Things I Learned The Month I Settled

As much as I wish for things to be one way, I need to deal with things the way they really are.

Living close to family is the bestest.

248668_540878519105_115400580_31421851_1572004_n

I know money can’t buy happiness, but it sure can improve my quality of life.

CBC actually has some good TV programming. Namely, Being Erica. I blame my sister Sara for getting me into it!

Just because I’m a grown-up, doesn’t mean I can’t have ridiculous coloured nails.

011

Just because I “could” lose weight, doesn’t mean I should.

Wind is one mighty form of resistance when it comes to running. Harder than hills because sometimes it never stops.

Working 8-4, Mon-Fri is actually kind of awesome. I don’t know why I was scared of it for so long!

I should stop missing the things I could once do, when I should be embracing the things I can do.

IMG_7244

I lovelovelove driving. Way more than I ever thought I would. And I’ve only had my licence for three years.

Sometimes, life sucks. But the feeling usually passes.

Pets make the world go round. 

223345_540254704235_115400580_31410473_936695_n

pbgycs 

Living life is number one. Blogging comes after it. I refuse to be tied to my computer.

Even though I am in control of nothing, I am in control of how I deal with things.

 

What did you learn in May?

 

P.S. Happy birthday to the smartest man I know!

My Dad!

Posted on May 31, 2011, in Lessons Learned. Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I’ve learnt that moving out of home is AWESOME :)

    Driving is my number 1 thing, driving 60km each way to work however some mornings not so much fun.

  2. greensandjeans

    Happy birthday to your dad! And yes, life ALWAYS comes first! Glad you’re loving yours these days!

  3. How did your cat get up there?!?

    • I woke up yesterday and found him staring down at me from the top of the closet door!! There’s a rolled up mattress nearby that may have been his launching pad… Scared the crap out of me though!

  4. Great lessons! I think I can attest to quite a few of these :)

    This month… I’ve learned that I don’t have to be in motion at all times. As much as I want to be!

  5. Great list. Dad and Mom are awesome. Is that a sweater vest on the little ‘un? or a sleeveless dress? I couldn’t quite tell.

    I learned that maaaybe, maaaaaaaybe, maaaaaaaaaybe (you get the idea) I can trust my body to tell me how to feed & exercise it. Maybe.

    • Haha, it’s a doggie sweater that’s about three sizes too big! He shakes all the time now ever since we got him shaved, but apparently they don’t make sweaters for anorexic poodles.

  6. I couldn’t agree with you more on so many of these lessons learned! YES pets make the world go round, that is the best one! And I will never move because I have to live near my mom :P

    LOVE YOU

  7. Great post, happy birthday to your papa x

  8. Just wanted to let you know I really loved reading this post. :)

  9. happy bday to your dad!

    and i love your pets.

    and your nail color! :)

  10. “Even though I am in control of nothing, I am in control of how I deal with things.”

    So true. And so easy for me to forget, especially when the anxiety is running high!

  11. I love this post! I’ve learned that even though things aren’t perfect, or even though I’m not a multimillionaire super-model/actress/singer vacationing in Hawaii and Mexico every other weekend, my life is pretty darn good the way it is. Simplicity keeps me grounded and HAPPY. My life might not be perfect, but it is perfect for me :)

    Your posts always have a way of getting me to reflect on my life, things I am grateful for, and things I need to work on. Nevertheless, I always conclude my thoughts realizing how lucky I am, and to not take anything for granted.

  12. I *love* Being Erica! Also, Little Mosque on the Prairie is quite good. I caught a few episodes of 18 to Life and liked those too. Just sayin’

  13. That doggie sweater is adorable…

    I’ve always seen the commercials for being Erica but haven’t ever watched an episode. Maybe I’ll have to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

