Daily Archives: June 1, 2011

Recipe Round Up: Pancakes, Bread, Noodles

Hey friends! I do not have any waffles to share with you this Wednesday, but I do have some recipe reviews!

First, we start with pancakes, or what I like to call “flat waffles.”

IMG_7343

One of the great things about my new job is that I come across some interesting things while researching news articles all day. While “pancakes” may not be one of my official topics, I spotted these Quinoa Pancakes while reading something else on the New York Times website last week.

IMG_7326

I’ve always wanted to bake with quinoa, but never have because the extra step of cooking the quinoa is enough to turn me off.

Yes, I am that lazy of a cook.

But last week I had a big pot of quinoa leftovers from the chana masala experiment just waiting to be used up in some creative way!

IMG_7330

I cut the recipe down by about one-third to make two small servings (or, in my case, one large serving + one snack later).

IMG_7336

Verdict?

LOVED ‘EM!

IMG_7346

I have always been a fan of quinoa’s “chew.” The added texture of that made the pancakes a lot more fun. The quinoa also added a nutty flavour, and made the flapjacks heartier with a touch of extra natural protein. A definite must-make!

Next up we’ve got one of my all-time favourite things to bake:

IMG_7388

Irish Brown Bread. Basically, an Irish soda bread with the addition of whole wheat flour and a little sugar. I ended up making my own recipe for this one because I couldn’t find one that suited all my needs. The thing that makes this version different is that I left out the butter. Trying to make it healthier! Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup rolled or quick oats
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 2 cups buttermilk

All mixed up and baked for 40 minutes in a 400F oven. I made this in a loaf pan, but you can just shape it into a round loaf and bake it on a cookie sheet too.

IMG_7393

You wouldn’t even know that I left the butter out! I think this is one of my favourite versions! It took me maybe 5 minutes to whip up, and 40 minutes of munching on baby carrots waiting for it to bake.

IMG_7397

I like soda bread best with eggs, fish, ham, or peanut butter on top. For lunch the other day I had two slices with spicy tuna and sour cream on top. Absolute perfection!

Speaking of sour cream, that leads us to the final dish.

IMG_7413

The Pioneer Woman’s Sour Cream Noodle Bake. I bookmarked this when she first posted it in March. Then I proceeded to forget all about it until I was scrolling through my bookmarks this weekend looking for an easy main dish to make. I have this habit of only bookmarking complicated ones.

IMG_7408

I got excited as soon as I spotted this again because I knew it was something the rest of my family would like. They say I eat “healthy.” Pfft.

IMG_7417

The only thing I changed was the use of light sour cream and cottage cheese, extra lean ground beef, and whole wheat egg noodles. Paired with some green veggies instead of white crusty bread.

IMG_7422

Okay, maybe I still eat kinda healthy even when I’m not trying. Overall, this recipe was good but not great. As with a lot of The Pioneer Woman’s savoury recipes, I found it a touch bland. But that is the hangup of my own tastebuds. I need to douse everything in sriracha to be satisfied. I had leftovers for lunch yesterday, eaten cold on top of spinach, and it was even pretty good that way!

So here’s where I ask you: What’s one good recipe you’ve tried lately? As my gal Holly says, sharing is caring!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers