P.S. Janetha sent me some vanilla bean paste and I don’t have any vanilla recipes bookmarked. So if you’ve got a recipe to share, please do!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers